Switch Theme:

Shadowkeepers trait question.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in at
Longtime Dakkanaut




So in the new custodes codex if you chose the shadowkeepers shield host, you get two passive boni or fighting styles. One of which states that when an enemy unit is within engagement range of a friendly unit with this trait, every model in the enemy unit gets -1 to it's attack characteristic.

So what happens if an enemy unit is within engagement range of two shadowkeepers units? Do enemy models get -2 to their attack characteristic? The way the trait is written I don't see any clause that would prevent this.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

It would help a lot if you cite the new shadowkeeper trait, or show a picture.
   
Made in cz
Longtime Dakkanaut




 p5freak wrote:
It would help a lot if you cite the new shadowkeeper trait, or show a picture.


"While an enemy unit is within Engagement Range of a unit with this trait, subtract 1 from the Attacks characteristic of each model in that enemy unit"

That is the exact wording.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

The enemy unit gets -1 attack, no matter how many shadowkeeper units are within engagement range. It doesnt say -1 for every unit with this trait.
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

I agree with p5, it states "...range of a unit with this trait", meaning it doesn't stack.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Of "a" means "of at least one"
   
Made in us
Damsel of the Lady




Man, it's really hard to thread the needle this ambiguously. Grats to GW there.

If it said "While an enemy unit is within Engagement Range ANY unit with this trait, subtract 1 from the Attacks characteristic of each model in that enemy unit" then it'd clearly be just -1A max.

If it said "While an enemy unit is within Engagement Range of a unit with this trait, subtract 1 (to a maximum of X) from the Attacks characteristic of each model in that enemy unit" then it'd clearly be cumulative.

Right now I'm betting GW just meant 1. A query that would help figure it out: when we have faction bonuses that give penalties to leadership, do they stack if multiple debuff units are in range? Are they worded differently?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It isn't ambiguous

If you are within range of one unit, you are in range of A unit

If you are within range of 100 units, you are in range of A unit.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





For an example of a stacking debuff you can look at the sisters of silence rules for negative psychic test modifiers.

It specifically states it stacks up to -3, and uses the wording for each unit as opposed to a unit when referencing the effect.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2022/01/10 17:57:09


 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

 p5freak wrote:
It would help a lot if you cite the new shadowkeeper trait, or show a picture.


Would also help to use English not whatever cod-Latin “Boni” is pretending to be!

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






But no, shadowkeepers doesnt stack.

Its simply -1A to every model in a unit that is in engagement range of a Shadowkeepers unit.

It also does not reduce attacks down to 0 since theres a part in the BRB that says attack stat cannot be reduced below 1.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: