Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/06/27 02:34:24
Subject: Yvraine Ynnari in a Raider
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Any word if the Ynnari HQ can go in DE transports? Atleast if you pair them with DE troups as a bodygaurd?
I can see either side TBH. Raw tells me no since Yvraine isn't Drukhari Infantry but interpretation tells me it should be fine since it wouldn't make sense for DE to be Ynnari bodygaurds otherwise. Maybe I've missed some fine print somewhere...
In a perfect world all faction keywords become Ynnari and I can stick Wraithgaurd/blade in Raiders  But I don't think this is the case...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/06/27 03:23:12
Subject: Yvraine Ynnari in a Raider
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
I don't see any rule allowing her. She is not a Drukhari Infantry model.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/06/27 21:12:42
Subject: Yvraine Ynnari in a Raider
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Does it require the keywords? The unit has all keywords of the models.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/06/27 21:25:29
Subject: Yvraine Ynnari in a Raider
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Yes. It requires the model to have the keyword, not the unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/06/28 02:13:20
Subject: Yvraine Ynnari in a Raider
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
The DE are faction DE and their transports require DE infantry. Yvraine is Aeldari not DE... My thought was maybe when she joins the unit the faction keywords are shared like toughness's are. IMO this makes sense since otherwise your DE+Yvraine units couldn't go into ANY transports...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/06/28 04:10:08
Subject: Re:Yvraine Ynnari in a Raider
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
The wording on the Raider transport section is very specific.
This model has a transport capacity of 11 Drukhari Infantry models. Each Grotesque model takes up the space of 3 models. This model cannot transport models that can Fly.
Yvraine and the Visarch are not Drukhari Infantry models, so they can't hitch a ride.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/06/28 21:38:30
Subject: Yvraine Ynnari in a Raider
|
 |
Liche Priest Hierophant
|
Would they not get those keywords when they join a unit? Putting a psyker in a unit makes them all pshykick for instance.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/06/28 22:43:14
Subject: Re:Yvraine Ynnari in a Raider
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
No. Putting a Psycher in a unit means the unit has the Psycher Keyword. It does not change the keywords the individual models have.
Rules Commentary wrote: Some units can contain models that have different keywords. While this is the case, such a unit is considered to have all of the keywords of all of its models, and so is affected by any rule that applies to units with any of those keywords. Remember that attacks are made against units, not models.
Example: An Attached unit contains a Leader model with the Psyker keyword. While that Leader is part of that unit, the entire unit is considered to have the Psyker keyword. If that unit is attacked by a weapon with the [ANTI-PSYKER 4+] ability, any unmodified Wound roll of 4+ made against that unit scores a Critical Wound, even if the attack itself is not allocated to that Leader model
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2023/06/28 22:46:24
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/06/29 05:56:45
Subject: Re:Yvraine Ynnari in a Raider
|
 |
Liche Priest Hierophant
|
alextroy wrote:No. Putting a Psycher in a unit means the unit has the Psycher Keyword. It does not change the keywords the individual models have.
Rules Commentary wrote: Some units can contain models that have different keywords. While this is the case, such a unit is considered to have all of the keywords of all of its models, and so is affected by any rule that applies to units with any of those keywords. Remember that attacks are made against units, not models.
Example: An Attached unit contains a Leader model with the Psyker keyword. While that Leader is part of that unit, the entire unit is considered to have the Psyker keyword. If that unit is attacked by a weapon with the [ANTI-PSYKER 4+] ability, any unmodified Wound roll of 4+ made against that unit scores a Critical Wound, even if the attack itself is not allocated to that Leader model
I am confused. The dark Eldar unit has drukhari keyword. Pop a character in there and mix the keywords together. That unit now have all the keywords of both units including drukhari keyword.
Put said unit in transport - check if said unit has the keywords for the transport. Get recognition.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/06/29 12:03:15
Subject: Yvraine Ynnari in a Raider
|
 |
[DCM]
Moustache-twirling Princeps
Gone-to-ground in the craters of Coventry
|
'Drukhari' is a faction keyword, but 'Infantry' is a unit keyword. 'Psyker' seems to be an ability or state keyword.
I have not seen it defined like that, but some keywords do not appear to be transferrable.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2023/06/29 12:04:08
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/06/29 18:26:22
Subject: Yvraine Ynnari in a Raider
|
 |
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle
|
Keywords transfer to the UNIT, but not to the models within the unit.
The unit as a whole is Drukhari.
But Yvraine still isn't.
|
Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/06/29 20:04:17
Subject: Yvraine Ynnari in a Raider
|
 |
Liche Priest Hierophant
|
JNAProductions wrote:Keywords transfer to the UNIT, but not to the models within the unit.
The unit as a whole is Drukhari.
But Yvraine still isn't.
If that is true does that mean inquisitors that join a squad of custodians can ride in a landraider without taking up a slot? It says inquisitors can ride in the same transports as the unit they join. The Custodies landraider has a max capasaty of 6 Custodies. If the inquisitor do not get the keyword he does not fill up the custody slot. Right?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/06/29 20:58:16
Subject: Yvraine Ynnari in a Raider
|
 |
Death-Dealing Devastator
|
Niiai wrote: JNAProductions wrote:Keywords transfer to the UNIT, but not to the models within the unit.
The unit as a whole is Drukhari.
But Yvraine still isn't.
If that is true does that mean inquisitors that join a squad of custodians can ride in a landraider without taking up a slot? It says inquisitors can ride in the same transports as the unit they join. The Custodies landraider has a max capasaty of 6 Custodies. If the inquisitor do not get the keyword he does not fill up the custody slot. Right?
No because Transport Capacity is on a per model basis, a unit of 6 Custodes counts as 12 models and with an Inquisitor that's 13. Just because it states an Inquisitor can ride in the same transports as the unit they join it doesn't override the maximum Transport Capacity of the transport.
Now if you had 3 Custodes and an Inquisitor then yes they could all ride in the Land Raider as that is only 7 models.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/06/30 08:46:35
Subject: Yvraine Ynnari in a Raider
|
 |
Liche Priest Hierophant
|
Foxfyre wrote: Niiai wrote: JNAProductions wrote:Keywords transfer to the UNIT, but not to the models within the unit.
The unit as a whole is Drukhari.
But Yvraine still isn't.
If that is true does that mean inquisitors that join a squad of custodians can ride in a landraider without taking up a slot? It says inquisitors can ride in the same transports as the unit they join. The Custodies landraider has a max capasaty of 6 Custodies. If the inquisitor do not get the keyword he does not fill up the custody slot. Right?
No because Transport Capacity is on a per model basis, a unit of 6 Custodes counts as 12 models and with an Inquisitor that's 13. Just because it states an Inquisitor can ride in the same transports as the unit they join it doesn't override the maximum Transport Capacity of the transport.
Now if you had 3 Custodes and an Inquisitor then yes they could all ride in the Land Raider as that is only 7 models.
You are just making gak up, probably based on the previus edition. A Custodies Landraider has a transport capasaty of 6 custodian models.
So if the inquisitor does not get the custodies keyword he rides for free, no?
I personally do not think that is the case. In the 3rd paragraf of the rules commentery we see what happens when a unit has multiple models with different keywords. You just soup them all together. - If the lack of drukhari keyword is what leeps Ynnari from going in a raider as long as they cna join a dark eldar squad they should get the keywords and be able to ride in a transport. Just like an inquisitor would take up one slot in a landraider.
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/06/30 18:23:51
Subject: Yvraine Ynnari in a Raider
|
 |
Death-Dealing Devastator
|
I apologise for the bad ruling; I had honestly, but wrongly, believed I had read capacity limits to be the same as in 9th. Mea Culpa.
The Inquisitor has the rule "Authority of the Inquisition" that gives explicit permission to board any transport that can legally carry his bodyguard and as such ignores the limit the Land Raider capacity places.
Yvraine has no such rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/06/30 18:34:23
Subject: Yvraine Ynnari in a Raider
|
 |
Liche Priest Hierophant
|
But Yvraine gets the dark Eldar keyword once they join the group. I do not see how that does not work.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/06/30 20:01:19
Subject: Yvraine Ynnari in a Raider
|
 |
[DCM]
Tzeentch's Fan Girl
|
Niiai wrote:But Yvraine gets the dark Eldar keyword once they join the group. I do not see how that does not work.
Because she doesn't gain the DRUKHARI keyword.
Consider FLY:
Ahriman on a Disc has the FLY keyword. He may join a unit of Rubric Marines, who themselves do not have the FLY keyword. Because Ahriman has FLY the unit has the FLY keyword, and so would be affected by weapons with the ANTI-FLY ability. However, flying movement is done on a per-model basis; since only Ahriman has the FLY keyword, he may fly when the unit moves but the Rubric Marines still have to move on foot.
The Raider's transport capacity is 11 DRUKHARI INFANTRY models, not 1 DRUKHARI INFANTRY unit. While the unit is considered to have all the keywords of all the models in the unit, the inverse is NOT true. Yvraine doesn't herself have the DRUKHARI keyword, so she can't climb on the Raider.
It's dumb, but that's how it is.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2023/06/30 20:01:33
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/06/30 20:29:49
Subject: Yvraine Ynnari in a Raider
|
 |
Liche Priest Hierophant
|
I believe the 3rd paragraf billig point under keywords negate this.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/06/30 20:38:11
Subject: Yvraine Ynnari in a Raider
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Niiai wrote:I believe the 3rd paragraf billig point under keywords negate this.
That says that a Unit has the keywords of all its models, but that does not mean every model has all the keywords. Subtle but important difference
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/06/30 23:31:25
Subject: Re:Yvraine Ynnari in a Raider
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Deathreaper is right. The unit has all the keywords of its models. The models do not have all the keywords of their unit. That is why many units have multiple keyword listings for different models in the unit.
Of obvious note is the Precision Keyword. It allows you to attack an Attached Unit and allocate attacks to a Character model in that unit. This doesn't make sense if having a Character model in the unit gave all the models in the unit the Character keyword.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2023/06/30 23:34:21
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/07/04 04:24:14
Subject: Yvraine Ynnari in a Raider
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Luckily, Drukhari models can all go in a Wave Serpent. Sure, you can't shoot out of it... But now there is room for the Visarch to join in the fun!
|
|
 |
 |
|