Switch Theme:

Attacking with Chariots and Mounts  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

Not sure how to sum this up in a concise title, but this is referring to models which have additional attacks representing mounts, such as cavalry and chariots. I'll use the Fateskimmer as an example:

The rules for the Fateskimmer include the Lamprey Bite, representing the Screamer mounts, which have the following rule:
After a model riding a Burning Chariot makes its close combat attacks, you can attack with its mount. Make 6 additional attacks using the weapon profile Profile is irrelevant here

Now is there anything stopping me from actually using the Lamprey Bite profile for all my attacks? The Chariot and Screamers are all one unit. While the description notes that the model is armed with the Ritual Dagger, it also notes that it is drawn by Screamers that attack with Lamprey Bites, ergo surely the unit as a whole is equipped with Lamprey Bites and can use it for all their attacks, not just the additional 6?
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

As you have clearly noted, the Model is armed with a Ritual Dagger. It is not armed with Lamprey's Bite. You therefore cannot use Lamprey's Bite for the model's attacks.

Some later versions of mount rules are better written. Thunderwolf Cavalry are armed with Crushing Teeth and Claws that grant 3 attacks with the weapon each time the bearer attacks and no more than three attacks can be made with the weapon.
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

But the unit as a whole is armed with a Ritual Dagger and a Lamprey Bite. I agree that some units have been written with this possible loophole in mind.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

From the 'Abilities' section of the Lamprey Bite statline:

After a model riding a Burning Chariot makes its close combat attacks, you can attack with its mount. Make 6 additional attacks, using this weapon profile.

If you're making all of your attacks with the Lamprey Bite, you're breaking this rule. You would need a rule that allows you to make all of your attacks with the Lamprey Bite.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





Normally the mounts have a weak attack whilst the rider has a much stronger one, so you may have identified the one unit in the game where this actually matters

Even still, the profile is clearly separated out to show what attacks the rider has and what attacks the screamers have. You can maybe argue over RaW but I think the intention is pretty clear.

8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: