Switch Theme:

Ion storm stratagem with intervening unit  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in hr
Been Around the Block




Hekaton land fortress with ion beamers fires up a unit, and it uses the Ion storm strategem. There is an intervening unit that also gets some of joy as the beamers are, well, beams.

Which means for every hit on the original target, the intervening unit gets a wound rolled against it as well. So does it also get MWs on 6's to wound it?

The stratagem says: "...Until the end of the phase, each time a model in that unit makes an attack with an ion weapon, an unmodified wound roll of 6 inflicts 1 mortal wound on the target in addition..."

Errata says: "Q: When a beam weapon causes a wound roll to be made against
an intervening unit, does that unit count as having been hit by an
attack for any other rules purposes?
A: No."

So I guess the question is does the intervening unit also count as a target? It didn't get an attack roll rolled against it so no, but it does get a wound roll rolled against it, so kinda...yes?
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Ion storm stratagem does 1 MW to the target...

Only the until you selected gets the MW's

intervening units are not a target as per the rules for 40K.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2023/01/02 07:51:14


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




 DeathReaper wrote:
Ion storm stratagem does 1 MW to the target...

Only the until you selected gets the MW's

intervening units are not a target as per the rules for 40K.

Agreed. The FAQ also reinforces this. You only have 1 target unit, even though others may be affected in some way.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: