Switch Theme:

Wisdom of the Ancients  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Who gets to decide which one of these auras is gained ? Me ? Opponent ? Dice roll ?

Use this Stratagem in your Command phase. Select one ADEPTUS ASTARTES DREADNOUGHT model from your army (excluding WULFEN and DEATH COMPANY models). Until the start of your next Command phase, that model gains either the Rites of Battle ability or the Tactical Precision ability, as shown below:

Rites of Battle (Aura): While a friendly <CHAPTER> CORE unit is within 6" of this model, each time a model in that unit makes an attack, re-roll a hit roll of 1.

Tactical Precision (Aura): While a friendly <CHAPTER> CORE unit is within 6" of this model, each time a model in that unit makes an attack, re-roll a wound roll of 1.
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

To save any RAW nonsense I'd assume the owner can choose. I can't see why anyone would actually bring this up in a game besides trying to do a "gotcha".
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





The person using a strat always makes any decisions in the strat - or in any rule they are using - unless stated.

I dont see the issue here at all.
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






Edit: reading comprehension fail, ignore me.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/12/29 13:24:48


 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






 Stux wrote:
The person using a strat always makes any decisions in the strat - or in any rule they are using - unless stated.

I dont see the issue here at all.


Absolutely not.

Strats *seem* more to be the owner of the unit affected by the strat that gets to choose.

Assault Launchers(to take a strat from the same book) has the verbiage: "That enemy unit can either brace or duck for cover."

There are certainly cases where you would want your enemy unit to do one over the other(rather have a Tau Battlesuit unit or some high-attack unit in defensible terrain duck for cover than brace, or a character with 1-4 Wounds left Brace to make killing them easier); but the owner has the choice.


This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

 Kommissar Kel wrote:
 Stux wrote:
The person using a strat always makes any decisions in the strat - or in any rule they are using - unless stated.

I dont see the issue here at all.


Absolutely not.

Strats *seem* more to be the owner of the unit affected by the strat that gets to choose.

Assault Launchers(to take a strat from the same book) has the verbiage: "That enemy unit can either brace or duck for cover."

There are certainly cases where you would want your enemy unit to do one over the other(rather have a Tau Battlesuit unit or some high-attack unit in defensible terrain duck for cover than brace, or a character with 1-4 Wounds left Brace to make killing them easier); but the owner has the choice.
You missed the text in red, Kommissar Kel. The two of you agree that unless a Stratagem says otherwise, which Assault Launchers does, the decisions are up to the Stratagem user.
   
Made in us
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers




I hope to Draigo this version of WoTA gets passed along to Custodes. I'd slander the Emperor in front of a Commissar for a Wound re-roll aura buff bot.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






 alextroy wrote:
 Kommissar Kel wrote:
 Stux wrote:
The person using a strat always makes any decisions in the strat - or in any rule they are using - unless stated.

I dont see the issue here at all.


Absolutely not.

Strats *seem* more to be the owner of the unit affected by the strat that gets to choose.

Assault Launchers(to take a strat from the same book) has the verbiage: "That enemy unit can either brace or duck for cover."

There are certainly cases where you would want your enemy unit to do one over the other(rather have a Tau Battlesuit unit or some high-attack unit in defensible terrain duck for cover than brace, or a character with 1-4 Wounds left Brace to make killing them easier); but the owner has the choice.
You missed the text in red, Kommissar Kel. The two of you agree that unless a Stratagem says otherwise, which Assault Launchers does, the decisions are up to the Stratagem user.


It does not state who chooses. I missed nothing.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

I miss your point. "That unit may..." means that unit's controller gets to choose. Otherwise the rule would instruct the Stratagem user to put effect A or B on the unit.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 alextroy wrote:
I miss your point. "That unit may..." means that unit's controller gets to choose. Otherwise the rule would instruct the Stratagem user to put effect A or B on the unit.


Its clear as mud who gets to choose. There is a necron strat which has the same wording.

WOTA doesnt say who gets to choose, there isnt even the slightest hint.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/01/02 06:06:04


 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 p5freak wrote:
 alextroy wrote:
I miss your point. "That unit may..." means that unit's controller gets to choose. Otherwise the rule would instruct the Stratagem user to put effect A or B on the unit.


Its clear as mud who gets to choose. There is a necron strat which has the same wording.

WOTA doesnt say who gets to choose, there isnt even the slightest hint.


Its extremely clear who chooses. Alex Alextoy has it. The default is the stratagem's controller makes decisions. If the stratagem says a unit itself may do something, then the unit's controller makes that decisuon.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






 Stux wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
 alextroy wrote:
I miss your point. "That unit may..." means that unit's controller gets to choose. Otherwise the rule would instruct the Stratagem user to put effect A or B on the unit.


Its clear as mud who gets to choose. There is a necron strat which has the same wording.

WOTA doesnt say who gets to choose, there isnt even the slightest hint.


Its extremely clear who chooses. Alex Alextoy has it. The default is the stratagem's controller makes decisions. If the stratagem says a unit itself may do something, then the unit's controller makes that decisuon.


It is almost like there is no default(you know, because that is stated exactly nowhere), and that the Strats that allow a choice just state that the affected unit In All Cases can either x or y; we are left with the assumption that the affected unit's controller is the one who gets to make the choice.

The choosing of affected unit, is always the provenance of the user of the strat; the choice of effect is up to the controller of the affected unit, unless otherwise stated.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





To be ckear the only affected unit of thos strat is a dreadnaught which reciwves an aura. So if what you say the user decides. Not a rules lawyer in the other army.

Guard gaurd gAAAARDity Gaurd gaurd.  
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

It’s not remotely unclear that the unit-owning player who played the Strat gets to choose... unless you’re claiming it’s unclear just to start a thread to try and wrangle a RAW fight out of it. Nowt to see here.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut



Glasgow

Yeah jonny hell is correct its not remotely unclear the player using the strat gets to choose

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/01/03 00:52:04


 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 JohnnyHell wrote:
It’s not remotely unclear that the unit-owning player who played the Strat gets to choose... unless you’re claiming it’s unclear just to start a thread to try and wrangle a RAW fight out of it. Nowt to see here.


Exactly this. I still cannot understand how anyone can genuinely in good faith have any other take on this one.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Don't forget a large percentage of gamers seem to be somewhere on the asperger's spectrum, and many are quite (as perhaps a result of that) literal in their mindset. Some others don't speak english, some people don't get to actually play in person much, some people don't get to actually see the game's ongoing culture to inform their use of their native language to try to interpret a game with dozens of rules and a variety of bad writers.

In other words, one shouldn't immediately leap to imagine the other fellow is the complete bad faith jerk he appears to be -- sometimes, its something else.

Sometimes, I will even ask a question in here that looks seriously bad faith-ish, but what I am really trying to do is find the "look, look here" proof that I can carry to my own nearby circle of friends and end an argument one of the more bad faithy people started. Cause I don't know immediatly the "proof that would shut it down" but someone, I hope, in here, does. So I will say "but this and thus" when the argument is glibly answered, to try to draw that proof out of the community.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/01/03 14:56:01


Guard gaurd gAAAARDity Gaurd gaurd.  
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Based on OP’s prior posting history you get a reasonable gauge of intent, and in this case it’s just trying to be clever. And it isn’t, as this situation isn’t in any way unclear unless specifically trying to be obtuse. Whilst your post is commendable, I guarantee you that this thread started with a bad faith premise.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Virulent Space Marine dedicated to Nurgle




This is a RAW "question" much like the rolling of dice is a RAW "question".

Which is to say, the rules say to roll the dice but they never tell you to stop the rolling of the dice.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





PoorGravitasHandling wrote:
This is a RAW "question" much like the rolling of dice is a RAW "question".

Which is to say, the rules say to roll the dice but they never tell you to stop the rolling of the dice.


Or as BCB likes to put it, that they never tell you the dice need to have 6 faces.

Some aspects of the rules are just implicit and requite common sense. And yeah, maybe it isn't common but it is bleedin' obvious if you're not being deliberately obtuse.

The game is literally unplayable otherwise, so if you cant get on board with that then you really need a different hobby because this is, love it or hate it, how GW rules are written.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

 Stux wrote:
PoorGravitasHandling wrote:
This is a RAW "question" much like the rolling of dice is a RAW "question".

Which is to say, the rules say to roll the dice but they never tell you to stop the rolling of the dice.


Or as BCB likes to put it, that they never tell you the dice need to have 6 faces.

Some aspects of the rules are just implicit and requite common sense. And yeah, maybe it isn't common but it is bleedin' obvious if you're not being deliberately obtuse.

The game is literally unplayable otherwise, so if you cant get on board with that then you really need a different hobby because this is, love it or hate it, how GW rules are written.


Amen.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight





Fredericksburg, VA

 Stux wrote:
PoorGravitasHandling wrote:
This is a RAW "question" much like the rolling of dice is a RAW "question".

Which is to say, the rules say to roll the dice but they never tell you to stop the rolling of the dice.


Or as BCB likes to put it, that they never tell you the dice need to have 6 faces.

Some aspects of the rules are just implicit and requite common sense. And yeah, maybe it isn't common but it is bleedin' obvious if you're not being deliberately obtuse.

The game is literally unplayable otherwise, so if you cant get on board with that then you really need a different hobby because this is, love it or hate it, how GW rules are written.


To be a little bit of the devils advocate, the rules do indeed say that a die must have 6 faces. What they don't say is what needs to be on each of those faces! (We just assume 1,2,3,4,5,6)

But I get what you meant to say, and yes you're right on the mark there.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: