Switch Theme:

Player of Twilight RAW CP restriction  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in se
Longtime Dakkanaut





Has there been any clarification on RAW Player of Twilight from Harlequins ?

If the cost of the stratagem is hypothetically 2 then the Harlie player rolls a 2 do we
a: gain 2 CP (least likely due to the restrictions and this not being a stratagem)
b: gain 1 CP (because you can't gain 2 so you only gain 1)
c: gain 0 CP (because it specifies you gain an amount equal to the cost and because you are restricted from ever gaining more then 1 CP it simply doesn't work as written and you get nothing) .

RAW I think it is C because it doesnt say up to the cost in CP ... RAW, unless the strat played cost 1, you are literally prohibited from gaining 2+ CP and the warlord trait can't be triggered.

Are there any RAW clarifications that I have missed on this one ?
Also, what seems to be the accepted RAI on this ?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/10/12 12:11:00


As an aside, as "infinite" rolls is actually impossible even if the FAQ "allows" it, then it will always be a non-zero chance to pass them all. Eventually the two players will die. If they pass the game on to their decendents, they too will eventually die. And, at the end of it all, the universe will experience heat death and it, too, will die. In the instance of "infinite" hits, we're talking more of functional infinity, rather than literal.

RAW you can't pass the game onto descendants, permissive ruleset. Unless we get an FAQ from GW.
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






RaW, Player of the Twilight is not a stratagem, and has no exception to the CP Refund limit, unlike in 8th where it had an exception.

You get a single CP since you are capped on how much you can be refunded, not limited to a single 1 CP refund.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/10/12 19:53:47


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: