Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/02/03 16:02:11
Subject: Couple Random Questions
|
 |
Noise Marine Terminator with Sonic Blaster
|
OK, in no particular order:
1. Unit of terminators with various combi-weapons:
a.Under rules for 9th, they can split their shots at different units?
b. Additionally, combi-weapons are no longer one shot weapons, they can shoot every turn?
c. If b above is true, can a terminator shoot combi melta at one target and bolter portion at another?
d. Lastly, only being able to charge what you shot at no longer applies?
2. Multi-detachment question. If I take a Night Lords detachment of raptors and take Harken as an auxiliary support detachment,
a. How do legion traits play into here? Night Lords trait only effects Night Lords, Black Legion one applies only to Harken?
b. As long as Harken is on the board, I can use Black Legion stratagems as well?
3. Follow up to Night Lords legion trait: -1 LD for every unit within 6" to a maximum of -3. How does Raptor's Fearsome Visage and Harken's Herald of the Apocalypse stack with this? Can I get the -3 for 3 Night Lords Units and then apply Fearsome Visage and HofA for a -5?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/02/03 16:11:51
Subject: Couple Random Questions
|
 |
Battleship Captain
|
1. a. Each Terminator can fire each weapon at a separate target.
So Terminator 1 can fire his combi-bolter at unit A, whilst Terminator 2 fires his combi-bolter at unit B and his cyclone missile launcher at unit C, for example.
Note, however, that each combi-bolter is a single weapon with two profiles. So each Terminator would have to fire the bolter half and the fancy half at the same target.
b. Yes, they can shoot every turn.
c. No, see a.
d. correct, you can charge whoever you want.
2.
a. Yes, your Night Lords detachment gains the Night Lords benefit. I don't think Auxiliary Support Detachments benefit from traits though, although I may be wrong.
b. Yes, although where they target Black Legion units that obviously couldn't be used on the Night Lords. I'm not even sure he needs to still be on the board or even alive tbh.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/02/03 16:24:58
Subject: Re:Couple Random Questions
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
1.
a. Yes, they can.
b. Yes, they can.
c. No, they cant.
d. You can charge any enemy unit that is within 12", except a special rule says otherwise.
2.
a. Units in aux sup detachments dont benefit from legion traits.
b. You unlock BLACK LEGION stratagems with a pure BLACK LEGION detachment, except aux sup detachments. If you use Harken in an aux sup detachment, you dont unlock BLACK LEGION stratagems.
3. Yes.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/02/03 16:26:43
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/02/04 00:53:49
Subject: Re:Couple Random Questions
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
p5freak wrote:2.
a. Units in aux sup detachments dont benefit from legion traits.
b. You unlock BLACK LEGION stratagems with a pure BLACK LEGION detachment, except aux sup detachments. If you use Harken in an aux sup detachment, you dont unlock BLACK LEGION stratagems.
Unless the rules in Codex Chaos Space Marines are significantly different from other Codexes, any Chaos Space Marine detachment (other than Fortification, ASD, and ASHD) give you access to all Stratagems in the Codex. Legion stratagems only work on Legion units, but you have access to all Chaos Space Marine stratagems.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/02/04 17:43:59
Subject: Couple Random Questions
|
 |
Noise Marine Terminator with Sonic Blaster
|
Follow up Question:
Look Out Sir says you cannot target a character if it is within 3" of a friendly vehicle or monster or within 3" of a unit with 3 or more models.
So, if my Demon Prince or Jump Pack Sorceror is marching slightly behind a Defiler or Rhino.... he cannot be targeted unless he is the closest model? I get being near a unit, but just want to be sure about the others.
Thanks,
EDIT: Removed Lord Discordant as it has 12 wounds.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/02/04 17:45:42
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/02/04 18:08:44
Subject: Couple Random Questions
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
As long as the character starts with 10 or less wounds, yes. (The Lord Discordant you removed you realized had too many wounds). You just have to make sure the character doesn't end up the closest model to someone in that grouping.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/02/04 18:10:12
Subject: Re:Couple Random Questions
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
|
alextroy wrote: p5freak wrote:2.
a. Units in aux sup detachments dont benefit from legion traits.
b. You unlock BLACK LEGION stratagems with a pure BLACK LEGION detachment, except aux sup detachments. If you use Harken in an aux sup detachment, you dont unlock BLACK LEGION stratagems.
Unless the rules in Codex Chaos Space Marines are significantly different from other Codexes, any Chaos Space Marine detachment (other than Fortification, ASD, and ASHD) give you access to all Stratagems in the Codex. Legion stratagems only work on Legion units, but you have access to all Chaos Space Marine stratagems.
The stratagems for specific legions available from Vigilus and Psychic Awakening are accessed by having pure LEGION detachments that are not Auxiliary Support Detachments.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/02/04 18:24:50
Subject: Couple Random Questions
|
 |
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers
|
One key misconception I have had for most of 9th, is they did away with attacking units not declared in the charge. So if you charge a unit, and defeat them all, then pile into another unit, yyou are NOT in combat with them. That was a big change I totally missed.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/02/04 18:46:54
Subject: Couple Random Questions
|
 |
Noise Marine Terminator with Sonic Blaster
|
FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:One key misconception I have had for most of 9th, is they did away with attacking units not declared in the charge. So if you charge a unit, and defeat them all, then pile into another unit, yyou are NOT in combat with them. That was a big change I totally missed.
My understanding is you are not in combat with them so much as you can attack, but they are free to swing at you.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/02/04 18:50:14
Subject: Couple Random Questions
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Green is Best! wrote:FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:One key misconception I have had for most of 9th, is they did away with attacking units not declared in the charge. So if you charge a unit, and defeat them all, then pile into another unit, yyou are NOT in combat with them. That was a big change I totally missed.
My understanding is you are not in combat with them so much as you can attack, but they are free to swing at you.
This. They are locked so that they can't shoot non-pistols normally, though, and nobody can normally shoot non-pistols at you.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/02/04 18:53:22
Subject: Couple Random Questions
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:One key misconception I have had for most of 9th, is they did away with attacking units not declared in the charge. So if you charge a unit, and defeat them all, then pile into another unit, yyou are NOT in combat with them. That was a big change I totally missed.
Since 8th edition if you charged, you could only declare attacks against units you declared a charge against. That hasn't changed in 9th.
You are "in combat" if you are within engagement range, regardless of who you declared a charge against.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/02/04 19:28:14
Subject: Couple Random Questions
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Glasgow
|
If you are in engagement range and did not declare any charges you can declare attacks in anyone your in engagement range of
If you are in engagement range and you declared charges you can only declare attacks on target's of those charges
|
|
 |
 |
|