Switch Theme:

Abilities that trigger off the same event  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Question: I was looking at the Necron codex, specifically the Circumstance of Awakening: Arise Against the Interlopers (Each time a model with the code makes a melee attack against an INFANTRY or BIKER unit, an unmodified hit roll of 6 automatically wounds the target.) and I was wondering how it interacts with the Scarab Swarm Feeder Mandibles (Each time an attack is made with this weapon, an unmodified hit roll of 6 automatically wounds the target.)

I'm assuming that you still only get one wound but wasn't sure as both rules are triggered events and I didn't see anything in the rare rules section... please advise
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut



Glasgow

You only get one wound
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Cool, thats what I thought, thanks for the confirmation
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

U02dah4 wrote:
You only get one wound


We cant be sure, because the rules dont say anything about this.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut



Glasgow

We can. Both the triggers use the word "automatic" meaning you don't need to do the roll. When they stack GW uses the phrase "additional" instead.

It doesn't matter how many times your are exempted from the roll the outcome is you don't need to do the roll

As opposed to additional hits where I I have a hit gain an additional hit and still gain another additional hit for 3 hits

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2021/04/03 14:59:35


 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Thats true for hits. If two or more rules would score an additional hit on an unmodified hit roll of 6 they dont stack. But we talk about wounds here. We dont know if the same logic is true for wounds as well.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut



Glasgow

N/a

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/04/03 20:58:48


 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

 p5freak wrote:
Thats true for hits. If two or more rules would score an additional hit on an unmodified hit roll of 6 they dont stack. But we talk about wounds here. We dont know if the same logic is true for wounds as well.
Actually you have that backwards. If you have two rules that add additional hits on an unmodified hit roll of 6, they both apply. Thus Lelith Hesperax with her Warlord Trait gets 3 additional hits on an unmodified hit roll of 6, 1 for her weapon's rule and 2 for her Warlord Trait.

On the other hand, having two rules that cause an unmodified hit roll of 6 to automatically means your hit automatically wounds. You don't roll to wound. In fact, you don't roll to wound twice, but you don't get an additional hit. So your opponent only has one 'wounding hit' to Save against.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 alextroy wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
Thats true for hits. If two or more rules would score an additional hit on an unmodified hit roll of 6 they dont stack. But we talk about wounds here. We dont know if the same logic is true for wounds as well.
Actually you have that backwards. If you have two rules that add additional hits on an unmodified hit roll of 6, they both apply. Thus Lelith Hesperax with her Warlord Trait gets 3 additional hits on an unmodified hit roll of 6, 1 for her weapon's rule and 2 for her Warlord Trait.


Are you sure ?

SCORING ADDITIONAL HITS
When a model makes an attack, some rules will let that attack score one or more additional hits on a particular hit roll (e.g. ‘each time an attack is made with this weapon, an unmodified hit roll of 6 scores 1 additional hit’). If the attacking model is also benefiting from any other rules that trigger on a particular hit roll (e.g. ‘each time an attack is made with this weapon, an unmodified hit roll of 6 automatically wounds the target’), then only the original attack benefits from those rules. If any additional hits are scored as the result of a particular hit roll, those additional hits are not considered to have been made with any hit roll – they simply hit the target and you must continue the attack sequence for them (i.e. make a wound roll).


To me this sounds like lelith doesnt score 3 additional hits when she has multiple rules which give her additional hits on an unmodified hit roll of 6.

 alextroy wrote:

On the other hand, having two rules that cause an unmodified hit roll of 6 to automatically means your hit automatically wounds. You don't roll to wound. In fact, you don't roll to wound twice, but you don't get an additional hit. So your opponent only has one 'wounding hit' to Save against.


I never said you roll to wound. The core rules dont apply here, because you dont roll to wound. There are two different rules which say an unmodified hit roll of 6 automatically wounds. We dont know whether both rules stack, or not. A unit can get wounded multiple times.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut



Glasgow

That doesn't say additional hits don't stack

It says that additional hits don't themselves cause additional abilities to trigger.

So of you had to additional hits on 6's and 1 auto wound on 6's

You would get 2 additional hits and 1 autowound on a 6 not 3 autowounds


A unit can get wounded multiple times but not off a single wound roll that rule gives permission for the original role only to skip its wound roll this can't stack because once it's skipped skipping again makes no difference

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/04/03 21:03:12


 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

U02dah4 wrote:
That doesn't say additional hits don't stack

It says that additional hits don't themselves cause additional abilities to trigger.

So of you had to additional hits on 6's and 1 auto wound on 6's

You would get 2 additional hits and 1 autowound on a 6 not 3 autowounds


Ok.

U02dah4 wrote:

A unit can get wounded multiple times but not off a single wound roll that rule gives permission for the original role only to skip its wound roll this can't stack because once it's skipped skipping again makes no difference


We dont know whether thats true, or not. There is no wound roll, it doesnt say it gets skipped, just that it automatically wounds.
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

And how many times can one hit wound? Once. This is simple logic. If one hit can wound multiple times, you need a rules allowing that. In the absence of such a rule, you are left with one wound.
   
Made in us
Unbalanced Fanatic




Atlanta, Ga

 alextroy wrote:
And how many times can one hit wound? Once. This is simple logic. If one hit can wound multiple times, you need a rules allowing that. In the absence of such a rule, you are left with one wound.


I think this comes down to allocation.
Much like the original post distinction between two different rules for something shared from one unit to multiple. You might be asked to allocate the rules separately, or to declare your rolls before any of this takes place. Especially in instances where you know both rules would most likely be triggered.

This looks like one of those RAW, rules judge nightmares that they have to deal with from time to time.

One has to wonder. Do the Tyranids consider drop-assault troops... fast food? 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 alextroy wrote:
And how many times can one hit wound? Once. This is simple logic.


Yes, if we go by the core rules. But we have two special rules here, and those don't necessarily follow the core rules. I'm not saying that combo wounds twice, i'm saying we dont know.




   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut



Glasgow

And I would say that any to is going to rule that it only happens once
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

U02dah4 wrote:
And I would say that any to is going to rule that it only happens once


Its irrelevant what a TO rules. A TO can decide whatever he wants, its his tournament, his house rules. We are talking official GW rules here.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

SaganGree wrote:
Question: I was looking at the Necron codex, specifically the Circumstance of Awakening: Arise Against the Interlopers (Each time a model with the code makes a melee attack against an INFANTRY or BIKER unit, an unmodified hit roll of 6 automatically wounds the target.) and I was wondering how it interacts with the Scarab Swarm Feeder Mandibles (Each time an attack is made with this weapon, an unmodified hit roll of 6 automatically wounds the target.)

I'm assuming that you still only get one wound but wasn't sure as both rules are triggered events and I didn't see anything in the rare rules section... please advise


One wound. If it automatically wounds from first effect, the second application of ‘automatically wounds’ is superfluous, as you’re already auto wounding.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut



Glasgow

 p5freak wrote:
U02dah4 wrote:
And I would say that any to is going to rule that it only happens once


Its irrelevant what a TO rules. A TO can decide whatever he wants, its his tournament, his house rules. We are talking official GW rules here.


It's what the rules say so it's what the to will rule theirs no ambiguity here
As Johnny Hall writes

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2021/04/04 18:28:43


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: