Switch Theme:

Disembark after vehicle destroyed wound allocation?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in es
Regular Dakkanaut





UK

Was watching a battle report and I had to re-read the disembark after vehicle destroyed rule and I am still unclear on how the wound allocation works.
Says
"Any units embarked within must then disembark."
" Roll one D6 for each model that disembarked; for each 1, one model is destroyed"

If you only have a single unit, simple enough, you roll a couple of 1, you choose where those go as normal.
But, if you have multiple units and characters (battlewagon with 4 meganobs, 1 warboss and 10 boys, for example),.. you roll per unit? you roll all together and then decide which models get destroyed?

This is a big deal for characters and elites, since you can intentionally put lower units to get the 1s to keep the more expensive units and characters safe.
If you have to roll per unit, if you get a 1 on your character or on a expensive model, you get fked, whereas on the first way to do it, you can allocate that 1 to something else even when is not part of the same unit, as long as it was on the transport when destroyed.

Which one is it?
On the battle report they did it all at once, interpreting the rule as "you roll as many dices as models in the transport", but it could be interpreted as "you roll one dice for model, and that result affects that specific model", which could also affect special weapon guys, Sargent or different loadout models, right?.

Serve the Emperor today, for tomorrow you may be be dead.
Painting blog:
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/793314.page
 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Its the former. You roll as many dice as models and then slay a model for each 6. As such if you have a character with a squad of normal dudes it will be close to impossible for the character to die if you dont want them to.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Killatores wrote:
Was watching a battle report and I had to re-read the disembark after vehicle destroyed rule and I am still unclear on how the wound allocation works.
Says
"Any units embarked within must then disembark."
" Roll one D6 for each model that disembarked; for each 1, one model is destroyed"

If you only have a single unit, simple enough, you roll a couple of 1, you choose where those go as normal.
But, if you have multiple units and characters (battlewagon with 4 meganobs, 1 warboss and 10 boys, for example),.. you roll per unit? you roll all together and then decide which models get destroyed?

This is a big deal for characters and elites, since you can intentionally put lower units to get the 1s to keep the more expensive units and characters safe.
If you have to roll per unit, if you get a 1 on your character or on a expensive model, you get fked, whereas on the first way to do it, you can allocate that 1 to something else even when is not part of the same unit, as long as it was on the transport when destroyed.

Which one is it?
On the battle report they did it all at once, interpreting the rule as "you roll as many dices as models in the transport", but it could be interpreted as "you roll one dice for model, and that result affects that specific model", which could also affect special weapon guys, Sargent or different loadout models, right?.
You roll 1 dice per model. Units have no bearing. If you have 10 Mooks and Warboss, you roll 11 dice and then decide who dies for each roll of 1.

Which is why you should always carry some meatshields for your Dreadnought in a Stormraven!
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

Yeah, this is one of those occasions where GW wrote a simple rule that actually works really nicely. No faffing with units, allocation etc.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in es
Regular Dakkanaut





UK

Cheers for the answers, case clarified

Serve the Emperor today, for tomorrow you may be be dead.
Painting blog:
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/793314.page
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut






I believe it's so that you can lose models by not having space, then further lose models for rolling 1's.

I don't have the book to hand; does the wording imply that you roll for all the models which disembarked or the ones which were set up on the board? IE, if I had 20 models in a wagon, 20 disembark but 5 cannot be placed and are destroyed do I roll 15 dice or 20 for the remaining 15 guys?

12,300 points of Orks
9th W/D/L with Orks, 4/0/2
I am Thoruk, the Barbarian, Slayer of Ducks, and This is my blog!

I'm Selling Infinity, 40k, dystopian wars, UK based!

I also make designs for t-shirts and mugs and such on Redbubble! 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






"You must roll one D6 for each model you just set up on the battlefield." So it's 15 dice.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: