Switch Theme:

Lightning claws and chaos, please carify  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Central California

I suspect this has been answered many times (or the answer is obvious) but please help. I fear I have missed something among the 692 documents needed for 40k...
I am looking at Warp Talons for the first time. They each come with a pair of lightning claws.

In the chaos book it explains what a lightning claw does, and this explanation says you get +1 with a pair.
In the CSM FAQ it also has relisted the changes to a lightning claw singular.
The two have identical rules under the abilities section (a single claw or a pair get 1 extra attack, and reroll wounds)

My question: A pair of lightning claws is 10 a single 5...has the rule for a PAIR of lightning claws been eliminated, and you now just use the rule for a single?(IE: attacking with this weapon gives +1 attack?) (I checked the two codices I have and neither lists a PAIR of lightning claws, only a single (SM and IG) As well as the CSM FAQ)
And therefore if I have 2 attacks, and use one for each claw I get +2)?

Or are you just screwed out of 5 points for having to pay for a pair of lightning claws for Warp Talons with no additional benefit?

Keeping the hobby side alive!

I never forget the Dakka unit scale is binary: Units are either OP or Garbage. 
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





Looks like they botched the FAQ version because it doesn't make sense to me.

My interpretation: Rules as written, if a warp talon is already in combat with its one base attack then it only gets one additional attack from one of its lightning claws, for a total of two attacks. If a warp talon charges then it gets an extra attack from Hateful Assault, allowing you to declare that one attack was made with each claw. This gives you two extra attacks for a total of four.

That seems to be how it works, but I very much think that this is unintentional. It is just too awkward.

8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Central California

I feel better now, Bilge Rat. I'm not the only one a little confused. Your interpretation matches mine. Hopefully someone else will see what I've missed?

Here's where this is coming from; you can give a Slaanesh unit +1 attack with Combat Elixirs (strat), so the answer is a little more important as I was looking at this since the strat is twice as useful on them if we're right. Warp Flame strike, make the charge (using Honor the Prince if needed) and 21 lightning claw attacks is decent and you can't overwatch. With only one attack and the point cost, Warp Talons are pretty weak.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/12/04 17:27:46


Keeping the hobby side alive!

I never forget the Dakka unit scale is binary: Units are either OP or Garbage. 
   
Made in us
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin





Livermore, Ca

Oh that's awesome... it's a typo in a FAQ. Well probably a typo.

"You can re-roll failed wound rolls for this weapon. If a model is armed
with two lightning claws, each time it fights it can make 1 additional
attack with them."

That's likely what its supposed to say, but it doesn't.

A quick scan of the other FAQs doesn't seem to have any help one way or the other. Its not a big deal, it might get corrected in the future.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Central California

The problem with it being just a type, is the Space Marine codex has the same exact wording for a single lightning claw listed through several units, so its a typo over multiple documents.
Edit: I just noticed the terminator listing says "Each time a model fights, it makes one additional attack with this weapon..." So does that wording cover a single, or pair? The listing is for a single...
Also, if it is a typo, the cost for a pair of lightning claws must also be a typo, since paying 10 points for a pair or 5 for one with the same exact ability is foolish (but not beyond GW rules making...)

So:
This is what they meant?
or
they need to either:
Fix multiple typos over multiple documents to be you only receive +1 attack for a pair
OR
Reduce the cost of a pair of lightning claws to the same as a single (an easier fix I suspect. How many units come stock with a pair? Termies?)

Is there a rule saying you cannot make multiple attacks with the same weapon profile? Having two pistols lets you fire both...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/12/04 17:48:29


Keeping the hobby side alive!

I never forget the Dakka unit scale is binary: Units are either OP or Garbage. 
   
Made in de
Witch Hunter in the Shadows



Aachen

You have 2 Lightning Claws.

Each claw has a rule that gives you an extra attack with that specific claw.

So as an Assault Terminator with 2 Lightning Claws you get 4 Attacks (2 base +1 per claw).
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






From the latest Chaos Space Marines FAQ:
Each time the bearer fights, it makes 1 additional attack with this weapon. Each time an attack is made with this weapon, you can re-roll the wound roll.
If you have 1 claw, you make 1 additional attack, if you have 2 claws, you make 1 additional attack for each claw, so a total of 2 additional attacks.

I don't see the issue here. It's no different to someone with two Astartes Chainswords. There is no different weapon profile for "Pair of Lightning claws", only a different points cost for taking 2 instead of 1.

You don't even need 2 base attacks to benefit, it triggers "Each time the bearer fights" the same as Astartes Chainswords.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2020/12/04 18:16:45


 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut



Glasgow

LC functions like a chainsword

A chainsword gives you a weapon profile and one free attack that must be made with that chainsword

If you have 2 chainswords you get two copies of the same profile and one free attack that must be made with each chainswords copy of the profile (it only matters in the rare case you alter the profile of one eg mastercrafting or have a second melee weapon)

So in practice a pair of lc is 2 extra attacks and a single is 1

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/12/04 20:25:23


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Central California

Okay, thank you. I thought it worked this way, I just wasn't sure. I appreciate the time and explanations, as usual.

Keeping the hobby side alive!

I never forget the Dakka unit scale is binary: Units are either OP or Garbage. 
   
Made in ca
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade





The Frozen North

As an additional point of clarification, you don't need 2 Attacks in order to benefit from your pair of Lightning Claws. Whether your Attacks characteristic is 1, or 100, you will receive 2 additional Attacks for having a pair of Lightning Claws.

Triggerbaby wrote:In summary, here's your lunch and ask Miss Creaver if she has aloe lotion because I have taken you to school and you have been burned.

Abadabadoobaddon wrote:I too can prove pretty much any assertion I please if I don't count all the evidence that contradicts it.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: