Switch Theme:

Revised Disembark Rule  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Dakka Veteran




Changed elements highlighted:
DISEMBARK
If a unit starts its Movement phase embarked within a TRANSPORT model, that unit can disembark in that phase, before you select that TRANSPORT model to move, or after it ends a Normal Move or Falls Back.

When a unit disembarks, set it up on the battlefield so that it is wholly within 3" of the TRANSPORT model and not within Engagement Range of any enemy models.

If a unit disembarks from a TRANSPORT model before you select it to move that phase, it can then act normally (move, shoot, charge, fight, etc.) in the remainder of the turn. If a unit disembarks from a TRANSPORT model that has finished a Normal Move or Fallen Back, the unit cannot move further that turn (i.e. it cannot make a Normal Move, Advance, make a charge move, etc.). In either case, all models in a unit that disembarks count as having moved that turn, even if they are not moved further (i.e. they never count as having Remained Stationary).

Unless otherwise stated, units cannot disembark in the Reinforcements step of the Movement phase.

Pretty straightforward: You can disembark from a TRANSPORT before it moves, as normal, or after it moves, in which case you don't get to charge or move further.

Opens up more of the old drive-by shooting, where you roll up, disembark, and let fly with Rapid Fire weapons within half range. Marines don't need it so much, thanks to Bolter Discipline, and Drukhari/Orks/GSC are open-topped, but Tau, AdMech, Sororitas, Craftworlds and Guard can all directly benefit, as can flamer-heavy Marines. And Necrons, though I prefer not to remember the Ghost Ark exists. I'd also hope it encourages getting up close with ranged weapons, rather than using the change purely to stay out of charge range, since "get out and fire" is still relatively clunky and costs a round of shots.

This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2021/04/08 16:32:01


 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Would be an interesting change to try out. A few thoughts:

* Can you disembark if a vehicle *advances*? Big difference between the threat range of a moving wave serpent vs an advancing one.

* Can you disembark if a vehicle comes out of deepstrike? IIRC, they currently count as having "moved" when they arrive from reserves like that. While the "no charges" clause means I wouldn't be able to use that to go for a really short-ranged charge, but it woul dget some pretty short-ranged weapons (flamers, d-scythes) into range from reserves.

It definitely makes some units/armies a bit more lethal, but maybe it does so in a way that relies on struggling units and nets out as being okay?


ATTENTION
. Psychic tests are unfluffy. Your longing for AV is understandable but misguided. Your chapter doesn't need a separate codex. Doctrines should go away. Being a "troop" means nothing. This has been a cranky service announcement. You may now resume your regularly scheduled arguing.
 
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran




Wyldhunt wrote:
* Can you disembark if a vehicle *advances*? Big difference between the threat range of a moving wave serpent vs an advancing one.
Ooh, tricky. The intention was yes, because hey, it's just +D6" and you lose a lot of transport firepower, but that's awfully scary on Starweavers or Wave Serpents. Based on that, almost certainly have to say no; clarifying the wording now.

Wyldhunt wrote:
* Can you disembark if a vehicle comes out of deepstrike? IIRC, they currently count as having "moved" when they arrive from reserves like that. While the "no charges" clause means I wouldn't be able to use that to go for a really short-ranged charge, but it woul dget some pretty short-ranged weapons (flamers, d-scythes) into range from reserves.
Good question, clarified. You can't disembark during the Reinforcements step unless a rule says otherwise (basically just Drop Pods atm, which would also need to come with an extra rule saying you can charge from them).

Wyldhunt wrote:
It definitely makes some units/armies a bit more lethal, but maybe it does so in a way that relies on struggling units and nets out as being okay?
That's the goal! It's a buff to units/tactics that mostly don't or can't see play at the moment.


EDIT: Possible, simpler wording:
At the start and end of the Move Units step of your Movement phase, any friendly units embarked within a TRANSPORT model can disembark. Units cannot embark and disembark in the same turn.

When a unit disembarks, set it up on the battlefield so that it is wholly within 3" of the TRANSPORT model and not within Engagement Range of any enemy models.

If a unit disembarks from a TRANSPORT model at the start of the Move Units step, it can then act normally (move, shoot, charge, fight, etc.) in the remainder of the turn. If a unit disembarks from a TRANSPORT model at the end of the Move Units step, it cannot move further (declare a charge, perform a Heroic Intervention, etc.) in that turn. In either case, all models in a unit that disembarks count as having moved that turn, even if they are not moved further (i.e. they never count as having Remained Stationary).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/04/08 16:32:58


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Hard to argue with a drive-by tactic
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut






I approve of this if you add the following rule to the game:

ASSAULT VEHICLE
Units disembarking from an assault vehicle that has moved this turn can either shoot or charge, but not both.

And give this to:
Land Raiders.
Ork Vehicles that buy Boarding Ramps (make it an option so we can still have cheap drive-by's.)
Other vehicles that are built around assault.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2021/04/09 10:56:55


12,300 points of Orks
9th W/D/L with Orks, 4/0/2
I am Thoruk, the Barbarian, Slayer of Ducks, and This is my blog!

I'm Selling Infinity, 40k, dystopian wars, UK based!

I also make designs for t-shirts and mugs and such on Redbubble! 
   
Made in de
Junior Officer with Laspistol






Some slight point adjustments might be necessary, but it sounds good. Also I second some bloke that there are a couple of vehicles were I could see a rule allowing disembarking units to still charge.

~7510 build and painted
1312 build and painted
1200 
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran




 some bloke wrote:
I approve of this if you add the following rule to the game:

ASSAULT VEHICLE
Units disembarking from an assault vehicle that has moved this turn can either shoot or charge, but not both.

And give this to:
Land Raiders.
Ork Vehicles that buy Boarding Ramps (make it an option so we can still have cheap drive-by's.)
Other vehicles that are built around assault.
I'm happy for those mechanics to remain the area of Stratagems, honestly - like Rapid Redeploy for Guard, or Reckless Manoeuvre for GSC. The White Scars Stratagem Lightning Debarkation, Drukhari Murderous Descent, or the Harlequin Warlord Trait Skystrider would presumably do the same thing, under this system. This is meant to open the door for close/mid-range firefights, which have become less common as the game's swung to extremes. It's not meant to encourage even faster cross-board assaults than the game already has (looking forward to Red Grief Wyches moving 10", Advancing D6+2", and charging 2D6 with a re-roll for an average threat radius of 24" on foot - Hellions bump it up to 28" with FLY).
   
 
Forum Index » 40K Proposed Rules
Go to: