Switch Theme:

Strands of Fates interaction with Re-rolls  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




I know the Codex hasn't officially dropped but we've all seen the official rules for Strands of Fate.

As it came up in a bat rep I watched I'm curious how strands of fate interact with a command point re-roll for rolls requiring multiple dice. Example, charge rolls, and psychic rolls.

As I understand it, before a test is rolled, Strands of Fate "change" one dice to a 6. Very clear for single dice checks. But what if you fail a charge even when using that 6? Is the 6 locked into the test? Or do you have to re-roll the entire test, including the 6 you received from Strand of Fate?

The arguments I have in my head go both ways...

In favor of re-rolling both results: The re-roll requires you to re-roll the entire result.
In favor of re-rolling only one dice: As Strands of fate requires you use the dice before the test is taken, it could be said that the 6 is applied to any roll taken for that singular test.

Is there precedent already out there for handling this situation?
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

I havent seen the official rules for SoF. But, the core rules say if a dice roll uses multiple dice you must reroll all dice with the command reroll strat. Unless the SoF rule says otherwise.

RE-ROLLS
Some rules allow you to re-roll a dice roll, which means you get to roll some or all of the dice again. If a rule allows you to re-roll a dice roll that was made by adding several dice together (2D6, 3D6 etc.) then, unless otherwise stated, you must re-roll all of those dice again.
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

The only precedent I can think of is AS Miracle dices that are locked in even if you reroll other dice of the roll. However, that is specifically stated in the rules for Acts of Faith.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




 alextroy wrote:
The only precedent I can think of is AS Miracle dices that are locked in even if you reroll other dice of the roll. However, that is specifically stated in the rules for Acts of Faith.


Yeah, I think if the SoF dice don't have a specific rule for this then you'd have to re-roll all dice as nothing is giving you permission to either only re-roll some or to keep the SoF dice as a 6 even after re-rolls.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: