Switch Theme:

Aircraft and strategic reserves  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Prophetic Blood Angel Librarian






Germany

Can an aircraft go into strategic reserves in the same turn as it arrived from strategic reserves ?

If i set up my aircraft arriving from strategic reserves (which is greater than 6" in its smallest dimension) i can choose to set it up anywhere on the battlefield that is more than 9" from any enemy models, but i dont have to. Instead i can choose to set it up wholly within 6" of a particular battlefield edge. But, i cant do that, because it doesnt fit wholly within 6" of a particular battlefield edge. So, i must set it up touching my battlefield edge. So, now its touching a battlefield edge, which is a requirement to go into strategic reserves.
A unit arriving from strategic reserves cant do any of the following : make a Normal Move, Advance, Fall Back, Remain Stationary; attempt to manifest or deny psychic powers; make any attacks with ranged weapons; declare a charge; perform a Heroic Intervention; perform any actions or psychic actions. It doesnt say anything about going into strategic reserves.

Is there anything prohibiting me from going into strategic reserves ?

AIRCRAFT AND STRATEGIC RESERVES
Whenever an AIRCRAFT model arrives from Strategic Reserves, you can choose to set it up anywhere on the battlefield that is more than 9" from any enemy models, facing any direction, instead of setting it up wholly within 6" of a particular battlefield edge. AIRCRAFT models can never declare a charge in the turn they arrive from Strategic Reserves, but otherwise follow all the normal rules for models arriving from Strategic Reserves.

If you have a Battle-forged army, AIRCRAFT units from your army can, in your Movement phase, move off the edge of the battlefield (assuming it has sufficient Move for any part of its base (or hull) to touch the edge of the battlefield). If an AIRCRAFT unit does so, it is placed into Strategic Reserves. Similarly, if you have an AIRCRAFT unit with a minimum Move characteristic that cannot make its minimum moye, or is forced to move off the battlefield because of its minimum move, then it is placed into Strategic Reserves. In either case, placing the AIRCRAFT (and any units currently embarked within them) into Strategic Reserves in this manner does not cost any CPs and the unit can be set back up on the battlefield in your next turn, as described in Setting Up Strategic Reserve Units.


SETTING UP STRATEGIC RESERVE UNITS
Where on the battlefield a Strategic Reserve unit is set up when it arrives depends on the battle round in which the unit arrives, as described below.

Starting from the second battle round, Strategic Reserve units that arrive can be set up wholly within 6" of any battlefield edge other than the enemy’s battlefield edge, but no model can be set up within the enemy’s deployment zone. Starting from the third battle round, Strategic Reserve units that arrive can be set up wholly within 6" of any battlefield edge other than the enemy's battlefield edge.

In any case, Strategic Reserve units cannot be set up within 9" of any enemy models. The only exception to this is if they are being set up within 1" of their own battlefield edge and wholly within their own deployment zone, in which case they can be set up within 9" (and even within Engagement Range) of enemy models. If a unit is set up within Engagement Range of any enemy models, it counts as having made a charge move this turn (Overwatch attacks cannot be made against this unit), and until the end of the turn it can target any unit it is within Engagement Range of with close combat attacks, even though it hasnt declared a charge this turn.

If a model is so large that it cannot physically be set up wholly within 6" of a battlefield edge (i.e. the smallest dimension of that model is greater than 6"), it must be set up so that it is touching your battlefield edge. During the turn in which such a model is set up on the battlefield, that model’s unit cannot do any of the following: make a Normal Move, Advance, Fall Back, Remain Stationary; attempt to manifest or deny psychic powers; make any attacks with ranged weapons; declare a charge; perform a Heroic Intervention; perform any actions or psychic actions.
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut





The rules are expecting the unit to 'move off the edge of the battlefield (assuming it has sufficient Move...)'. If you are not allowed to make a normal move then my interpretation is that you cannot do this to go into reserves. However, this does bring up the question of what happens when an aircraft with a minimum move cannot fit wholly within 6" of the battlefield edge - it is compelled to move and not move at the same time

Why would you want to go into strategem reserves the same turn anyway? Are you trying to bomb something and then hide again?

7215 points 80 points 140 points
1377 points 75 points 197 points
1835 points 485 points 415 points
2560 points 615 points 2145 points
1785 points 815 points 2904 points
3116 points
 
   
Made in de
Prophetic Blood Angel Librarian






Germany

The rules say you need sufficient movement to touch the edge of the battlefield. Touching the edge of the battlefield is the requirement for going into strategic reserves, not having movement.

I dont know what to do with this. Maybe you could use stratagems in the movement phase, and then go into strategic reserves, without giving your opponent a chance to hit the flyer. I think you can even drop bombs, because you can set up a unit within engagement range of enemy units in your own deployment zone.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







You're trying to stubbornly ignore the word "move" in "If you have a Battle-forged army, AIRCRAFT units from your army can, in your Movement phase, move off the edge of the battlefield (assuming it has sufficient Move for any part of its base (or hull) to touch the edge of the battlefield)."

Find some way of moving your unit that can't perform any of the prohibited actions (which cover the default movement phase options). Simply sitting on the board edge isn't good enough.
   
Made in de
Prophetic Blood Angel Librarian






Germany

I am not ignoring the word move. Yes, an aircraft needs sufficient move to touch the edge of the battlefield. But its already touching the edge of the battlefield. And if it touches the edge of the battlefield, it is placed into strategic reserves.
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





I don’t think you’d be able to put something in strategic reserves that arrived as reinforcements the same turn.

The way I see it, an aircraft is set up from reinforcements in the second step of the movement phase:
2. Reinforcements

If you want to place the aircraft in strategic reserves the aircraft has to “move off the edge of the battlefield” which would happen during the first step of the movement phase:
1. Move Units

   
Made in de
Prophetic Blood Angel Librarian






Germany

You dont move an aircraft into strategic reserves. It moves to touch the edge of the battlefield, and then its placed into strategic reserves, in the movement phase. The movement phase has two steps, first is move units, second is reinforcements. The reinforcements step is still the movement phase.

The Movement phase is split into two steps. First you move
your units. Then you can set up Reinforcements that have not
yet arrived.
1. MOVE UNITS
2. REINFORCEMENTS

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2021/04/18 16:01:51


 
   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord





In My Lab

May I ask what the point of this is?

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in de
Prophetic Blood Angel Librarian






Germany

I dont know what to do with this, yet. Maybe you could use stratagems in the movement phase, and then go into strategic reserves, without giving your opponent a chance to hit the flyer. I think you can even drop bombs, because you can set up a unit within engagement range of enemy units in your own deployment zone.
   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord





In My Lab

 p5freak wrote:
I dont know what to do with this, yet. Maybe you could use stratagems in the movement phase, and then go into strategic reserves, without giving your opponent a chance to hit the flyer. I think you can even drop bombs, because you can set up a unit within engagement range of enemy units in your own deployment zone.
Don't bombs require you to move over enemy models?

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in de
Prophetic Blood Angel Librarian






Germany

 JNAProductions wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
I dont know what to do with this, yet. Maybe you could use stratagems in the movement phase, and then go into strategic reserves, without giving your opponent a chance to hit the flyer. I think you can even drop bombs, because you can set up a unit within engagement range of enemy units in your own deployment zone.
Don't bombs require you to move over enemy models?


No, according to another thread its enough when a tiny bit of a wing is barely over a base of an enemy model. A model counts as having moved its movement characteristic when it arrives from strategic reserves. So, my aircraft has moved over an enemy unit. Requirement for bombing is fulfilled.

https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/797343.page
   
Made in ca
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot



Canada

I don't think you could bring an aircraft on from Strategic Reserves and then immediately place it back into Strategic Reserves.

You place your plane in the Reinforcement step of the Movement phase. This is after the Move Units step of the Movement phase. The BRB tells us "Once all your Reinforcement units have been set up, progress to the Psychic Phase." You have to Move off/to the the edge, and moving happens in the Move Units step. So you couldn't move off the table edge after arriving from Strategic Reserves (are there Psychic Powers that would allow such a movement?).

All you have to do is fire three rounds a minute, and stand 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins




Tacoma, WA, USA

Move is defined in the Movement Phase - 1. Move Units as the unit making a Normal Move, Advance, Remain Stationary, or Fall Back. You are forbidden from doing any of these when you are setup as Reinforcements. Therefore, you cannot move off the edge of the battlefield the turn you are setup from Strategic Reserves.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Why even would you want to?

Seems like a a non-problem.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 p5freak wrote:
You dont move an aircraft into strategic reserves. It moves to touch the edge of the battlefield, and then its placed into strategic reserves, in the movement phase. The movement phase has two steps, first is move units, second is reinforcements. The reinforcements step is still the movement phase.

The Movement phase is split into two steps. First you move
your units. Then you can set up Reinforcements that have not
yet arrived.
1. MOVE UNITS
2. REINFORCEMENTS


You are still not moving off the board when you come in from reinforcements. They are right about it saying move off the edge, which would occur in the MOVE UNITS step. With what you are describing, with setting up an aircraft from reinforcements and having it set up touching the edge, it would automatically be sucked into reserves again with your reasoning that it could go into reserves during the Reinforcement step of the phase, it would automatically go back into reinforcements before it's had a chance to do anything else apart from set up.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: