Switch Theme:

Axe of dismemberment and G'holl'ax, the Decayed  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

What happens when an unmodified 6 is rolled ? The attack sequence cannot end and automatically wound the target at the same time. Does the target suffer 2 MW, and G'holl'ax does nothing, or is the target automatically wounded and the axes ability does nothing, no 2MW ? If the target suffers 2MW, can it use rules to ignore those 2MW, or not, because of G'holl'ax ?

What happens when the bearer is in wanton slaughter, when an unmodified hit roll of 6 with a melee weapon scores 1 additional hit ? Is it 2MW from the axe, and an automatic wound from G'holl'ax, because a hit was scored ?

G'holl'ax, the Decayed Select one melee weapon (excluding Relics) the bearer is equipped with.

- That weapon is now a Relic for all rules purposes and has the Daemon Weapon ability.
- Each time an attack is made with this daemon weapon, if a hit is scored, that attack automatically wounds the target and enemy models cannot use any rules to ignore the wounds they lose.


Axe of dismemberment
Each time an attack is made with this weapon, an unmodified hit roll of 6 inflicts 2 mortal wounds on the target and the attack sequence ends.
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

Edit: never mind

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2022/10/08 14:05:55


 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Have you tried painting and modelling as a hobby?

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

This is not rocket science here. Just apply the rules:

  • On a Hit: A automatic wound
  • On a Unmodified 6 Hit: 2 Mortal Wounds
  • On a Unmodified 6 Hit in Wanton Slaughter: 2 Mortal Wounds plus a Hit that automatically wounds
  •    
    Made in au
    Frenzied Berserker Terminator






    If the attack sequence ends, then it doesn't matter that the hit automatically wounds. The mortal wounds occur, the sequence ends for that attack. Nothing else about the rest of the attack sequence matters.

     JohnnyHell wrote:
    Have you tried painting and modelling as a hobby?

    To be fair, this is a perfectly legitimate question and doesn't appear to be bait. This time.
       
    Made in gb
    Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





    Cardiff

    Oh sweet summer child!

     Stormonu wrote:
    For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
     
       
    Made in us
    Captain of the Forlorn Hope





    Chicago, IL

     alextroy wrote:
    This is not rocket science here. Just apply the rules:

  • On a Hit: A automatic wound
  • On a Unmodified 6 Hit: 2 Mortal Wounds
  • On a Unmodified 6 Hit in Wanton Slaughter: 2 Mortal Wounds plus a Hit that automatically wounds

  • The first two are correct.

    This is not: "On a Unmodified 6 Hit in Wanton Slaughter: 2 Mortal Wounds plus a Hit that automatically wounds" is correct. But that is not.

    On a Unmodified 6, you get 2 mortal wounds on the target and the attack sequence ends. In wanton slaughter you score 1 additional hit, so you have2 hits, but since the attack sequence ends after the MW's from the Unmodified 6, those 2 hits do not actually do anything.

    This one is very clear.

    "Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

    I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

    We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
     
       
    Made in us
    Confessor Of Sins





    Tacoma, WA, USA

    You are very much wrong:
    Page 363 – Rare Rules
    Add the following sub-section:
    SCORING ADDITIONAL HITS
    When a model makes an attack, some rules will let that attack score one or more additional hits on a particular hit roll (e.g. ‘each time an attack is made with this weapon, an unmodified hit roll of 6 scores 1 additional hit’). If the attacking model is also benefiting from any other rules that trigger on a particular hit roll (e.g. ‘each time an attack is made with this weapon, an unmodified hit roll of 6 automatically wounds the target’), then only the original attack benefits from those rules. If any additional hits are scored as the result of a particular hit roll, those additional hits are not considered to have been made with any hit roll – they simply hit the target and you must continue the attack sequence for them (i.e. make a wound roll).
       
    Made in de
    Nihilistic Necron Lord






    Germany

    Why does the axe ability overrule G'holl'ax, not the other way around ? Can the enemy unit use rules to ignore the 2MW from the axe, or does G'holl'ax not allow it ? If not, why is G'holl'ax completety useless ?


    Automatically Appended Next Post:
     JohnnyHell wrote:
    Have you tried painting and modelling as a hobby?


    Have you tried that ? If you dont have anything to say that helps answering this rules question please stay away.

    This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2022/10/08 21:09:58


     
       
    Made in us
    Confessor Of Sins





    Tacoma, WA, USA

    Simple. Neither negates the other.

    Whenever you hit, your Wound Roll is automatically successful due to G'holl'ax, the Decayed.

    If that attack roll is an unmodified 6, instead of resolving the Attack Sequence (Hit Roll, Wound Roll, Save, Damage), you instead inflict 2 Mortal Wounds and stop the attack sequence per Axe of Dismemberment. Thus while the Wound Roll would automatically be successful, you never get to that part of the attack sequence.

    Now on the question of not being able to ignore the Mortal Wounds from the Axe of Dismemberment and G'holl'ax, the Decayed combination, I would call that inconclusive. The wording on G'holl'ax, the Decayed does not make it clear that it applies to Mortal Wounds caused by the weapon in question as opposed to those that automatically wound when an attack hits.
       
    Made in gb
    Longtime Dakkanaut




     alextroy wrote:
    Simple. Neither negates the other.

    Whenever you hit, your Wound Roll is automatically successful due to G'holl'ax, the Decayed.

    If that attack roll is an unmodified 6, instead of resolving the Attack Sequence (Hit Roll, Wound Roll, Save, Damage), you instead inflict 2 Mortal Wounds and stop the attack sequence per Axe of Dismemberment. Thus while the Wound Roll would automatically be successful, you never get to that part of the attack sequence.

    I agree with this. Seems pretty straight forward to me.

     alextroy wrote:
    Now on the question of not being able to ignore the Mortal Wounds from the Axe of Dismemberment and G'holl'ax, the Decayed combination, I would call that inconclusive. The wording on G'holl'ax, the Decayed does not make it clear that it applies to Mortal Wounds caused by the weapon in question as opposed to those that automatically wound when an attack hits.

    However, I think the rules are clear here. You've scored a hit so the damage is not negatable by any means, as per the weapon's usual rules. I don't think the fact you've essentially converted the regular damage into 2MWs changes that.
       
    Made in us
    Captain of the Forlorn Hope





    Chicago, IL

     alextroy wrote:
    You are very much wrong:
    Page 363 – Rare Rules
    Add the following sub-section:
    SCORING ADDITIONAL HITS
    When a model makes an attack, some rules will let that attack score one or more additional hits on a particular hit roll (e.g. ‘each time an attack is made with this weapon, an unmodified hit roll of 6 scores 1 additional hit’). If the attacking model is also benefiting from any other rules that trigger on a particular hit roll (e.g. ‘each time an attack is made with this weapon, an unmodified hit roll of 6 automatically wounds the target’), then only the original attack benefits from those rules. If any additional hits are scored as the result of a particular hit roll, those additional hits are not considered to have been made with any hit roll – they simply hit the target and you must continue the attack sequence for them (i.e. make a wound roll).
    I was not wrong per the base rules.

    This addition is some sort of FAQ I take it?

    This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2022/10/09 01:19:04


    "Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

    I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

    We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
     
       
    Made in us
    Confessor Of Sins





    Tacoma, WA, USA

     DeathReaper wrote:
     alextroy wrote:
    You are very much wrong:
    Page 363 – Rare Rules
    Add the following sub-section:
    SCORING ADDITIONAL HITS
    When a model makes an attack, some rules will let that attack score one or more additional hits on a particular hit roll (e.g. ‘each time an attack is made with this weapon, an unmodified hit roll of 6 scores 1 additional hit’). If the attacking model is also benefiting from any other rules that trigger on a particular hit roll (e.g. ‘each time an attack is made with this weapon, an unmodified hit roll of 6 automatically wounds the target’), then only the original attack benefits from those rules. If any additional hits are scored as the result of a particular hit roll, those additional hits are not considered to have been made with any hit roll – they simply hit the target and you must continue the attack sequence for them (i.e. make a wound roll).
    I was not wrong per the base rules.

    This addition is some sort of FAQ I take it?
    Yes. Right out of the Core Rules FAQ. It has been in it for quite some time.
       
    Made in de
    Nihilistic Necron Lord






    Germany

     alextroy wrote:
    Yes. Right out of the Core Rules FAQ. It has been in it for quite some time.


    Quite some time is an understatement. Its been there for over two years.
       
     
    Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
    Go to: