| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/27 04:50:09
Subject: Sewer Rats Strategem questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
So me and another player were fooling around with the City of Death rules last night, and we couldnt resolve a question about the Sewer Rats strategem. It says that reserves appear at any of the sewer markers placed on the board. First, can you withhold army selections in reserve so they can use the sewers to come in even if they wouldnt normally be in reserve? Second, can any unit take advantage of this, ie: can land raiders and carnifexes pop out of the sewers? Oh and, Tyranids lost thier special spore mine Preliminary Bombardment rules right? I couldnt find em anywhere in the new stuff.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/27 05:16:20
Subject: RE: Sewer Rats Strategem questions
|
 |
[DCM]
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Someone who has read the CoD rules more thoroughly than I will most likely give a more concrete answer, but it was my understanding that Sewer Rats only benefit units of Infantry. No big stuff using the sewers.
Not sure on the rest.
|
-GrimTeef- Proud mod of The-Waaagh forum and Vice-President of the Brian Nelson is a Sculpting God Club |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/27 05:24:00
Subject: RE: Sewer Rats Strategem questions
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
It only works for infantry models. So Jump Infantry, Cavalry, Etc. is not able to use it. Capt K
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/28 07:10:58
Subject: RE: Sewer Rats Strategem questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
So, no one knows the answer to the second question?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/28 08:11:57
Subject: RE: Sewer Rats Strategem questions
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
As far as I know the Tyranid spore mines work as they normally would. No mention is given. Capt K
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/28 09:37:08
Subject: RE: Sewer Rats Strategem questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Doh. I meant first question. First question.
Can you voluntarily hold back units for reserves so they can use the sewers even if they normally wouldnt be in reserves?
I thought this might be a good idea to combine with a couple of lictors.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/28 10:23:33
Subject: RE: Sewer Rats Strategem questions
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
First, can you withhold army selections in reserve so they can use the sewers to come in even if they wouldnt normally be in reserve?
Second, can any unit take advantage of this, ie: can land raiders and carnifexes pop out of the sewers?
Both of these are answered by the very first bullet point in the Sewer Rats entry. Any Infantry unit can be held in Reserve to deploy via the sewers.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/28 12:28:18
Subject: RE: Sewer Rats Strategem questions
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
But that would require actually reading the Sewer Rats rule.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/28 23:59:28
Subject: RE: Sewer Rats Strategem questions
|
 |
Drop Trooper with Demo Charge
Gahanna , Ohio , USA
|
I'm not so sure that it is all that clear. The first bullet point also says sewer rats "..is used in conjunction with the reserves mission special rule.." not in place of the reserves mission special rule. Just a thought Sincity
|
Now , I will show them why they fear the night. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/29 01:52:46
Subject: RE: Sewer Rats Strategem questions
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Posted By Sincity on 06/29/2006 4:59 AMI'm not so sure that it is all that clear. The first bullet point also says sewer rats "..is used in conjunction with the reserves mission special rule.." not in place of the reserves mission special rule. Just a thought Sincity
Yep. That's because the Sewer Rats Strategem allows you to put units into Reserve. That means the reserve rules have to be used. . . . . .really not that difficult.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/29 04:58:48
Subject: RE: Sewer Rats Strategem questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Er, no, it doesnt say that. The way its worded in the book, it looks like its just another way for units in reserve to appear on the board. Using the reserve rules, and withholding units that arent normally put into reserve are two different things. There is nothing under the reserve rules in the black book that says 'anytime you can use reserve you can hold back any unit you want', it says that this is how units in reserve enter play. Unit that can be placed into reserve normally have something in thier desc about it. Nothing in the Sewer Rats strategem says anything about changing these rules, just that its used with them.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/29 10:55:20
Subject: RE: Sewer Rats Strategem questions
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Er, no, it doesnt say that.
Er, no, it doesn't say what? COD, page 40, 'Sewer Rats Strategem', first bullet point: " This strategem is used in conjunction with the Reserves mission special rule, and allows any friendly Infantry units without a transport vehicle to be held in reserve." If 'allows any friendly Infantry units without a transport vehicle to be held in reserve' does not mean that they can be held in reserve, just what does it mean?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/29 11:21:03
Subject: RE: Sewer Rats Strategem questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Ah, yeah, got it. Sorry, must go discuss this with the person I was playing, with a hammer, cuz he kept hapring on that 'cant hold back units' thing.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|