xerxeskingofking wrote:hey, newbie question:
flamers, (and similar weapons of other factions) have the rule "
When resolving an attack made with this weapon, do not make a hit roll: it automatically scores a hit." all you need to do is roll to see how many shots/instant hits you get.
certain actions (for example, moving before shooting a heavy-type flamer, or advancing with a assault type) impose a penalty on to-hit rolls. is this penalty also applied to the flamer "number of attacks" rolls, or do they basically ignore that?
i havent trawled though the
FAQs to see if its in their, so if it is, just point me to the right part.
Because you don't roll to hit, and instead automatically hit, to hit modifiers don't do anything to flamer type weaponry, because you never roll to hit. Even if you had a -1 to the roll, you can't ever fail to hit because you never do roll to hit.
This was explicitly spelt out in the 8th edition
FAQs, but it's not in the 9th
FAQs iirc, but in any case it's not needed as (
IMO) the rules are pretty clear anyway.