Switch Theme:

Trajann, Master of Martial Strategy & CP Refund Limits  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




Hi All,

I have seen a few reports now where players have been using Trajann and i am unclear how the Master of Martial Strategy works. It says 'While this Warlord is on the battlefield, each time you spend a Command Point to use a Strategem roll a D6: on a 5+ that command point is refunded.'

The core rules limit the number of CP you can have refunded per round to 1 (subject to certain stratagems).

So this begs two questions:

1) Does this mean you can only successfully use Master of Martial Strategy once per battle round? Even though the ability says 'each time you spend a CP...'? I've not seen anynoe play it this way but the core rules seem to suggest it is capped which also makes this ability less good.

2) Assuming the answer to 1) is you are not capped at refunding 1 per turn does 'each time you spend a CP' mean you roll 1D6 per CP spent e,g, 1D6 for a CP1 stratagem, 2D6 for a 2CP stratagem etc or 1D6 per stratagem used?
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

1. The core rules cap CP regain

2. You roll a D6 "each time you spend a Command Point" so if you spend 1 CP on a strat, you have spent 1 CP and roll 1 D6. If you spend 3 CP on a strat, you have spent 3 CP's and roll 3D6.

There are some rules that allow you to go beyond the 1CP limit though.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

The warlord trait is limited to refund 1CP, but you get a dice roll for each CP you spend.

GAINING AND REFUNDING COMMAND POINTS
There are several rules that give you a chance to gain or refund CPs when you or your opponent either use a Stratagems or spend CPs to use a Stratagem. Each player can only gain or have refunded a total of 1 CP per battle round as the result of such rules, regardless of the source, and CPs that are spent on Stratagems that are not used during a phase, such as those used ‘before the battle’ or ‘at the end of the battle round’, can never be refunded. The limit of gaining or refunding 1 CP per battle round does not apply to the Battle-forged CP bonus a player gains at the start of their Command phase before doing anything else, or to any CPs gained by mission special rules that instruct players to gain CPs in their Command phase.


Exceptions to this are stratagems, and mission rules.

STRATAGEMS THAT GAIN OR REFUND CPS
The advanced rules for Command points state that you cannot gain, or have refunded, more than 1 Command point per battle round because of any rules (other than via the exceptions listed here, such as the Battle-forged CP Bonus). However, there are a small handful of Stratagems that let players gain or refund several Command points when used (e.g. Feeder Tendrils in Codex: Tyranids). So long as such a Stratagem is used during a phase (i.e. it is not used ‘before the battle’ or ‘at the end of a battle round’), the limit of gaining or refunding 1 Command point per battle round does not apply to any Command points gained via Stratagems.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2022/01/25 20:24:46


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: