Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/12/31 17:59:17
Subject: Arcane Genetic Alchemy
|
 |
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers
|
The strat reads that all attacks of 1-3 auto fail regardless of "other abilities". Does this then prevent a command re-roll or re-roll 1 abilities?
I got into a pretty protracted fight about this over the weekend, and my Trajann ended up dead because I didn't want to fight about it. Was I wrong? He tried to roll 5 attacks, and 4 would have failed outright, but he said he got to re-roll the 1s, and command re-rolled a 3.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/12/31 18:26:32
Subject: Arcane Genetic Alchemy
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:The strat reads that all attacks of 1-3 auto fail regardless of "other abilities". Does this then prevent a command re-roll or re-roll 1 abilities? I got into a pretty protracted fight about this over the weekend, and my Trajann ended up dead because I didn't want to fight about it. Was I wrong? He tried to roll 5 attacks, and 4 would have failed outright, but he said he got to re-roll the 1s, and command re-rolled a 3.
No, only the final result is counted. If you re-roll a dice, the first result never happened. You can re-roll that 1.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/12/31 18:26:51
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/12/31 18:57:47
Subject: Arcane Genetic Alchemy
|
 |
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers
|
So I thought "Abilities" covered Stratagems, which would count under the rule, "Regardless of any other ABILITIES". Also, the re-roll aura is an ability as well.Or is there a RAW definition of an ability, that would solve this?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/12/31 18:59:03
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/12/31 19:03:01
Subject: Arcane Genetic Alchemy
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:So I thought "Abilities" covered Stratagems, which would count under the rule, "Regardless of any other ABILITIES". Also, the re-roll aura is an ability as well.Or is there a RAW definition of an ability, that would solve this?
A wound roll doesn't have a value until it's determined. Re-rolls make the first roll simply cease to exist. A wound roll of 1 that is re-rolled to a 3 has a value of 3, and only 3. If a rule prevents re-rolls, it will say so. For example, the Dark Eldar Shadowfield: Codex: Drew Carey, Page 88 wrote:Shadowfield: This model has a 2+ invulnerable save, which cannot be re-rolled for any reason. The first time this invulnerable save is failed the shadowfield ceases to function for the remainder of the battle.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/12/31 19:06:38
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/12/31 19:24:56
Subject: Arcane Genetic Alchemy
|
 |
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers
|
So the BRB refers to Re-roll auras as abilities, and the stratagem clearly states despite ANY ABILITIES.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/12/31 19:41:47
Subject: Re:Arcane Genetic Alchemy
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Doesn't matter. AGA is based on unmodified die roll the Wound Roll. That is not determined until after you re-roll. A rule would have to forbid re-rolls for it to matter.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/12/31 20:02:06
Subject: Arcane Genetic Alchemy
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:So the BRB refers to Re-roll auras as abilities, and the stratagem clearly states despite ANY ABILITIES.
And, once again, it only stops abilities that affect the result of the roll, like a +1 to wound. Re-rolls don't affect the VALUE of the roll. The stratagem only prevents abilities that affect the VALUE of the roll from affecting it.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/12/31 20:02:18
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/12/31 20:08:56
Subject: Arcane Genetic Alchemy
|
 |
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers
|
I see my error there. Thank you. I thought it locked out all "abilities", which was wrong.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/12/31 20:09:57
|
|
 |
 |
|