Switch Theme:

Mirror of Minds vs. Feel no Pain-like effects  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




So the Harlequins psychic power Mirror of Minds can inflict a maximum of 6 wounds; isnthis before or after rolling Feel No Pain-like effects? Like if I hit my 6 wound cap do we stop and then roll their FnP? Or do I keep going until they've taken 6 wounds off their total, after FnP abilities?
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Hecaton wrote:
So the Harlequins psychic power Mirror of Minds can inflict a maximum of 6 wounds; isnthis before or after rolling Feel No Pain-like effects? Like if I hit my 6 wound cap do we stop and then roll their are o+++FnP? Or do I keep going until they've taken 6 wounds off their total, after FnP abilities?


MOM can inflict 6 MW. Which doesnt mean that the enemy unit loses 6 wounds. The psychic power doesnt say that the enemy unit can only lose a maximum of 6 wounds. If you inflict 6 MW and your opponent makes all his FNP rolls no wounds have been lost, and the psychic power has been resolved.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2022/07/08 04:03:03


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 p5freak wrote:
Hecaton wrote:
So the Harlequins psychic power Mirror of Minds can inflict a maximum of 6 wounds; isnthis before or after rolling Feel No Pain-like effects? Like if I hit my 6 wound cap do we stop and then roll their are o+++FnP? Or do I keep going until they've taken 6 wounds off their total, after FnP abilities?


MOM can inflict 6 MW. Which doesnt mean that the enemy unit loses 6 wounds. The psychic power doesnt say that the enemy unit can only lose a maximum of 6 wounds. If you inflict 6 MW and your opponent makes all his FNP rolls no wounds have been lost, and the psychic power has been resolved.


So the wording the psychic power uses specifically is you continue "until that enemy unit has suffered 6 mortal wounds." What does "suffer" mean in this context?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Inflicted.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Hecaton wrote:

So the wording the psychic power uses specifically is you continue "until that enemy unit has suffered 6 mortal wounds." What does "suffer" mean in this context?


Replace inflict with suffer. If the enemy unit suffered 6 MW and your opponent successfully made all his FNP rolls no wounds have been lost, and the psychic power has been resolved.

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 p5freak wrote:
Hecaton wrote:

So the wording the psychic power uses specifically is you continue "until that enemy unit has suffered 6 mortal wounds." What does "suffer" mean in this context?


Replace inflict with suffer. If the enemy unit suffered 6 MW and your opponent successfully made all his FNP rolls no wounds have been lost, and the psychic power has been resolved.



On what basis are you saying that? One could easily interpret "suffer" in a way that precludes it being stopped by a FNP.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

When a unit suffers a MW it doesnt mean that it loses a wound. A MW isnt the same as a wound. When a unit suffers 1 MW one point of damage is inflicted on it. When that damage has been inflicted it can be ignored by a FNP roll. The unit suffered 1 MW, but no wound has been lost.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2022/07/09 04:37:40


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 p5freak wrote:
When a unit suffers a MW it doesnt mean that it loses a wound. A MW isnt the same as a wound. When a unit suffers 1 MW one point of damage is inflicted on it. When that damage has been inflicted it can be ignored by a FNP roll. The unit suffered 1 MW, but no wound has been lost.


I don't see anything in the rules that backs that up.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

What is your interpretation ? And what rules do you base it on ?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




"Page 365 – Rules Term Glossary
Add the following:
Suffers damage: If an attack reaches the ‘Inflict Damage’ step of the attack sequence, the model that the attack was allocated to is said to have suffered damage, even if that model subsequently uses a rule to either ignore the wounds inflicted or it uses a rule that means those wounds are not lost."
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

nosferatu1001 wrote:
"Page 365 – Rules Term Glossary
Add the following:
Suffers damage: If an attack reaches the ‘Inflict Damage’ step of the attack sequence, the model that the attack was allocated to is said to have suffered damage, even if that model subsequently uses a rule to either ignore the wounds inflicted or it uses a rule that means those wounds are not lost."


Unfortunately there is no attack sequence here. Its a psychic power.
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

Unfortunately, GW has a bad habit of treating Mortal Wounds like attacks. Even the language in the Mortal Wounds rule seem to imply that they are an attack. In this case, there is no rule or glossary entry for Suffers a Mortal Wound. The best you can do is draw deductions from other rules sources.

In this case of Wounds, suffer seems to mean damage inflicted regardless if wounds were actually lost. That's not the official rule since no such rule exist. That is the best deductive reasoning you're going to get from existing rules.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2022/07/13 22:25:23


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The point is we know you have to use the inflict damage step as, Er, that's the only mechanism we have to inflict damage. If you dint use it, psych powers generating mortal wounds does nothing, as you have no mechanism to determine how damage applies
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 p5freak wrote:
What is your interpretation ? And what rules do you base it on ?


I don't have one. Out of sportsmanship I'm playing it 6 before FnP like effects but wanted to be sure.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: