Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/03/16 18:13:49
Subject: Death Guard Rule Clarifications before Tourney
|
 |
Agile Revenant Titan
|
Hey all, just want to make sure I am proficiently understanding a few rules before an event this weekend.
First, an allied in csm sorcerer with warp time in a death guard army. I know its supposed to be able to work on Mortarion, but how come? As morty does not have heretic astartes keyword. I would imagine its in an FAQ somewhere but I'm not sure where, and want to know for the event.
Second, that allied in sorcerer (in an auxiliary support detachment) would break the -1 toughness contagion, but not the warlord/detachment trait contagions right? The wording about contagions makes me think I could see an argument going either way, but I am fairly confident it is just the -1 toughness contagion that gets broken.
Third, charges out of DS. My friends are under the impression that a unit charging out of deepstrike need a 8" charge, as they are set up 9" away and then just need to get within 1" to be within engagement range. But I read on here constantly people talking about needing a 9" charge out of DS. Why are my friends wrong?
Finally, and more unrelated to death guard, but when a unit has the ability to re-roll ALL the hit rolls (ie chapter master), my friends believe that means you can either reroll the entire hit roll, or not at all. So you cannot reroll just the misses. This kind of makes sense to me, as other wordings explicitly say you can reroll the misses, but also seems strange to me so I wanted to make sure.
Thanks guys.
|
I do drugs.
Mostly Plastic Crack, but I do dabble in Cardboard Cocaine. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/03/16 18:16:11
Subject: Death Guard Rule Clarifications before Tourney
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
On the third point, you have to be set up more than 9" away. If you had an 8" charge you'd still be more than 1" away.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/03/16 18:38:32
Subject: Death Guard Rule Clarifications before Tourney
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
ninjafiredragon wrote:Hey all, just want to make sure I am proficiently understanding a few rules before an event this weekend.
First, an allied in csm sorcerer with warp time in a death guard army. I know its supposed to be able to work on Mortarion, but how come? As morty does not have heretic astartes keyword. I would imagine its in an FAQ somewhere but I'm not sure where, and want to know for the event.
What Dataslate are you looking at, because you can download the Dataslate for Mortarion on spikeybits.com and he definitely does have the HERETIC ASTARTES keyword.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/03/16 19:24:20
Subject: Death Guard Rule Clarifications before Tourney
|
 |
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle
|
ninjafiredragon wrote:Finally, and more unrelated to death guard, but when a unit has the ability to re-roll ALL the hit rolls (ie chapter master), my friends believe that means you can either reroll the entire hit roll, or not at all. So you cannot reroll just the misses. This kind of makes sense to me, as other wordings explicitly say you can reroll the misses, but also seems strange to me so I wanted to make sure. Thanks guys.
Do you have the exact wording of the Chapter Master (or similar) Ability? If it says "can reroll all hit rolls" I can see the argument. If it says "Can reroll any/all hit rolls", then I think the question is moot.
|
Death Guard - "The Rotmongers"
Chaos Space Marines - "The Sin-Eaters"
Dark Angels - "Nemeses Errant"
Deathwatch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/03/16 19:29:03
Subject: Death Guard Rule Clarifications before Tourney
|
 |
Beast of Nurgle
|
ninjafiredragon wrote:Hey all, just want to make sure I am proficiently understanding a few rules before an event this weekend.
First, an allied in csm sorcerer with warp time in a death guard army. I know its supposed to be able to work on Mortarion, but how come? As morty does not have heretic astartes keyword. I would imagine its in an FAQ somewhere but I'm not sure where, and want to know for the event.
Second, that allied in sorcerer (in an auxiliary support detachment) would break the -1 toughness contagion, but not the warlord/detachment trait contagions right? The wording about contagions makes me think I could see an argument going either way, but I am fairly confident it is just the -1 toughness contagion that gets broken.
Third, charges out of DS. My friends are under the impression that a unit charging out of deepstrike need a 8" charge, as they are set up 9" away and then just need to get within 1" to be within engagement range. But I read on here constantly people talking about needing a 9" charge out of DS. Why are my friends wrong?
Finally, and more unrelated to death guard, but when a unit has the ability to re-roll ALL the hit rolls (ie chapter master), my friends believe that means you can either reroll the entire hit roll, or not at all. So you cannot reroll just the misses. This kind of makes sense to me, as other wordings explicitly say you can reroll the misses, but also seems strange to me so I wanted to make sure.
Thanks guys.
1) I've just checked the 9th Edition Codex and he does has the Heretic Astartes keyword.
2) You're right, if you take the warlord detachment trait then it will still work. The rules on page 63 of the Codex state that you will only gain the Nurgle's Gift contagion under a specific circumstance, having your entire army as Death Guard. It doesn't say anything about losing any Contagions and it doesn't block any other ones you might acquire.
3) As has already been said you deep strike more than 9" away, so 9.00000001" or whatever. An 8" charge from any distance over 9" will not get you within 1", you need the 9.
4) You'd have to quote the exact rule but I suspect he's talking bobbins. By the rules each attack is made one at a time going from hit, wound, save and so on before you move on to the next attack. Fast rolling them all together is a nice thing to do that both players should, and normally will, agree on. So for each hit roll you can decide whether or not to re-roll if the ability is a "may" or a "can" thing. If your opponent insists that it means all the hit rolls or none of them then make the attacks one at a time until they see the lack of logic in their argument, get bored and concede that you can fast roll and then re-roll just the misses.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/03/16 19:47:51
Subject: Death Guard Rule Clarifications before Tourney
|
 |
Pyromaniac Hellhound Pilot
|
NVM!!!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/03/16 19:50:08
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/03/16 19:52:17
Subject: Death Guard Rule Clarifications before Tourney
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
CKO wrote:What is an unaligned unit? Why does the contagion rule mention unaligned units?
An unaligned unit is one that has UNALIGNED as the Faction Keyword.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/03/16 19:57:55
Subject: Death Guard Rule Clarifications before Tourney
|
 |
Beast of Nurgle
|
Ghaz wrote: CKO wrote:What is an unaligned unit? Why does the contagion rule mention unaligned units?
An unaligned unit is one that has UNALIGNED as the Faction Keyword.
An example being the Spindle Drones from Blackstone Fortress, I think such units are pretty rare.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/03/16 20:40:30
Subject: Death Guard Rule Clarifications before Tourney
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
PlagueGardener wrote: Ghaz wrote: CKO wrote:What is an unaligned unit? Why does the contagion rule mention unaligned units?
An unaligned unit is one that has UNALIGNED as the Faction Keyword.
An example being the Spindle Drones from Blackstone Fortress, I think such units are pretty rare.
Fortifications from CA2019 also have the UNALIGNED keyword.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/03/18 12:28:09
Subject: Death Guard Rule Clarifications before Tourney
|
 |
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade
|
1. Mortarion does have the Heretic Astartes keyword.
2. Only the Nurgle's Gift Contagion is lost.
3. Units arriving as reinforcements must be set up MORE THAN 9" away, and therefore require a 9 to make a successful charge, assuming no terrain/elevation is involved.
4. Is there an ability which specifies you must reroll "all hit rolls"? Mortarion's certainly doesn't.
"Until the start of your next Command phase, each time a model in that unit makes an attack, you can re-roll the hit roll."
Each hit roll can be rerolled, at your discretion. There is no requirement to reroll every attack - in fact, the rules assume that you are making one attack at a time. If your friends still hold to their mistaken assumption, start resolving attacks one at a time.
|
Triggerbaby wrote:In summary, here's your lunch and ask Miss Creaver if she has aloe lotion because I have taken you to school and you have been burned.
Abadabadoobaddon wrote:I too can prove pretty much any assertion I please if I don't count all the evidence that contradicts it. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/03/19 12:19:29
Subject: Death Guard Rule Clarifications before Tourney
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
Logical proof you need a 9 to make a charge from Deep Strike:
1. You cannot deploy WITHIN 9" of an enemy. Therefore closest you can deploy is exactly 9" away, and this is explicitly NOT within 9".
2. If you rolled an 8, that would take you from exactly 9" away to exactly 1" away.
3. As we defined above, exactly a distance away is NOT within that distance. Ergo, 1" away is not within 1".
4. Therefore if an 8" charge takes you within 1", you must have deployed within 9" meaning you deployed illegally.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/03/19 13:44:23
Subject: Death Guard Rule Clarifications before Tourney
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Stux wrote:Logical proof you need a 9 to make a charge from Deep Strike:
1. You cannot deploy WITHIN 9" of an enemy. Therefore closest you can deploy is exactly 9" away, and this is explicitly NOT within 9".
2. If you rolled an 8, that would take you from exactly 9" away to exactly 1" away.
3. As we defined above, exactly a distance away is NOT within that distance. Ergo, 1" away is not within 1".
4. Therefore if an 8" charge takes you within 1", you must have deployed within 9" meaning you deployed illegally.
You can't deploy exactly 9" away, as that would be within 9". Within 9" means 9" or less, so you have to be more than 9" away.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/03/19 13:57:46
Subject: Death Guard Rule Clarifications before Tourney
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Not to mention the deployment rules are almost always "more than X inches". That makes X inches too close.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/03/19 14:40:50
Subject: Death Guard Rule Clarifications before Tourney
|
 |
Beast of Nurgle
|
Stux wrote:Logical proof you need a 9 to make a charge from Deep Strike:
1. You cannot deploy WITHIN 9" of an enemy. Therefore closest you can deploy is exactly 9" away, and this is explicitly NOT within 9".
2. If you rolled an 8, that would take you from exactly 9" away to exactly 1" away.
3. As we defined above, exactly a distance away is NOT within that distance. Ergo, 1" away is not within 1".
4. Therefore if an 8" charge takes you within 1", you must have deployed within 9" meaning you deployed illegally.
Check the rules on "Measuring distances" on page 199 of the BRB. By 40k's rules if you are exactly x" away from something then you are within x" of that thing. "Within" means any distance that is not more than the specified distance.
So being exactly 9" away would mean that you are within 9", so point 1 is wrong. Point 3 is also wrong as being exactly 1" away would also mean that you are within 1".
So all of this means that not within 9" defines exactly the same area as more than 9". So the deep strike rules could just as equally say that you cannot deploy within 9" of an enemy, but given that the definition of "within" relies on a negative (any distance not more than X) then you've then double that negative, so it's just simpler to say more than 9".
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/03/19 14:48:30
|
|
 |
 |
|