Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/03/14 20:39:17
Subject: Explain plz: "Once per turn" rule
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
I hate to ask this, and i know i read in 8th there was clarification between player turn and battle round with regards to what a "once per turn" meant, but i just can't find the clarification.
The issue i have is Rampaging Beast Warlord Trait from the Army of Renown: Crusher Stampede supplement.
Once per turn, when this WARLORD is selected to Fight, it can use this Warlord Trait. If it does so, until the end of the phase, add D3 to this WARLORD’s Attacks characteristic.
I don't understand the purpose of the "once per turn" if it doesn't mean battle round, unless it's to stop the additional attacks from the attack again stratagems and i'm overthinking this one.
Thanks
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/03/14 20:55:36
Subject: Explain plz: "Once per turn" rule
|
 |
Liche Priest Hierophant
|
If you do not understand it then probably don't worry yourself with it to much. The rule plays as it does, why wonder with the why?
That beeing said once per turn is quite different then having a rule that let you do that four times per turn, or an unlimited amount.
Without having scoured the wordings to much I know tyranids have multiple way to fights with several of their things in the same turn. So that might be a big reason. Other reasons could also be there.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/03/14 21:51:19
Subject: Explain plz: "Once per turn" rule
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
In each Battle Round you can select your Warlord to fight in your turn and in the opponent’s turn. As you say this seems designed to prevent the rule applying to attacks from any “fight again” abilities too.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/03/14 22:09:26
Subject: Explain plz: "Once per turn" rule
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Glasgow
|
Yes its so if the model can fight twice it gets +d3A for the first fight and that lasts for the second fight. It doesnt role again or get an additional boost.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/03/14 22:34:47
Subject: Explain plz: "Once per turn" rule
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
eskimo wrote:I hate to ask this, and i know i read in 8th there was clarification between player turn and battle round with regards to what a "once per turn" meant, but i just can't find the clarification.
The issue i have is Rampaging Beast Warlord Trait from the Army of Renown: Crusher Stampede supplement.
Once per turn, when this WARLORD is selected to Fight, it can use this Warlord Trait. If it does so, until the end of the phase, add D3 to this WARLORD’s Attacks characteristic.
I don't understand the purpose of the "once per turn" if it doesn't mean battle round, unless it's to stop the additional attacks from the attack again stratagems and i'm overthinking this one.
Thanks
It's "once per turn" to ensure you roll the D3 only once. It does apply every time that Warlord fights that phase, but you only roll the first time they fight. That number carries over to other fights in that phase. Not that should the Warlord somehow be able to fight in a different phase, you would not be able to use this ability in both that phase and the Fight phase of the same turn.
However, it isn't once per Battle Round. You get to use it both on your turn and your opponent's turn, when you are selected to fight.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/03/16 07:29:55
Subject: Explain plz: "Once per turn" rule
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
A much better explanation there from alextroy and I must confess it shows up errors in my earlier post.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
|