Switch Theme:

9th Rolls and Modification  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Damsel of the Lady




Is there any difference between the following:

"A wound roll of 6+" (see Blight Wracks as an example)

"An unmodified wound roll" (see Transhuman Physiology as an example)

"On a X+, Y happens" (see Hypermetabolism as an example)

The arguments seem to be thus:

"Unmodified wound roll" obviously means just what the die shows and nothing else.

"On X+, Y happens" means the die roll after modifiers are applied.

But what about "wound roll of 6+?" I have one camp saying that because it says "roll" it means unmodified and one camp saying that because of something like Blades of Putrification (+1 to Wound and causes mortals on "any wound rolls" of 7+) that "wound rolls" includes modifiers. I dug around in some FAQ's but an answer doesn't seem clear.

I also recall GW using "on a result of" sometimes, but I can't find any examples of that anymore. Any idea of those?
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

The definition of what qualifies as an "unmodified" dice roll in the last paragraph on page 200 of the Core Rules. Regardless of whether the roll is "unmodified" or not, it is still a dice roll.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/08/20 01:43:52


'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Damsel of the Lady




 Ghaz wrote:
The definition of what qualifies as an "unmodified" dice roll in the last paragraph on page 200 of the Core Rules. Regardless of whether the roll is "unmodified" or not, it is still a dice roll.


Looking at this, it doesn't seem to answer my issue. It is mostly just saying that unmodified rolls are rolls before modifiers, which sure. The question here is that when a rule uses the language I put in parentheses above is GW referring to a result before or after modifiers. Did I miss something?
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






If it meant an Unmodified Wound Roll it would say Unmodified Wound Roll. If it just says "Wound roll of 6+", it means the final result, after modifiers.

Also, from a logical perspective, how are you going to roll more than 6 on an unmodified D6? If it was unmodified it would say "on an unmodified roll of 6."

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/08/20 02:05:37


 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

When you consider what the modifiers do in these cases... where they modify the result of your actual roll... arguing that the term "wound roll" or similar implicitly means unmodified would render any and all modifiers moot.

Let's take shooting as an example. Page 220 in the Core book, second line, snipped for the sake of clarity and also my sanity:
"If the result of the hit roll is equal to or greater than the attacking model's Ballistic Skill characteristic, then that attack scores one hit."

Supposing I use a Devastator to fire a heavy bolter while moving. I roll a 3. Woohoo! That hits... except, because I fired on the move, that roll is modified to become a 2. He actually misses.
If "unmodified" is supposed to be implied here? Congratulations, you've just made ALL of the BS modifiers pointless, including firing while Advancing, firing Heavy weapons on the move. My Devastator looks only at the original 3 rolled and hey presto, it's still a hit.

Further to that - a quick glance at that page again shows both hit rolls AND wound rolls specifically calling out unmodified rolls further down in their text.

It's as BCB says - if it's supposed to be unmodified, it'll say unmodified. If it doesn't? Modifiers apply. It's really that simple.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/08/20 02:21:28


"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut



Glasgow

Unmodified role = dice

Wound roll = dice + modifiers

I would note that a result of 6+ is not required on an unmodified role because your not going to roll a 7.

6+ is there because of modifiers
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Poxwalkers wouldn’t have a 7+ save if modifiers aren’t included in rolls. An Armour Saving Throw of 7+ is impossible without modifiers. As others have said, modifiers apply unless otherwise stated.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: