Switch Theme:

Born Protectors + Veil of time strat  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




I played a game recently with my Salamanders vs Tyranids and using this strat forced a surrender by turn 2, I just want to check I'm interpreting the rules correctly for future games.

I went first and on my turn 1 I successfully cast "veil of time" with my librarian and selected my Flamestorm aggressors for it to affect. "Until the start of your next Psychic phase if that unit starts the fight phase within engagement range of an enemy unit, it fights first that phase."

On their turn 1 they charged in with a carnifex into a unit of my intercessors and I burn 2 cp to use "Born Protectors" a Salamanders stratagem on my Flamestorm aggressors, they shoot overwatch into the carnifex and then successfully make it into engagement range with a heroic intervention.

In the fight phase I interpreted the rules that veil of time meant that my aggressors got to attack first before the carnifex even though it charged and they managed to kill it before it got to attack the intercessors. I also repeated this again in the second turn against their flying hive tyrant whereby they threw in the towel.

Was this interpretation correct or should their units having charged taken priority in the attack order?
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





The original rules did not make it very clear but they clarified in a designer's commentary at some point that the player whose turn it is gets to pick first at the 'fights first' stage (with chargers also counting as having 'fight first'). If the carnifex was your opponent's only charging unit then it should have got the chance to eat your agressors, with any survivors being eligible to fight back immediately afterwards. If the opponent charged with multiple units and picked something else to resolve its close combat attacks first then in that scenario the agressors could go before the carnifex.

8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
 
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




The Carnifex charged a unit of intercessors to which the Aggressors heroically intervened, would the carnifex be able to change the target of its attack from the intercessors to the aggressors?
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Yes, a unit who has charged can fight units which it charged, or units who made a heroic intervention.
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

So to bring this all together, you got it wrong. While Veil of Time allows your Aggressors to fight first, the charging Canifex also fights first per the rules for charging. Since both players have fight first units, the player whose turn it is gets to choose a unit to fight before the other player. As charging models may fight against models in the units it charged and any units that Heroically Intervened that turn, the Canifex could fight before the Aggressors and allocate some or all its attacks against the Aggressors.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 alextroy wrote:
As charging models may fight against models in the units it charged and any units that Heroically Intervened that turn, the Canifex could fight before the Aggressors and allocate some or all its attacks against the Aggressors.


The carnifex fights first, but he cannot allocate some attacks to the aggressors. Its all, or nothing.

Select Targets
Before you resolve any attacks, you must first select the target unit(s) for all of the attacks. Attacks made by models in units that made a charge move this turn can only target enemy units that their unit declared a charge against, or that performed a Heroic Intervention this turn.

   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

 p5freak wrote:
 alextroy wrote:
As charging models may fight against models in the units it charged and any units that Heroically Intervened that turn, the Canifex could fight before the Aggressors and allocate some or all its attacks against the Aggressors.


The carnifex fights first, but he cannot allocate some attacks to the aggressors. Its all, or nothing.

Select Targets
Before you resolve any attacks, you must first select the target unit(s) for all of the attacks. Attacks made by models in units that made a charge move this turn can only target enemy units that their unit declared a charge against, or that performed a Heroic Intervention this turn.

Target unit(s).

You have to choose how to allocate all your attacks before rolling any, but you can target two different units with your attacks.

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Yes you can target two or more different units. But those units can only be units you declared a charge against, OR units that performed a heroic intervention.

You cannot target unit A which you declared a charge against AND unit C which performed a heroic intervention. Its OR, not AND. You can target units A and B which you declared a charge against, OR units C and D which performed a heroic intervention.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





 p5freak wrote:
Yes you can target two or more different units. But those units can only be units you declared a charge against, OR units that performed a heroic intervention.

You cannot target unit A which you declared a charge against AND unit C which performed a heroic intervention. It’s OR, not AND. You can target units A and B which you declared a charge against, OR units C and D which performed a heroic intervention.


Each individual attack can target either a unit that was charged or a unit that heroically intervened, that’s because attacks are resolved individually. The rules allow a player to divide their attacks between a unit that was charged and a unit that heroically intervened.

Attacks made by models in units that made a charge move this turn can only target enemy units that their unit declared a charge against, or that performed a Heroic Intervention this turn.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

 p5freak wrote:
Yes you can target two or more different units. But those units can only be units you declared a charge against, OR units that performed a heroic intervention.

You cannot target unit A which you declared a charge against AND unit C which performed a heroic intervention. Its OR, not AND. You can target units A and B which you declared a charge against, OR units C and D which performed a heroic intervention.


You’re wrong. Much like shooting decide on a per weapon basis. You can fairy freely split attacks between your targets.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

It can be read both ways.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Only if misreading it and/or forgetting that the rules are written as if it’s every attack one at a time. Not ambiguous, can’t be read too ways, you’re simply wrong.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yep, another case where it's only ambiguous if you choose for it to be so.

Attacks are allocated one at a time, in rules as written land, and at each point you decide if THAT attack is against unit a or b (or c etc)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2023/03/05 18:37:59


 
   
Made in fi
Locked in the Tower of Amareo





"Before you resolve any attacks, you must first select the target unit(s) for all of the attacks."

Nah all attacks must be allocated first. Can't roll 1 at a time hoping to kill last guy and then switch.

Can split attacks between units though. Split just has to be decided first. No having cake and eating it too.

2024 painted/bought: 109/109 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Yes, attacks are resolved one at a time. But first, before resolving attacks, you must pick target unit(s). And you can ONLY target units you declared a charge against, OR that made a heroic intervention. You cannot target unit(s) which you declared a charge against, AND that made a heroic intervention.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




 p5freak wrote:
Yes, attacks are resolved one at a time. But first, before resolving attacks, you must pick target unit(s). And you can ONLY target units you declared a charge against, OR that made a heroic intervention. You cannot target unit(s) which you declared a charge against, AND that made a heroic intervention.

There's simply no other way to say this other than: you're wrong. That's not how that sentence works. "Or" is perfectly acceptable as an inclusive indicator.

It's truly impressive to me that a relatively straight forward rules question, with a clear answer that's been specifically answered by GW has somehow generated another classic YMDC thread.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Yep, just wrong p5. Please accept consensus!

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




This is p5. Acceptance of them being wrong, again, isn't likely.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Agree to disagree it is then. Just because the majority says X and someone else says Y doesnt automatically make X the right answer.

I dont see how "or" can be an inclusive indicator. How can i have both apple and orange when someone says you can only have an apple, or an orange.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2023/03/06 12:51:30


 
   
Made in fi
Locked in the Tower of Amareo





 JohnnyHell wrote:
Yep, just wrong p5. Please accept consensus!


Nah he sees concensus and deliberately goes against it just for sake of it As usual.

2024 painted/bought: 109/109 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 p5freak wrote:
Agree to disagree it is then. Just because the majority says X and someone else says Y doesnt automatically make X the right answer.

I dont see how "or" can be an inclusive indicator. How can i have both apple and orange when someone says you can only have an apple, or an orange.

Because attacks are allocated one at a time. For every attack you decide to attack a unit you charged or a unit that HI. That's it. One. At. A. Time.

The base rules tell us this. That you persist to ignore basic rules when it doesn't suit you does you no favours
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

 p5freak wrote:
Agree to disagree it is then. Just because the majority says X and someone else says Y doesnt automatically make X the right answer.

I dont see how "or" can be an inclusive indicator. How can i have both apple and orange when someone says you can only have an apple, or an orange.
Because it is impossible for there to be a unit that you declared a charge against and that made a Heroic Intervention.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

tneva82 wrote:
 JohnnyHell wrote:
Yep, just wrong p5. Please accept consensus!


Nah he sees concensus and deliberately goes against it just for sake of it As usual.


True dat. Thread lock when?

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Is this the correct sequence in the fight phase ?

1. Pick eligible units to fight with
2. Pile in
3. Determine which models can fight and how many attacks they make
4. Pick target units
5. Allocate attacks to enemy units
6. Resolve attacks
7. Consolidate
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: