Switch Theme:

Using abilities in Transports  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in se
Fresh-Faced New User




Hello!

Quick question. Can a unit embarked in a transport use a ability?

For example. Can a Tallyman in a Rhino use his +1 to hit ability on a unit within 6"?
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Core rules Page 12 of the PDF wrote:Units cannot normally do anything or be affected in any way while they are embarked. Unless specifically stated, abilities have no effect on units while they are embarked, and Stratagems cannot be used to affect units while they are embarked.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in no
Liche Priest Hierophant





Bergen

These rules has also been updated a bit.

*Page 65 – Embark
Change the second sentence of the second paragraph to read:
‘Unless specifically stated, other units’ abilities have no effect on
units while they are embarked, and Stratagems cannot be used to
affect units while they are embarked.’

And:

*Page 91, Rare Rules
Add the following:
Shooting Whilst Embarked on a Transport
Some rules, such as Open-topped, enable units to shoot and
make ranged attacks even while embarked within a Transport
model. Each time such an embarked unit is selected to shoot, the
following rules apply to it:
1. Stratagems cannot be used on that unit in order to affect its
attacks, and you cannot use the Command Re-roll Stratagem
to affect any dice rolls made for its models’ ranged attacks.
2. Measure distances and draw line of sight from any point on
the Transport model when models in that unit make the
ranged attacks.
3. If the Transport model made a Normal Move, Advanced,
Fell Back or Remained Stationary this turn, embarked units
are considered to have done the same when they make
ranged attacks.
4. While the Transport model is within Engagement Range of
any enemy units, unless the ability that the Transport model
has that allows its passengers to shoot whilst embarked states
otherwise, then models in embarked units cannot make
ranged attacks, except with Pistols.
5. Unless specifically stated otherwise, the embarked unit is
not affected by the abilities (including aura abilities) of any
other unit, even if that unit is also embarked within the same
Transport model.
6. If the unit was under the effects of a rule when it embarked on
the Transport model (such as rules bestowed on it during the
Command phase, by a psychic power or a Stratagem etc.) those
rules do not apply to that unit whilst it is embarked.
7. Any abilities (including Detachment abilities) that models in
an embarked unit have, or that their weapons have, continue to
apply when they make ranged attacks.
8. If a restriction applies to the Transport model, that same
restriction applies to units embarked within it. For example,
if the Transport model is not eligible to shoot with because it
has Advanced or Fallen Back this turn, its passengers are not
eligible to shoot with.
9. If a Transport model is under the effects of a modifier to its
ranged attacks (such as a modifier to its hit rolls, wound rolls,
etc.) the same modifier applies each time an embarked model
makes a ranged attack.

*Page 91 – Rare Rules
Add the following:
Transports and Rules that Count as Remaining Stationary
Some rules allow a model to count as having Remained
Stationary, even if that model has moved during its Movement
phase. Even if a Transport model is subject to such a rule,
embarked models still cannot disembark from that Transport
model during the Movement phase if that Transport model has
already moved, unless that Transport model (or the models
embarked within it) have a rule that explicitly allows them to
disembark after the Transport model has moved.


   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: