Switch Theme:

Aura of Mutability  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




Hey guys, how does this work if you do enough wounds to the model that it would be removed.

So lets say it has 3 wounds left and I inflict 5 wounds, if it makes 1 of its FNP roles would it survive? Does failing 4 wounds take it to -1 W or does it stop at 0. Since the FNP would regain 1 wound I am unsure if the 4 dmg that went through would stop at 0 or take it to -1 W. If it stops at 0 the extra wound seems to be wasted and the FNP would bring back 1 wound after the unit finishes its attacks or does the model have to be above 0 wounds after all FNP roles to get any wounds back?

Rule for reference: Aura of Mutability: When this model would lose a wound as a result of an
attack, roll one D6; on a 6 that wound is not lost. After a unit has finished
resolving all of its attacks against this model, this model regains one lost
wound for each wound it negated because of this ability.

Thanks.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






You can argue that you regain the wounds, but it still won't do you any good because once you've been brought down to 0 or fewer wounds, the model is slain and removed. Returning wounds to a model that has already been removed won't do much of anything.

You "Inflict Damage" in step 5 of the "Making Attacks" sequence. This states "If a model’s wounds are reduced to 0 or less (Ed: THIS SHOULD SAY FEWER REEEE), it is destroyed and removed from play." Note this happens BEFORE the attack has resolved and thus must happen before "a unit has finished resolving all of its attacks". So the model is removed, regardless of whether or not the wounds would be regained.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/12/07 18:01:46


 
   
Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




Amazing, thanks for the quick reply and the rules reference just in case my opponent has any issues with this.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: