Switch Theme:

Linked Fire  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

Can I use the Linked Fire stratagem on a Fire Prism shooting into its own combat (using the heavy weapon version of the prism cannon obviously)?

If not, why not?

If so, can I:
1) Reroll to-hit and to-wound with said Fire Prism?
2) Link in other Fire Prisms against the same target (provided they meet the stratagem's conditions), even though it is in combat? If not, why not?

EDIT:
Follow-on:
Can I use Linked Fire if the Fire Prism targets something else with its main gun, relying on the secondary weapon to clear out anything in combat with it (explicitly allowed in the main rules) and then Linked Fire in two more Prisms against that target, even if at the end of the shooting phase (when the first Fire Prism is now authorized to shoot per the Stratagem) the Fire Prism cannot actually fire at the target it declared?

EDIT:
Follow-follow-on:
Can a Fire Prism that is not in combat Linked Fire with one who is at a target that is not the unit the second prism is in combat with, and will the second one get to shoot that despite being in combat? I assume the first will get re-rolls but the second cannot fire at all.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2020/08/24 19:41:23


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

You can use the strat.

"If so, can I:
1) Reroll to-hit and to-wound with said Fire Prism?"


1) No, because the linked fire strat says "if at least one other Fire Prism linked fire with it." (See #2).

"2) Link in other Fire Prisms against the same target (provided they meet the stratagem's conditions), even though it is in combat? If not, why not?"

2) Any Fire Prisms that are not in that same combat still have the targeting restriction of not being able to target a unit that is engaged.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/08/24 20:39:17


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

 DeathReaper wrote:
You can use the strat.

1) No, because the linked fire strat says "if at least one other Fire Prism linked fire with it." (See #2).
2) Any Fire Prisms that are not in that same combat still have the targeting restriction of not being able to target a unit that is engaged.

So it can be used but provides no benefit, because Can't overrides Must.

What about my followups?
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Unit1126PLL wrote:

So it can be used but provides no benefit, because Can't overrides Must.

What about my followups?
Follow up 1, yes, you can use Linked Fire if the Fire Prism targets something else with its main gun. You just cant shoot that particular gun if that vehicle is still engaged.

Follow up 2, You can not shoot while engaged at anything other than the unit(s) your unit is engaged with. The Fire Prism that used the strat would not get the re-rolls. Any other Fire Prisms would get the re-rolls because of the way the strat is worded.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

 DeathReaper wrote:
 Unit1126PLL wrote:

So it can be used but provides no benefit, because Can't overrides Must.

What about my followups?
Follow up 1, yes, you can use Linked Fire if the Fire Prism targets something else with its main gun. You just cant shoot that particular gun if that vehicle is still engaged.

Follow up 2, You can not shoot while engaged at anything other than the unit(s) your unit is engaged with. The Fire Prism that used the strat would not get the re-rolls. Any other Fire Prisms would get the re-rolls because of the way the strat is worded.


Why wouldn't the first get re-rolls if there is another fireprism (3 in this case, 1 in combat and 2 not, if you used the stratagem on all 3).
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
Why wouldn't the first get re-rolls if there is another fireprism (3 in this case, 1 in combat and 2 not, if you used the stratagem on all 3).
Because the strat says "if at least one other Fire Prism linked fire with it." if you dont fire with unit 2, unit 1 cant re-roll.

Maybe I misunderstood your question.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/08/24 21:37:14


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

Yeah, I think you did, just changing it to ask about 3 tanks
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: