Switch Theme:

Suoercharge plasma inceptors  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Dark Angels Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries





Hi all. Another noob question. I suspect this is an easy one but I just can't find the rule anywhere. When I declare that I want to supercharge my plasma inceptors, do I have to supercharge the entire unit or can I declare for just a specific model(s). Obviously there's a big difference with regard to risk mitigation.

Thanks everyone.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/05/11 17:02:58


Dark Angel Neophyte 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Solid_jr wrote:
Hi all. Another noob question. I suspect this is an easy one but I just can't find the rule anywhere. When I declare that I want to supercharge my plasma inceptors, do I have to sulerge the entire unit or can I declare for just a specific model(s). Obviously there's a big difference with regard to risk mitigation.

Thanks everyone.
Each model chooses which profile to fire individually.
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins




Tacoma, WA, USA

Isn’t it each weapon must choose a profile? So you could overcharge one of a models two weapons but not the second?
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter




Would it really matter? If one overheats, the fact that the second might, is completely irrelevant.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:
Would it really matter? If one overheats, the fact that the second might, is completely irrelevant.


It certainly is relevant. You choose the profile before shooting. You have to have decided the profiles you're using before shooting either, and there's almost twice the chance of overheating if you supercharge 2 than only one. If you roll the supercharged one first and it didn't overheat. then you're not going to overheat shooting the second one since it's not supercharged. You don't get to choose firing the second based on the results of the first weapon;

Almost twice the chance of overheating over supercharging only 1 weapon is certainly relevant.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/03/04 18:58:13


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 alextroy wrote:
Isn’t it each weapon must choose a profile? So you could overcharge one of a models two weapons but not the second?
Correct, my apologies for not being more explict.
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter




You see, once again this could be so easily avoided by a profile that combines both weapons. get 6 shots, if one is a 1, model dies. Didn't that used to be called "Twin linked" or am I thinking of something else?
   
Made in us
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle





Kansas, United States

FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:
You see, once again this could be so easily avoided by a profile that combines both weapons. get 6 shots, if one is a 1, model dies. Didn't that used to be called "Twin linked" or am I thinking of something else?


I think "twin-linked" weapons used to just let you re-roll attacks.

Death Guard - "The Rotmongers"
Chaos Space Marines - "The Sin-Eaters"
Dark Angels - "Nemeses Errant"
Deathwatch 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Octopoid wrote:
FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:
You see, once again this could be so easily avoided by a profile that combines both weapons. get 6 shots, if one is a 1, model dies. Didn't that used to be called "Twin linked" or am I thinking of something else?


I think "twin-linked" weapons used to just let you re-roll attacks.


Yes,that was what twin-linked used to mean. Now it just means double the shots of a single version of the weapon
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut



Glasgow

Strictly speaking it means nothing.

In practice its just a name now the profiles attached to that name all have profiles that are equivalent to two basics

But the term itself has no bearing or rules attached to it

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/03/04 21:49:17


 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins




Tacoma, WA, USA

FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:You see, once again this could be so easily avoided by a profile that combines both weapons. get 6 shots, if one is a 1, model dies. Didn't that used to be called "Twin linked" or am I thinking of something else?
It’s a feature, not a bug. You can split your fire if you have two weapons.

And twin-linked weapons had the same number of attacks as a normal weapon but rerolled misses. Now they are Twin Weapons that have twice the attacks.
   
Made in ca
Dark Angels Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries





So, to clarify, twin linked weapons must all target the same unit then? Doesnt that make them ever so slightly worse than just having two separate identical weapons?

Dark Angel Neophyte 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

 Solid_jr wrote:
So, to clarify, twin linked weapons must all target the same unit then? Doesnt that make them ever so slightly worse than just having two separate identical weapons?


If you mean Twin weapons, which generally speaking anything that used to be Twin-Linked now is, then yes you they must. They're literally one of the weapons with double the shots from a rules perspective.

If on the other hand a model has two of a weapon, then no, they can target different units.

   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut



england

As been said you have to declare what all weapon profiles you are using before rolling dice.
You can choose to overcharge one gun and not the other.

One thing to remember though you are supposed to fire both guns separately, so if you do overcharge and roll a 1, you die before getting to shoot your second weapon.


 
   
Made in de
Prophetic Blood Angel Librarian






Germany

Shoot the not overcharged weapon first.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: