Switch Theme:

Custodes Radiant Mantle + Dense Cover Vs Tau Markerlight  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




Hi all, I have a question that I couldn't really understand at the table haha.

He played as Custodes and took the radiant mantle for the minus 1 to hit. Then he took cover in some dense terrain. I subsequently markrlighted him, thinking it would cancel it out as numbers can't be modified by more or less than one usually. But he worked it out I was still minus one to hit even with the Markerlight, as whilst it cancelled out the dense cover, his warlord trait also gave a minus one to hit. So I was still hitting on 5s.

My knowledge is that they are effectively the same thing so couldn't stack.

Which one is correct?

Many thanks for any input!
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





The way it works is:

You add up all + and - modifiers.
If the total is more then +1, it caps to +1.
If the total is less than -1, it caps to -1.

So your opponent was likely correct here, though I don't know the Custodes ability specifically.

Abilities that do the same thing generally do stack. The only general exception is for Auras which don't stack with the SAME aura from a difference source. Though two differently named Auras with the same effect would stack.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2022/02/15 11:47:38


 
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




 Stux wrote:
The way it works is:

You add up all + and - modifiers.
If the total is more then +1, it caps to +1.
If the total is less than -1, it caps to -1.

So your opponent was likely correct here, though I don't know the Custodes ability specifically.

Abilities that do the same thing generally do stack. The only general exception is for Auras which don't stack with the SAME aura from a difference source. Though two differently named Auras with the same effect would stack.


That makes total sense now I see it written down. The totals part cleared it up massively for my Ork brain. Yes it was a simple -1 to hit on the mantle. Thanks so much for clearing that up!

Lesson of the day: don't give Orks Markerlights.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Stux has it bang on. Two lots of -1 is -2, add your +1 and you’re at -1. This is a valid result. If after mods you’d be at -2 it’s improved to -1.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2022/02/15 11:56:16


 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: