Switch Theme:

can you decide to not deploy a unit?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in fi
Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries




At this time adding a cybernetica datasmith to castelan robots makes the unit infantry. If you see that opponent has lots of anti-infantry, can you decide not to deploy him?
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tzeentch's Fan Girl






Southern New Hampshire

I don't think you have that option.

"Models must be set up wholly within..."

"Continue setting up units until both players have set up all the units from their armies..."

She/Her

"There are no problems that cannot be solved with cannons." - Chief Engineer Boris Krauss of Nuln

Kid_Kyoto wrote:"Don't be a dick" and "This is a family wargame" are good rules of thumb.


DR:80S++G++M--B+IPwhfb01#+D+++A+++/fWD258R++T(D)DM+++
 
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




Julistaja wrote:
At this time adding a cybernetica datasmith to castelan robots makes the unit infantry. If you see that opponent has lots of anti-infantry, can you decide not to deploy him?


The Leader ability allows you to attach that unit to another unit if you choose; it does not compel you to do so. If you do not want the Cybernetica Datasmith to convey the INFANTRY keyword to the Catsellan Robots, during the "Declare Battle Formations" step, don't declare that that Leader is attached to any units; the model will then act as a unit in its own right.

All units in your army must be deployed during the deployment step, except for any units which you have declared to be in Strategic Reserves during the "Declare Battle Formations" step; only up to 25% of your army can be placed in Strategic Reserves. If a unit has an ability that otherwise allows it to be placed in non-Strategic Reserves (e.g. Deep Strike) that will be outlined on its datasheet. You're never actually forced to bring units from your Strategic Reserves onto the battlefield; if for some utterly inexplicable reason you've paid points to include a unit in your army you don't intend to use, you can place it in Strategic Reserves and then leave it there for the entire battle; it'll count as destroyed at the end of the battle anyway though.

The only ambiguity I see is the part of the deployment step which states you deploy units until all units have been deployed "or you have run out of room to deploy units." In as far as I can see, there's no actual elaboration on what happens to units that cannot be deployed due to a lack of space.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2023/07/05 22:04:59


 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Scion of Fate wrote:
The Leader ability allows you to attach that unit to another unit if you choose; it does not compel you to do so.

From the LEADER ability on the Cybernetica Datasmith's card:

You must attach this model to a Kastelan Robots unit, even if one or more other Cybernetica Datasmith models have already been attached to it.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







 Ghaz wrote:
Scion of Fate wrote:
The Leader ability allows you to attach that unit to another unit if you choose; it does not compel you to do so.

From the LEADER ability on the Cybernetica Datasmith's card:

You must attach this model to a Kastelan Robots unit, even if one or more other Cybernetica Datasmith models have already been attached to it.


On the other hand, the version of Leader that most models use is the one in the core rulebook which says
Some Character units have ‘Leader’ listed on their datasheets. Such Character units are known as Leaders, and the units they can lead – known as their Bodyguard units – are listed on their datasheet.
During the Declare Battle Formations step, for each Leader in your army, if your army also includes one or more of that Leader’s Bodyguard units, you can select one of those Bodyguard units. That Leader will then attach to that Bodyguard unit for the duration of the battle and is said to be leading that unit. Each Bodyguard unit can only have one Leader attached to it.
...


and picking one of the leader models from Daemons at random, the Leader section typically says "can be attached":
This model can be attached to the following units:
■ BLOODCRUSHERS


I will leave it as an exercise for the reader to determine what the ratio of mandatory attachment units to non-mandatory attachment units, since it's not disputed that some units do mandate attachment.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2023/07/06 03:11:19


 
   
Made in fr
Locked in the Tower of Amareo





Well he's not asking about that but can you not deploy him at all. Ie let it be dead pre-game

2024 painted/bought: 109/109 
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




 Ghaz wrote:
Scion of Fate wrote:
The Leader ability allows you to attach that unit to another unit if you choose; it does not compel you to do so.

From the LEADER ability on the Cybernetica Datasmith's card:

You must attach this model to a Kastelan Robots unit, even if one or more other Cybernetica Datasmith models have already been attached to it.


Ah, you are quite correct, that will teach me to speak on indices I don't play.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
tneva82 wrote:
Well he's not asking about that but can you not deploy him at all. Ie let it be dead pre-game


With the answer still standing at "no," unless the unit is simply placed in Strategic Reserves and left there.

Unless anyone knows of any elaboration on the "no room to deploy" rule?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2023/07/06 09:41:43


 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tzeentch's Fan Girl






Southern New Hampshire

Scion of Fate wrote:
 Ghaz wrote:
Scion of Fate wrote:
The Leader ability allows you to attach that unit to another unit if you choose; it does not compel you to do so.

From the LEADER ability on the Cybernetica Datasmith's card:

You must attach this model to a Kastelan Robots unit, even if one or more other Cybernetica Datasmith models have already been attached to it.


Ah, you are quite correct, that will teach me to speak on indices I don't play.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
tneva82 wrote:
Well he's not asking about that but can you not deploy him at all. Ie let it be dead pre-game


With the answer still standing at "no," unless the unit is simply placed in Strategic Reserves and left there.

Unless anyone knows of any elaboration on the "no room to deploy" rule?


Is it me, or does that feel like a TFG move?

That said, you still MUST attach him to the robots. There's no conditional qualifier about being in reserves or not.

She/Her

"There are no problems that cannot be solved with cannons." - Chief Engineer Boris Krauss of Nuln

Kid_Kyoto wrote:"Don't be a dick" and "This is a family wargame" are good rules of thumb.


DR:80S++G++M--B+IPwhfb01#+D+++A+++/fWD258R++T(D)DM+++
 
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




 Manfred von Drakken wrote:
Scion of Fate wrote:
 Ghaz wrote:
Scion of Fate wrote:
The Leader ability allows you to attach that unit to another unit if you choose; it does not compel you to do so.

From the LEADER ability on the Cybernetica Datasmith's card:

You must attach this model to a Kastelan Robots unit, even if one or more other Cybernetica Datasmith models have already been attached to it.


Ah, you are quite correct, that will teach me to speak on indices I don't play.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
tneva82 wrote:
Well he's not asking about that but can you not deploy him at all. Ie let it be dead pre-game


With the answer still standing at "no," unless the unit is simply placed in Strategic Reserves and left there.

Unless anyone knows of any elaboration on the "no room to deploy" rule?


Is it me, or does that feel like a TFG move?

That said, you still MUST attach him to the robots. There's no conditional qualifier about being in reserves or not.


Yes, as per the specific ability on this particular unit, you must attach it, whether the unit is deployed or not.

I can't see any benefit to choosing to take two units (the Castellans and the Datasmith) only to let them all languish in Strategic Reserves until they're destroyed at the end of the battle, but it remains technically an option. It seems completely pointless to me though; you've just wasted a portion of your army's points value.

There definitely does need to be clarification on what happens if your deployment zone is full though; it's weird that they included the possibility in the rules, but then didn't actually explain what happens if it occurs. Not that I can imagine an AdMech army playing with the recommended battlefield size for the game size would ever realistically do that, without someone deliberately being That Guy and bringing six maximum-sized units of every BATTLELINE option and spacing them all exactly 2" apart.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: