Switch Theme:

Guard orders and Laurels of Command relic  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in nl
Regular Dakkanaut






I was wondering how the laurels of command interact with the newish rule of orders spreading to infantry units within 6" of the original unit.

Lets say I have a tempestor prime with the laurels of command behind three squads of plasma armoured scions.
First off I'd like to get ' take aim' to reroll ones on my overcharged plasmas.

After that I'd also like to have all these squads either reroll wounds (bring it down) or have the hellguns fire twice (FRFSRF).
Am I correct in thinking that on a 4+ I'm able to issue the second order to the first squad and have that one also spread to the other squads?

I can't seem to find a FAQ on this and I can't be the first one that wants to do this.
It would make the laurels of command a very tasty relic.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

If you are talking about the WL trait "Superior Tactical Training" it is covered in the FAQ, Page 4.

Basically you can issue the second order to the first squad and have that one also spread to the other squads if you make the roll.


https://www.warhammer-community.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/09/IVAZqTmoxbmsFHCr.pdf

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut



London

Currently as written I would say yes. You can't order a squad a second time, laurels is an exception. The new chain orders is a n exception to ordering one unit. So orders for everyone.

Question would be if the roll fails is every potential squad failed, or can you try at a different part of the chain (if you have 2 squads leading to a chain of infantry). I would say again as written every potential squad is failed.

But as intended I would say it only applies to the squad the laurels are being used on.

No FAQ to my knowledge.
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

There is no FAQ directly addressing this, so the intended interaction is unknown. The best guidance available is this FAQ answer:
Q: How do The Laurels of Command and Superior Tactical Training interact? For example, my Warlord is a Cadian Company Commander and I give him The Laurels of Command and the Superior Tactical Training Warlord Trait. How many orders is he potentially allowed to issue each turn, and how many units can those orders affect?

A: If he issues an order to a Cadian Infantry unit within 6" (unit A) using his Voice of Command ability, first roll a dice for Superior Tactical Training; on a 4+, you can pick another Cadian Infantry unit (unit B) within 6" for that order to affect. Then roll a dice for The Laurels of Command; on a 4+ he can issue a second order to the first unit (unit A). You can then roll again for Superior Tactical Training; on a 4+, you can pick another Cadian Infantry unit within 6" for the second order to affect (this does not have to be unit B, but can be).

Note that when you use Superior Tactical Training, an order is not issued – rather, an already issued order affects an additional unit. So you cannot use The Laurels of Command to generate further orders as a result of using Superior Tactical Training, but you can use Superior Tactical Training to make secondary orders caused by The Laurels of Command affect an additional unit.
For simplicities sake, I would treat the Balance Datasheet ability as if it was a powered-up Superior Tactical Training.

Therefore each time are allowed to issue a second order due to Laurels of Command, you can select one unit to receive a second order. While that order can be spread to additional units, there is no guidance allowing that spread order to be a second order for a unit.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: