Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/12/31 15:07:18
Subject: transports tied to units?
|
 |
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch
|
short version of the question: to take a dedicated transport, MUST you take a unit that it can transport?
longer version of the question:
this came up in a discussion about cheap objective holders for the custodes. it was suggested that the sisters of silence rhino was a good option. While the poster who suggested it was talking about buying a squad of sisters, and a rhino, then having them footslog up and parking the rhino on the point, is that strictly necessary in 9th ed? the transports arent options tied to the unit datasheets anymore, but separate units that are bought separately form a separate force org slot (dedicated transport, heavy support, etc), then assigned to a unit during deployment/pre-battle.
so, given that you dont have to deploy a unit inside it, is thier actually a requirement to bring a unit it can transport? the Sisters rhino i was talking about can only carry sisters of silence, not any custodes, so if i bring it but no sisters, it cant actaully transport anything in my army, but i cant see a rule that says that it actually needs to, i just need to pay the points to bring it and thats that.
however, that feels so "gamey" in the negitive sense that i cant help but feel it must be wrong. am i? is their a rule i have missed?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/12/31 15:08:15
To be a man in such times is to be one amongst untold billions. It is to live in the cruelest and most bloody regime imaginable. These are the tales of those times. Forget the power of technology and science, for so much has been forgotten, never to be relearned. Forget the promise of progress and understanding, for in the grim dark future there is only war. There is no peace amongst the stars, only an eternity of carnage and slaughter, and the laughter of thirsting gods.
Coven of XVth 2000pts
The Blades of Ruin 2,000pts Watch Company Rho 1650pts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/12/31 15:24:10
Subject: transports tied to units?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Dedicated Transport is Just a FOC selection now.
DTs are never "assigned" to any units.
By the same token, the Sisters of Silence Rhino with always remain a DT, and will not have obsec(DTs becoming the same FOC selection as their parent unit has been gone since DTs became their own FOC selection).
But in answer to your question: no, you do not have to Ave a unit that can be transported in order to take a transport, as long as you have the FOC requirements for the DT slot. Example: I can take a Taurox Prime as a dedicated transport without taking any scions units within my Astra militarum army, so long as I take at least 1 infantry unit.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/12/31 15:26:44
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/12/31 15:32:10
Subject: Re:transports tied to units?
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
You can include 1 DT for each INFANTRY unit in a detachment. The DT doesnt need to be able to transport that INFANTRY. If you have a unit of terminators you can include a rhino.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/12/31 16:19:20
Subject: Re:transports tied to units?
|
 |
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch
|
Ok, thanks for the answers.
I know the rhino won't have obsec, but the idea was to save points on a backfield point holder (neither do the sisters,for that matter), for nearly half the cost of a regular custodes guard squad. Its mostly a hypothetical at this point, as I don't have a rhino to use in such a fashion
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/12/31 16:21:21
To be a man in such times is to be one amongst untold billions. It is to live in the cruelest and most bloody regime imaginable. These are the tales of those times. Forget the power of technology and science, for so much has been forgotten, never to be relearned. Forget the promise of progress and understanding, for in the grim dark future there is only war. There is no peace amongst the stars, only an eternity of carnage and slaughter, and the laughter of thirsting gods.
Coven of XVth 2000pts
The Blades of Ruin 2,000pts Watch Company Rho 1650pts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/12/31 16:29:36
Subject: transports tied to units?
|
 |
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers
|
I believe it was myself who suggested it, and as others have said, it's a legal tactic in 9th. That being said expect it to get FAQ'd as soon as custodes start using cheap Rhinos to steal objectives in GTs. There are already grumbles in my local scene about "custodes abusing poor unit design" with the Sisters. This likely won't result in a change to how Rhino's work, but how SoS work/cost. But then again we won't likely see a codex drop for at least another few months to maybe half a year, so abuse the hell out of it now.
|
|
 |
 |
|