Switch Theme:

Removing Models In Hand to Hand  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Unbalanced Fanatic





Minneapolis, MN

I was playing in a Mega Battle a few weeks ago and during one of the combats an interesting rules question formed. It has to do with which models count as being Engaged. Here is the situation.. A squad of genestealers with Broodlord charged a squad of terminators and almost wiped them out. The marines charged in with a tactical squad and a Chaplain in Terminator Armour. Now about three of the marines were in base to base and four were within 2" of them so seven marines engaged, the chaplain charged into the side of the combat and engaged a genestealer that was within 2" of the stealers in base to base with the marines. So what happened was the Broodlord went first and killed a couple of the marines. The marine player removed the marine in base to base with the BL and one within two inches of him. Next the stealers and the chaplain struck simultaneously. The stealers killed another marine and did a wound on the chaplain. The chaplain killed three stealers, so the Nid player removed the one in base to base with the chaplain and two of the stealers in base to base with the marines. This left only one of the marine squad in contact with a stealer and no one within 2" of him and the nid player claimed that only the one who was still in contact could fight even though the others(including the Vet sarge w/power fist) were engaged at the beginning. The rules did not clarify this situation very well and in the end we decided to follow the nid player's interpretation. But what do you think?

The 21st century will have a number of great cities. You’ll choose between cities of great population density and those that are like series of islands in the forest. - Bernard Tschumi 
   
Made in us
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch






Each initiative step decides who can fight. At the point that the last squad would be going, that model and unit members within 2" can fight on that initiative step, it does not matter who was in base to base earlier in the combat, just at that step. You are no longer restricted to only the one model in base to base though unless he is the only one left from his unit or if he is an Independent Character. It sounds like the nid player was right except for his teammates within 2" should have been able to join in.

   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA




Snoogums is right.

Page 41, 2nd to last paragraph. Who is engaged is re-calculated at each initiative step.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




One of my favoered tactics as Tau is to get everybody out of base when the marines kill them at I 4. The Sgt with a power fist doesn't get to hurt anymore and I hope to roll high on the morale check so I can run away without being caught and then shoot the marines.

This is completely right. How did the chaplain go at the same time as the genestealers? Aren't they I 6? He can't have furious charge unless he was part of a squad and so should have charged in with the squad...
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Yep, common tactic in 4th. When you have models at different intiative steps, greater care has to be taken when positioning them to maximize the chance they will get to strike.

Having 1 Uber character attatched to a squad who attacks first, can be as bad as having 1 uber character that attacks last.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: