Switch Theme:

Grinding advance, reroll number of shoots and line of sight  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in bg
Regular Dakkanaut





Hi guys,

I am looking for clarification on grinding advance of the guard russes.

Rule says you can shoot twice the turret. Question comes on the order of things. Does shooting twice mean you do twice the shoots, lets say 2d6. Or you shoot once 1d6 and then start all over the process (check line of sight and so on).

How does it intereact with the catachan (or custom trait) reroll for the number of shoots?

   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

If it says shoot twice, then you would shoot once, resolve it and then do it all over again. Most players fast roll it, do it together but this may cause issues if the first casualties would take the unit out of range/LoS.
   
Made in de
Junior Officer with Laspistol






Good question and thanks for the answer Valkyrie. I wasn't aware of that, good to know.

~7510 build and painted
1312 build and painted
1200 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Valkyrie's right, it's another shooting sequence. Think of it as the shooting equivalent of some units' abilties to fight again; they have to go through the attack sequence a second time when they fight again. Same for Grinding Advance and turret weapons.
   
Made in bg
Regular Dakkanaut





So I guess, same applies to Eradicators rigth?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Their getting to shoot twice? Yes.
   
Made in bg
Regular Dakkanaut





 doctortom wrote:
Their getting to shoot twice? Yes.


Their conditions on Los and range for the second voley
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Interesting rule. When would a unit not be an eligible target for those attacks ? If its ineligible, you wouldnt be able to target it at all. You wouldnt be able to shoot it even once in your shooting phase.

Total Obliteration
In your shooting phase, each time this unit is selected to shoot, if it has not Advanced this turn, it can unleash total obliteration, If it does, select one enemy unit; models in this unit can shoot twice this phase, but they can only make attacks that target that enemy unit(and only if that enemy unit is an eligible target for those attacks)
   
Made in us
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle





Kansas, United States

 p5freak wrote:
Interesting rule. When would a unit not be an eligible target for those attacks ? If its ineligible, you wouldnt be able to target it at all. You wouldnt be able to shoot it even once in your shooting phase.

Total Obliteration
In your shooting phase, each time this unit is selected to shoot, if it has not Advanced this turn, it can unleash total obliteration, If it does, select one enemy unit; models in this unit can shoot twice this phase, but they can only make attacks that target that enemy unit(and only if that enemy unit is an eligible target for those attacks)


Characters?

Death Guard - "The Rotmongers"
Chaos Space Marines - "The Sin-Eaters"
Dark Angels - "Nemeses Errant"
Deathwatch 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 p5freak wrote:
Interesting rule. When would a unit not be an eligible target for those attacks ? If its ineligible, you wouldnt be able to target it at all. You wouldnt be able to shoot it even once in your shooting phase.

Total Obliteration
In your shooting phase, each time this unit is selected to shoot, if it has not Advanced this turn, it can unleash total obliteration, If it does, select one enemy unit; models in this unit can shoot twice this phase, but they can only make attacks that target that enemy unit(and only if that enemy unit is an eligible target for those attacks)


If the target unit removes models from the front when resolving the first round of shooting, then it is possible the target unit would be out of LOS or range when the shooting for the second time.
   
Made in bg
Regular Dakkanaut





Aash wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
Interesting rule. When would a unit not be an eligible target for those attacks ? If its ineligible, you wouldnt be able to target it at all. You wouldnt be able to shoot it even once in your shooting phase.

Total Obliteration
In your shooting phase, each time this unit is selected to shoot, if it has not Advanced this turn, it can unleash total obliteration, If it does, select one enemy unit; models in this unit can shoot twice this phase, but they can only make attacks that target that enemy unit(and only if that enemy unit is an eligible target for those attacks)


If the target unit removes models from the front when resolving the first round of shooting, then it is possible the target unit would be out of LOS or range when the shooting for the second time.


Hence my question. Not only that, but on multiwound models at 12" damage change can make a big difference.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Orkimedez_Atalaya wrote:
Aash wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
Interesting rule. When would a unit not be an eligible target for those attacks ? If its ineligible, you wouldnt be able to target it at all. You wouldnt be able to shoot it even once in your shooting phase.

Total Obliteration
In your shooting phase, each time this unit is selected to shoot, if it has not Advanced this turn, it can unleash total obliteration, If it does, select one enemy unit; models in this unit can shoot twice this phase, but they can only make attacks that target that enemy unit(and only if that enemy unit is an eligible target for those attacks)


If the target unit removes models from the front when resolving the first round of shooting, then it is possible the target unit would be out of LOS or range when the shooting for the second time.


Hence my question. Not only that, but on multiwound models at 12" damage change can make a big difference.


I was suggesting a situation where you would be unable to fire for the second time.

The answer to the original question given above was correct- the first shooting sequence is carried out in full, followed by a second shooting sequence from the beginning, so declaring targets and checking visibility and range. As noted above it is very similar to the way fight twice rules work in close combat.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/03/19 17:06:05


 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Aash wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
Interesting rule. When would a unit not be an eligible target for those attacks ? If its ineligible, you wouldnt be able to target it at all. You wouldnt be able to shoot it even once in your shooting phase.

Total Obliteration
In your shooting phase, each time this unit is selected to shoot, if it has not Advanced this turn, it can unleash total obliteration, If it does, select one enemy unit; models in this unit can shoot twice this phase, but they can only make attacks that target that enemy unit(and only if that enemy unit is an eligible target for those attacks)


If the target unit removes models from the front when resolving the first round of shooting, then it is possible the target unit would be out of LOS or range when the shooting for the second time.


If that happens the unit would be an ineligible target, and you wouldnt be able to choose it for total obliteration. I dont understand that rule. You can only shoot at eligible targets. Why does it say that the unit has to be an eligible target ??
   
Made in bg
Regular Dakkanaut





Aash wrote:
Orkimedez_Atalaya wrote:
Aash wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
Interesting rule. When would a unit not be an eligible target for those attacks ? If its ineligible, you wouldnt be able to target it at all. You wouldnt be able to shoot it even once in your shooting phase.

Total Obliteration
In your shooting phase, each time this unit is selected to shoot, if it has not Advanced this turn, it can unleash total obliteration, If it does, select one enemy unit; models in this unit can shoot twice this phase, but they can only make attacks that target that enemy unit(and only if that enemy unit is an eligible target for those attacks)


If the target unit removes models from the front when resolving the first round of shooting, then it is possible the target unit would be out of LOS or range when the shooting for the second time.


Hence my question. Not only that, but on multiwound models at 12" damage change can make a big difference.


I was suggesting a situation where you would be unable to fire for the second time.

The answer to the original question given above was correct- the first shooting sequence is carried out in full, followed by a second shooting sequence from the beginning, so declaring targets and checking visibility and range. As noted above it is very similar to the way fight twice rules work in close combat.


Right. Thank you!


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Orkimedez_Atalaya wrote:
Aash wrote:
Orkimedez_Atalaya wrote:
Aash wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
Interesting rule. When would a unit not be an eligible target for those attacks ? If its ineligible, you wouldnt be able to target it at all. You wouldnt be able to shoot it even once in your shooting phase.

Total Obliteration
In your shooting phase, each time this unit is selected to shoot, if it has not Advanced this turn, it can unleash total obliteration, If it does, select one enemy unit; models in this unit can shoot twice this phase, but they can only make attacks that target that enemy unit(and only if that enemy unit is an eligible target for those attacks)


If the target unit removes models from the front when resolving the first round of shooting, then it is possible the target unit would be out of LOS or range when the shooting for the second time.


Hence my question. Not only that, but on multiwound models at 12" damage change can make a big difference.


I was suggesting a situation where you would be unable to fire for the second time.

The answer to the original question given above was correct- the first shooting sequence is carried out in full, followed by a second shooting sequence from the beginning, so declaring targets and checking visibility and range. As noted above it is very similar to the way fight twice rules work in close combat.


Right. Thank you!


Then, the reroll for the number of shoots can be taken both times.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/03/19 17:11:08


 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

 p5freak wrote:
Aash wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
Interesting rule. When would a unit not be an eligible target for those attacks ? If its ineligible, you wouldnt be able to target it at all. You wouldnt be able to shoot it even once in your shooting phase.

Total Obliteration
In your shooting phase, each time this unit is selected to shoot, if it has not Advanced this turn, it can unleash total obliteration, If it does, select one enemy unit; models in this unit can shoot twice this phase, but they can only make attacks that target that enemy unit(and only if that enemy unit is an eligible target for those attacks)


If the target unit removes models from the front when resolving the first round of shooting, then it is possible the target unit would be out of LOS or range when the shooting for the second time.


If that happens the unit would be an ineligible target, and you wouldnt be able to choose it for total obliteration. I dont understand that rule. You can only shoot at eligible targets. Why does it say that the unit has to be an eligible target ??


You choose the unit before any shots are fired. If casualties are pulled from the front and they end up out of range after the first volley, then the second volley would be lost. A unit doesn’t become ineligible to be selected because it might later become possibly out of range, that’s crazy.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 JohnnyHell wrote:

You choose the unit before any shots are fired. If casualties are pulled from the front and they end up out of range after the first volley, then the second volley would be lost. A unit doesn’t become ineligible to be selected because it might later become possibly out of range, that’s crazy.


I know. I dont understand why the rule says you can only choose eligible targets for it. Of course you can only choose eligible targets in the shooting phase.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

It’s a get-out so that no-one could cheese the rules otherwise simple wording to e.g. fire at a tank over there if someone is in engagement range, or at a character.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 p5freak wrote:
 JohnnyHell wrote:

You choose the unit before any shots are fired. If casualties are pulled from the front and they end up out of range after the first volley, then the second volley would be lost. A unit doesn’t become ineligible to be selected because it might later become possibly out of range, that’s crazy.


I know. I dont understand why the rule says you can only choose eligible targets for it. Of course you can only choose eligible targets in the shooting phase.
Because you get to shoot twice with the Eradicator squad (which has the Total Obliteration rule) at the nominated unit, but only if the nominated unit is an eligible target for those attacks the second time around.

If your first shooting attack kills all the models in the unit that are in range and/or LoS, and the only models in that unit are out of range, or LoS then you can't make that second shooting attack because the unit is no longer an eligible target.


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 DeathReaper wrote:
Because you get to shoot twice with the Eradicator squad (which has the Total Obliteration rule) at the nominated unit, but only if the nominated unit is an eligible target for those attacks the second time around.

If your first shooting attack kills all the models in the unit that are in range and/or LoS, and the only models in that unit are out of range, or LoS then you can't make that second shooting attack because the unit is no longer an eligible target.



Yes, i know. What i mean is those words in brackets are not needed, because you cant shoot at the same unit again, when its out of range, or out of LOS.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 p5freak wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
Because you get to shoot twice with the Eradicator squad (which has the Total Obliteration rule) at the nominated unit, but only if the nominated unit is an eligible target for those attacks the second time around.

If your first shooting attack kills all the models in the unit that are in range and/or LoS, and the only models in that unit are out of range, or LoS then you can't make that second shooting attack because the unit is no longer an eligible target.



Yes, i know. What i mean is those words in brackets are not needed, because you cant shoot at the same unit again, when its out of range, or out of LOS.
Seems like a reminder in the text is all.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran






 DeathReaper wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
Because you get to shoot twice with the Eradicator squad (which has the Total Obliteration rule) at the nominated unit, but only if the nominated unit is an eligible target for those attacks the second time around.

If your first shooting attack kills all the models in the unit that are in range and/or LoS, and the only models in that unit are out of range, or LoS then you can't make that second shooting attack because the unit is no longer an eligible target.



Yes, i know. What i mean is those words in brackets are not needed, because you cant shoot at the same unit again, when its out of range, or out of LOS.
Seems like a reminder in the text is all.


Yup, it's just a double clarification to make sure no one tries to argue shenanigans about how they should get their second volley because it was eligible in the first round and it's not their fault their opponent decided to remove the one model in the unit that they had LoS to or was in range.
   
Made in gb
Ancient Space Wolves Venerable Dreadnought





 p5freak wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
Because you get to shoot twice with the Eradicator squad (which has the Total Obliteration rule) at the nominated unit, but only if the nominated unit is an eligible target for those attacks the second time around.

If your first shooting attack kills all the models in the unit that are in range and/or LoS, and the only models in that unit are out of range, or LoS then you can't make that second shooting attack because the unit is no longer an eligible target.



Yes, i know. What i mean is those words in brackets are not needed, because you cant shoot at the same unit again, when its out of range, or out of LOS.

Because some people would take it as permission to shoot a unit that still existed but was no longer in range/LoS because the first part of the rule is overriding the normal state (not many units get to shoot twice after all) and they could semi-legitimately claim that extended to the targeting rules.

Basically it makes the intent of the text completely clear.

"Three months? I'm going to go crazy …and I'm taking you with me!"
— Vala Mal Doran
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: