Switch Theme:

Plasma overcharge  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block






If you roll a one, and can reroll 1s, does the unit die still.

40k Army: Sisters of Battle. 'With Flamer,bolter and Melta do we purge unclean Enemies. With power armor do we turn aside their cruellest blows. With doctine and with Strategy do we win our battles. Yet it is Faith, Sisters, and faith alone that we shall conquer this sinful galaxy.' - Junith Eruita

Aos: Sylvanith, Daughters of khaine, Deepkin, Nighthaunt, Slannesh.  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No. Unless it rolls another 1 of course!
   
Made in gb
Ancient Space Wolves Venerable Dreadnought





 Xfrawg wrote:
If you roll a one, and can reroll 1s, does the unit die still.

Only if the result after the re-roll is also a 1; when you re-roll a die, the original roll never happened. Except for triggering the re-roll of course.

"Three months? I'm going to go crazy …and I'm taking you with me!"
— Vala Mal Doran
 
   
Made in hk
Regular Dakkanaut





Also the unit doesn't die, the model can die. So you need to roll each models attacks separately
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Unless you play a chaos land raider with combiplasma, then the bearer is destroyed after shooting with this weapon.
   
Made in us
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers




 p5freak wrote:
Unless you play a chaos land raider with combiplasma, then the bearer is destroyed after shooting with this weapon.

See, that's what I thought. The re-rolls don't affect the outcome or consequences of the first role. The bearer is still destroyed. BUT they get a second chance at a successful attack, that is all. Granted this is how I have always seen it played, that does not mean it is correct. But I still read it, 1's kill plasma, despite re-rolls.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
Unless you play a chaos land raider with combiplasma, then the bearer is destroyed after shooting with this weapon.

See, that's what I thought. The re-rolls don't affect the outcome or consequences of the first role. The bearer is still destroyed. BUT they get a second chance at a successful attack, that is all. Granted this is how I have always seen it played, that does not mean it is correct. But I still read it, 1's kill plasma, despite re-rolls.


That's wrong, and not what p5freak is talking about. Only the final dice roll matters, so if you re-roll 1s you only die if the re-roll is a 1. However, the Chaos Land Raider still ahs the old "model is slain" wording for the combi-plasma instead of the more recent "take a mortal wound" wording for vehicle-mounted plasma.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Agreed with Slipspace. If you re-roll a die, you totally ignore the results of the first roll. It it was a 1 it doesn't matter, it's what you get for a result on the reroll is what matters.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
Unless you play a chaos land raider with combiplasma, then the bearer is destroyed after shooting with this weapon.

See, that's what I thought. The re-rolls don't affect the outcome or consequences of the first role. The bearer is still destroyed. BUT they get a second chance at a successful attack, that is all. Granted this is how I have always seen it played, that does not mean it is correct. But I still read it, 1's kill plasma, despite re-rolls.

A reroll means the first roll never happened. There is no result of 1, because you did not roll it. You reroll pex into (hopefully) a 2+
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

What i meant is that a unit can die from plasma overload. GW couldnt be bothered to change the combiplasma ruling on the chaos land raider since the beginning of 8th, and it will most likely remain the same until the new CSM codex comes out 2022.
   
Made in us
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers




My mistake. I admit fault and accept retraction.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: