Switch Theme:

Denizens of the Warp T1 drop  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




I've been away from the game for a couple of years, and came back to enjoy some 9thed. I remember a time that anything not on the battle field counted as tactical reserves and couldn't come in during turn 2. Reading over the new 9thed rule book, All I see is a section on strategic reserves. That section states that these rules do not apply to units that are using other rules that enable them to start the battle in a location other than the battlefield (using Daemon Strat. to put them in warp for example). Such units are not placed in Strategic reserves and instead setup as described by their own rules.

I was told I couldn't bring these guys in turn 1 due to tactical/strategic reserves not allowed turn 1. I argued they were reference old rules and not the new ones. I could be wrong, but I feel like I have the facts to backup my claim. I know this edition is new, but I've checked the Daemons FAQs and this forum. Hopefully someone might have some insight as to if I'm right, or if I'm not where I can find a rules refence to where I'm wrong.

RAW I feel like I use the Stratagem as stated and I can set them up at the end of any movement phase.


DENIZENS OF THE WARP

Use this Stratagem during deployment. Set up one of your DAEMON units in the warp instead of placing it on the battlefield. At the end of any of your Movement phases that unit can tear its way into reality – set it up anywhere on the battlefield that is more than 9" away from any enemy models.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






hachieman2000 wrote:
I've been away from the game for a couple of years, and came back to enjoy some 9thed. I remember a time that anything not on the battle field counted as tactical reserves and couldn't come in during turn 2. Reading over the new 9thed rule book, All I see is a section on strategic reserves. That section states that these rules do not apply to units that are using other rules that enable them to start the battle in a location other than the battlefield (using Daemon Strat. to put them in warp for example). Such units are not placed in Strategic reserves and instead setup as described by their own rules.

I was told I couldn't bring these guys in turn 1 due to tactical/strategic reserves not allowed turn 1. I argued they were reference old rules and not the new ones. I could be wrong, but I feel like I have the facts to backup my claim. I know this edition is new, but I've checked the Daemons FAQs and this forum. Hopefully someone might have some insight as to if I'm right, or if I'm not where I can find a rules refence to where I'm wrong.

RAW I feel like I use the Stratagem as stated and I can set them up at the end of any movement phase.


DENIZENS OF THE WARP

Use this Stratagem during deployment. Set up one of your DAEMON units in the warp instead of placing it on the battlefield. At the end of any of your Movement phases that unit can tear its way into reality – set it up anywhere on the battlefield that is more than 9" away from any enemy models.
It's a function of the mission rules now. If you're playing an Eternal War mission (i.e. Matched Play), you still can't arrive turn 1. Step 10 of the Eternal War missions, page 282, final Paragraph.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/08/08 18:05:25


 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




 BaconCatBug wrote:
It's a function of the mission rules now. If you're playing an Eternal War mission (i.e. Matched Play), you still can't arrive turn 1. Step 10 of the Eternal War missions, page 282, final Paragraph.


Thank for this much appreciated! Makes me sad but I'll live lol.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: