Switch Theme:

Help with Chaos Knights Super Heavy Auxillary Detachment Rules  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Hi all,

I've got a question that's been bugging me and I can't seem to get an answer that makes sense.

Let's say I have a Chaos Super Heavy Detachment with my Warlord in it. One big knight and 7 war-dogs so I have my 6cp refunded.

Then I take a Super Heavy Auxillary Chaos Knights detachment on top of that, 0cp cost thanks to Nephilim. I have 3 War-dogs in this detachment, what is stopping them from being a different household to my main detachment while maintaining battle-forged rules?

As per the rules I have 3 models and they are seperate deatchments:

"If your army is Battle-forged, <DREAD HOUSEHOLD> units (excluding DREADBLADE units) in CHAOS KNIGHTS Detachments gain access to the following dread household rules, provided that Detachment contains at least 3 models (excluding DREADBLADE models). Such a Detachment is referred to as a <DREAD HOUSEHOLD> Detachment. "

I can understand having a Dreadblade 3 man War-dog squad in a Super Heavy Auxillary detachment in order to get access to another unit slot and access to a customisable Fell Bond, but it'd be amazingly beneficial to get access to another dread household for their Traitorous ambition, Household bond, Relic and Warlord trait.

Can someone please explain to me why this is Illegal. I had only thought to do it for the dreadblade squad but then I do remember seeing someone doing this with multiple households in a tournament write up on Goonhammer and that made me ask if it was Legal.

Really appreciate any explantion I can get for this. Thanks in advance
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

The nephilim rules makes this illegal. All units from your army which have selectable keywords must have the same keyword. A selectable keyword is one where you have a choice what to pick. You can make those 3 wardogs dreadblades, thats legal.

All of the units in a player’s army that have selectable Faction keywords - that is Faction keywords presented in angular brackets that a player selects when they add those units to their army - must all have the same selectable keywords. This means, for example, that all units with the <CHAPTER> keyword in a player’s army must be from the same Chapter, and so all these units must replace <CHAPTER> with the name of that Chapter; all units with the <KABAL> keyword in a player’s army must be from the same Kabal; all units with the <WYCH CULT> keyword in a player’s army must be from the same Wych Cult, and so on. The only exceptions to this are as follows:
The <ALLEGIANCE> keyword - this can be different for different units in a player’s army.
The DREADBLADE and FREEBLADE keywords - these units can have different selectable Faction keywords to other units in a player’s army.
SPECIALIST MOB units.


   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: