Switch Theme:

Staking wound modefiers.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in no
Liche Priest Hierophant





Bergen

Can you stack ard as nails and the boss s boys for -2 on a wound roll?

   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Yes, but the end result will be capped at -1 to wound.
It would counter-act an opponent's +1 to wound though, so the end result is still -1.

From the Core Rules:
"An unmodified Wound roll of 6 is called a Critical Wound and
is always successful. An unmodified Wound roll of 1 always
fails. A Wound roll can never be modified by more than -1
or +1."

And then from the Designer's Commentary:
"■ Some dice rolls can never be modified by more than -1 or +1 (e.g.
Hit rolls). In such cases, after all the cumulative modifiers to a roll
have been calculated, if the total modifier would be -2 or worse, it is
changed to -1. Similarly, after all the cumulative modifiers to a roll
have been calculated, if the total modifier would be +2 or better, it is
changed to +1."

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2023/06/30 15:49:44


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Niiai wrote:
Can you stack ard as nails and the boss s boys for -2 on a wound roll?
Sure, but A Wound roll can never be modified by more than -1 or +1.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Evasive Eshin Assassin






hi all,
just wanted to check on something after reading this.
if i understand this correct it may be beneficial to stack my modifiers in the case that they have modifiers of their own correct?

for example, if they have a minus 1 to hit when shooting at them rule or something i may want to stack positive to hit modifiers of my own so that i can get a net +1 to hit.

is this correct?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes. The limit applies after you sum all modifiers.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: