Switch Theme:

Strategic Reserves  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Regular Dakkanaut




Sydney, Australia

Hi all,

Apologies for the noob question, I have had a look through the rules and with the changes to arc of omens I just want to get my head around strategic reserves, specifically relating to necrons.

Strategic Reserve Core Rules:
-Strategic reserve core rules states units can be set up into strategic reserve unless otherwise told so.
-Specific limitations of % of army that can go into stratefic reserve per specific mission packs. (typically 50%)
-Additionally it costs CP to place units into stratgic reserve.
-This CP requirement has now been removed by arcs of omen.

Additional strategic reserve rules with necrons:

Dimensional translocate - Allows the setup of specific units in strategic result (with the removal of the CP requirement would this now be redundant?)
Prismatic dimensional breach - Allows the setup of a strategic reserve unit now closer than 9inch to an enemy if using a nightsythe or monolith?

Question:
1. Can I strategic reserve any unit e.g. a unit/multiple units of 20 necron warriors? As long as a follow the above rules? Without a nightsythe or Monolith.
2. From turn 2 onwards I can just choose to bring them in? No need to roll? I can hold them back to turn 3 if i want to drop them in the enemy deployment zone per the core rules?
3. Am I missing something?
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

First things first, units utilizing the Dimensional Translocation ability are not in Strategic Reserves. They are in a hyperspace location. Units in such locations are Reinforcement Units.
Rules Term Glossary wrote:Reinforcement unit: Any unit that starts the battle in a location other than on the battlefield, and is not embarked within a TRANSPORT unit that does start the battle on the battlefield, is considered to be a Reinforcement unit. Any Reinforcement units that have not been set up on the battlefield by the end of the battle count as destroyed.

Secondly, most mission packs place a limit on the units that can be in Strategic Reserves and/or as Reinforcement Units.

Now on to your questions:
1) Yes. You can place any unit you want to into Strategic Reserves as long as you follow the rules for the mission pack when doing so. Prismatic Dimensional Breach allows an alternative deployment method to units you place in Strategic Reserves, but the normal rules still apply.
2) Yes. There are no rolls to bring on Strategic Reserves or Reinforcement Units in the Arks of Omen Mission Pack. Note that in AoO, you are only allowed to bring in such units on the Second and Third Battle Rounds as you are not allowed to bring them in on the First Battle Round and they are considered destroyed if they do not arrive by the end of the Third Battle Round
3) I don't know. Any questions?
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Note that you can only bring units on the battlefield with prismatic dimensional breach which are in strategic reserves.

I have a side question, what kind of unit is a unit which is inside a transport which itself is in strategic reserves ? Its not a reinforcement unit, according to the reinforcement unit rule. It does start the battle in a location other than on the battlefield, but it is embarked within a transport. Does this mean reinforcement rules doesnt apply to that unit ?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2023/02/24 05:36:06


 
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard





 p5freak wrote:
Note that you can only bring units on the battlefield with prismatic dimensional breach which are in strategic reserves.

I have a side question, what kind of unit is a unit which is inside a transport which itself is in strategic reserves ? Its not a reinforcement unit, according to the reinforcement unit rule. It does start the battle in a location other than on the battlefield, but it is embarked within a transport. Does this mean reinforcement rules doesnt apply to that unit ?


Get your Excedrin ready - A unit that starts the game in a transport that does not start on the table is a reserve unit because it is not "not embarked within a TRANSPORT unit that does start the battle on the battlefield"

Step 1:
It helps if you go backwards. Is the Transport on the battlefield?

Yes - Go to Step two
No - Reserve Unit.

Step 2:
Is the unit embarked... Yadda Yadda.

The only exception is in a Transport on the battlefield, if the Transport is not on the battlefield, the exception doesn't apply ergo Reserve Unit.

My WHFB armies were Bretonians and Tomb Kings. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: