Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/07/18 06:09:29
Subject: 15 questions for 10th edition - Five new questions 11-15.
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Hello
I hope you guys can help with some questions that came up during our first couple of Combat Patrol games. We now getting ready to try our first 1000 point battle.
1: When putting units into Strategic Reserve in the Declare Battle Formations step of the setup - can we split a unit into two smaller. Let's say a unit of 20 Termagants split into 10 to Strategic Reserve and the other 10 starts on the battlefield?
(We might be confused by the Combat Patrol - Patrol Squad rule).
2: Line of Sight and Shooting: Will other units block line of sight (ones own and opponents)?
(If we read it right one can allways shoot if you can see any part of the other model when looking from behind the shooting model. So only Terrain Feautures can block LoS effectively? No shielding weaker units with a tougher one in front?)
3: Deep Strike ability: Is it allowed to Deep Strike onto the battlefield in your 1st turn (opposed to 2nd turn onwards for Strategic Reserve)?
4: Fight Phase: I charged my opponent. He got "Fight First" on that unit. Will he get to attack before me even though I charged him?
5: Number of Attacks: In the Shooting Phase a model can fire all it's ranged weapons but you can only make one Melee Attack in the fight Phase (unless you got a special rule like; Extra Attack - right?
6: Do "Transport" units have to start in Strategic Reserve?
(We somehow got this idea - but at the same time we think in as to be stated specifically on the units data sheet if that is the case?)
7: Tyranids; Synapse rule: If a model/unit got the Synapse Keyword it can boots 6´´ away units with a 3D6 Battle Shock Test.
( We get confused by all tyranid units got; ABILITIES - FACTION: Synapse on there Data Sheets but for Synapse to work a unit got to have it as a Keyword to "aura" that onto other nearby Faction: Synapse units - right?)
8: Moving around inside Engagement Range: My opponent would like to move some models setup in Engagement Range. I said only through Pile-In and Consolidate moves - is that correct?
9: Leader and Bodyguard Units: We are using the lowest Toughness for Wound rolls but do the sam goes for Movement - go for the attached units lowest or do the faster unit boost the others?
10: Weapon Ability; BLAST: Barbgaunts got Attack: D6. and attacks a unit with 5 models. Do BLAST give D6+1 for every single model (5D6+5) or just +1 for every 5th model?
Thanks for reading!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2023/07/25 16:31:18
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/07/18 06:34:49
Subject: Re:10 questions for 10th edition - New players
|
 |
Fully-charged Electropriest
|
1. No. In the Muster Armies step you decide the size of units and they are locked in after that unless a unit has an ability to change that later like the LoV transport buggy (forgot the name).
2. Models in your own unit do not block line of sight but models in other units do if you can not see any part of the model like if a small unit is on the other side of a Land Raider. This however does not grant cover unless a unit has an ability like the baneblade.
3. No. Unless they has an ability that allows them to.
4. Yes. In each step of the fight phase the player whose turn it is not get to select a unit first.
5. You make the number of attacks on the profile of the melee weapon to have chosen to attack with. if the weapon has 6 attacks you make 6 attack rolls. You can only select one weapon to use in the fight phase unless an ability says otherwise.
6. No. Unless the unit has a rule saying otherwise.
7. Correct the ability requires either another unit within 6" with the Synapse keyword or it's own unit with that keyword to work. If neither of those conditions are met the unit takes battleshock on a 2D6.
8. Yes and no. Once in engagement range a unit can move in the fight phase with a pile in and a consolidate move. In the players movement phase they can choose to fall back and move all models outside of engagement range but they can not move individual models and stay in engagement range.
9. You do not use the lower toughness. You use the toughness of the bodyguard unit lower or higher. For movement you do have to use the lowest.
10. Blast gives you 1 extra attack per five models in a unit. So a target with five to nine models gets you +1, ten to fourteen is +2 and so on.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/07/18 06:45:20
Subject: 10 questions for 10th edition - New players
|
 |
Rogue Grot Kannon Gunna
|
Stansfield wrote:1: When putting units into Strategic Reserve in the Declare Battle Formations step of the setup - can we split a unit into two smaller. Let's say a unit of 20 Termagants split into 10 to Strategic Reserve and the other 10 starts on the battlefield?
(We might be confused by the Combat Patrol - Patrol Squad rule).
No such general rule exists. If a unit can split it will be explicitly stated in that unit's rules.
2: Line of Sight and Shooting: Will other units block line of sight (ones own and opponents)?
(If we read it right one can allways shoot if you can see any part of the other model when looking from behind the shooting model. So only Terrain Feautures can block LoS effectively? No shielding weaker units with a tougher one in front?)
Any unit can block line of sight but only if it physically blocks all visibility, merely drawing a line through the unit is not enough. In practice this happens very rarely as even one tiny speck of a single fingertip being visible behind the "blocking" model is enough to have line of sight.
3: Deep Strike ability: Is it allowed to Deep Strike onto the battlefield in your 1st turn (opposed to 2nd turn onwards for Strategic Reserve)?
No (unless a specific unit explicitly says it may arrive on turn 1).
4: Fight Phase: I charged my opponent. He got "Fight First" on that unit. Will he get to attack before me even though I charged him?
Correct. The player whose turn it isn't gets to activate a unit first.
5: Number of Attacks: In the Shooting Phase a model can fire all it's ranged weapons but you can only make one Melee Attack in the fight Phase (unless you got a special rule like; Extra Attack - right?
You choose one melee weapon to attack with and it makes a number of attacks as shown in its stat line.
6: Do "Transport" units have to start in Strategic Reserve?
(We somehow got this idea - but at the same time we think in as to be stated specifically on the units data sheet if that is the case?)
No such rule exists.
7: Tyranids; Synapse rule: If a model/unit got the Synapse Keyword it can boots 6´´ away units with a 3D6 Battle Shock Test.
( We get confused by all tyranid units got; ABILITIES - FACTION: Synapse on there Data Sheets but for Synapse to work a unit got to have it as a Keyword to "aura" that onto other nearby Faction: Synapse units - right?)
This is really awkwardly written but every unit has the army special rule but it measures distance from units with the Synapse keyword (mostly HQ-type units).
8: Moving around inside Engagement Range: My opponent would like to move some models setup in Engagement Range. I said only through Pile-In and Consolidate moves - is that correct?
Correct, you may only move if a rule gives you permission to move.
9: Leader and Bodyguard Units: We are using the lowest Toughness for Wound rolls but do the sam goes for Movement - go for the attached units lowest or do the faster unit boost the others?
You do not use lowest toughness, you use the bodyguard unit's toughness (which is usually, but not always, lower) until a unit is selected to fight/shoot with no bodyguard models left. IOW, once you start shooting/fighting if there are bodyguard models alive the toughness is set until you finish that unit's attacks, even if the bodyguard units are all removed partway though.
Movement is model by model. Each model may move up to its movement distance regardless of what movement distance other models can move, as long as it remains in coherency. For example, the models with M6" move forward 6" while a leader with M12" moves forward 12", starting at the back of the rest of the unit and ending at the front.
10: Weapon Ability; BLAST: Barbgaunts got Attack: D6. and attacks a unit with 5 models. Do BLAST give D6+1 for every single model (5D6+5) or just +1 for every 5th model?
Each model attacks separately, with Blast adding the extra attacks each time. You will make D6+1 attacks by each barbgaunt in the unit (but can roll all 10d6+10 simultaneously for speed).
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/07/18 06:49:08
Subject: 10 questions for 10th edition - New players
|
 |
Fully-charged Electropriest
|
ThePaintingOwl wrote:
6: Do "Transport" units have to start in Strategic Reserve?
(We somehow got this idea - but at the same time we think in as to be stated specifically on the units data sheet if that is the case?)
No such rule exists.
Drop Pods.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/07/18 07:05:05
Subject: 10 questions for 10th edition - New players
|
 |
Rogue Grot Kannon Gunna
|
KingGarland wrote: ThePaintingOwl wrote:
6: Do "Transport" units have to start in Strategic Reserve?
(We somehow got this idea - but at the same time we think in as to be stated specifically on the units data sheet if that is the case?)
No such rule exists.
Drop Pods.
That is a rule that drop pods must start in reserve, not that transports must start in reserve.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/07/18 09:29:42
Subject: 10 questions for 10th edition - New players
|
 |
[DCM]
Tzeentch's Fan Girl
|
ThePaintingOwl wrote:3: Deep Strike ability: Is it allowed to Deep Strike onto the battlefield in your 1st turn (opposed to 2nd turn onwards for Strategic Reserve)?
No (unless a specific unit explicitly says it may arrive on turn 1).
Depends on the mission being played. For example, the single mission presented in the Core Rules would allow units to arrive via Deep Strike on Turn 1, but not the Leviathan mission pack.
The Core Rules do NOT prohibit Deep Striking on Turn 1.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/07/18 09:44:03
Subject: 10 questions for 10th edition - New players
|
 |
Rogue Grot Kannon Gunna
|
Manfred von Drakken wrote:Depends on the mission being played. For example, the single mission presented in the Core Rules would allow units to arrive via Deep Strike on Turn 1, but not the Leviathan mission pack.
The Core Rules do NOT prohibit Deep Striking on Turn 1.
While technically true virtually all games are played with the matched play missions and the free sample mission from the core rulebook is almost never used.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/07/18 10:57:18
Subject: 10 questions for 10th edition - New players
|
 |
Raging-on-the-Inside Blood Angel Sergeant
netherlands
|
Do remember that transports with no unit inside at the beginning of the batle are destroyed
|
full compagny of bloodangels, 5000 pnt of epic bloodangels
5000 pnt imperial guard
5000 pnt orks
2500 pnt grey knights
5000 pnt gsc
5000 pnts Chaos legionars
4000 pnt tyranids
4000 pnt Tau
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/07/18 11:19:59
Subject: 10 questions for 10th edition - New players
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
skeleton wrote:Do remember that transports with no unit inside at the beginning of the batle are destroyed
Did you mean Dedicated Transport and not just transports ?
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/07/18 21:17:25
Subject: 10 questions for 10th edition - New players
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
I would assume so dr, given only DT have that requirement, not just units with a transport capability
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/07/18 21:21:28
Subject: 10 questions for 10th edition - New players
|
 |
Locked in the Tower of Amareo
|
Yep. Non-dedicated transports can be empty just fine. Automatically Appended Next Post: ThePaintingOwl wrote: Manfred von Drakken wrote:Depends on the mission being played. For example, the single mission presented in the Core Rules would allow units to arrive via Deep Strike on Turn 1, but not the Leviathan mission pack.
The Core Rules do NOT prohibit Deep Striking on Turn 1.
While technically true virtually all games are played with the matched play missions and the free sample mission from the core rulebook is almost never used.
Especially early up it was used up. Also crusade is a thing
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2023/07/18 21:22:11
2024 painted/bought: 109/109 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/07/18 21:56:08
Subject: 10 questions for 10th edition - New players
|
 |
Rogue Grot Kannon Gunna
|
Crusade also has the "no reserves on turn 1" rule.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/07/19 02:57:07
Subject: 10 questions for 10th edition - New players
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Adding my 2 cents. Stansfield wrote:1: When putting units into Strategic Reserve in the Declare Battle Formations step of the setup - can we split a unit into two smaller. Let's say a unit of 20 Termagants split into 10 to Strategic Reserve and the other 10 starts on the battlefield?
(We might be confused by the Combat Patrol - Patrol Squad rule).
Only based on the rules for the datasheets of the units in your army. Note that the Combat Patrol Datasheets are different from the standard rules for many datasheets.
2: Line of Sight and Shooting: Will other units block line of sight (ones own and opponents)?
(If we read it right one can allways shoot if you can see any part of the other model when looking from behind the shooting model. So only Terrain Feautures can block LoS effectively? No shielding weaker units with a tougher one in front?)
Units do not block LOS, but actual models can. A tight enough mob of Infantry models can easily block LOS if they are taller than the viewing and target units. As noted by others, models in the viewing unit can be ignored for LOS purposes for other models in that unit.
3: Deep Strike ability: Is it allowed to Deep Strike onto the battlefield in your 1st turn (opposed to 2nd turn onwards for Strategic Reserve)?
Deep Strike allows any turn, but many scenarios restrict all Reserves until Battle Round 2. Check your scenario rules.
4: Fight Phase: I charged my opponent. He got "Fight First" on that unit. Will he get to attack before me even though I charged him?
Yes. During the Fight First part of the Fight phase, the player who's turn it isn't gets to select the first unit that fights.
5: Number of Attacks: In the Shooting Phase a model can fire all it's ranged weapons but you can only make one Melee Attack in the fight Phase (unless you got a special rule like; Extra Attack - right?
You are only able to use one melee weapon when you fight, with the exception of those with the Extra Attack ability. You have to choose between any melee weapons a model is armed with each time you fight.
6: Do "Transport" units have to start in Strategic Reserve?
(We somehow got this idea - but at the same time we think in as to be stated specifically on the units data sheet if that is the case?)
No. Transports can be deployed or placed in Strategic Reserves as you desire (subject to the applicable rules).
7: Tyranids; Synapse rule: If a model/unit got the Synapse Keyword it can boots 6´´ away units with a 3D6 Battle Shock Test.
( We get confused by all tyranid units got; ABILITIES - FACTION: Synapse on there Data Sheets but for Synapse to work a unit got to have it as a Keyword to "aura" that onto other nearby Faction: Synapse units - right?)
This is confusing. All units with the Synapse ability are allowed make Battleshock test with 3d6 when within 6" of a model with the Synapse keyword.
8: Moving around inside Engagement Range: My opponent would like to move some models setup in Engagement Range. I said only through Pile-In and Consolidate moves - is that correct?
Units within Engagement Range of enemy models are allowed to Fall Back in the Movement phase. They are also allowed to Pile-In and Consolidate in the Fight phase subject to the specific rules for those type of movement.
9: Leader and Bodyguard Units: We are using the lowest Toughness for Wound rolls but do the sam goes for Movement - go for the attached units lowest or do the faster unit boost the others?
The standard rule is all Wound test against a unit are made against he Highest Toughness in the unit. However, the Leader ability stipulates that you ignore the Leader's Toughness and instead roll against the Bodyguards Toughness (which would be the highest Toughness in the Bodyguard unit).
10: Weapon Ability; BLAST: Barbgaunts got Attack: D6. and attacks a unit with 5 models. Do BLAST give D6+1 for every single model (5D6+5) or just +1 for every 5th model?
Each weapon with the Blast ability gains +1 Attack per 5 models in the target unit. Thus if you have 5 Blast weapons attacking a unit of 5 models, each weapon gain 1 attack for a total of 5 additional attacks.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/07/22 06:29:06
Subject: 10 questions for 10th edition - New players
|
 |
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard
|
Stansfield wrote:Hello
I hope you guys can help with some questions that came up during our first couple of Combat Patrol games. We now getting ready to try our first 1000 point battle.
1: When putting units into Strategic Reserve in the Declare Battle Formations step of the setup - can we split a unit into two smaller. Let's say a unit of 20 Termagants split into 10 to Strategic Reserve and the other 10 starts on the battlefield?
(We might be confused by the Combat Patrol - Patrol Squad rule).
Not without a special rule breaking the "normal" like the Sisters of Battle Immolator.
2: Line of Sight and Shooting: Will other units block line of sight (ones own and opponents)?
(If we read it right one can allways shoot if you can see any part of the other model when looking from behind the shooting model. So only Terrain Feautures can block LoS effectively? No shielding weaker units with a tougher one in front?)
Only if the model actually blocks Line of Sight. For example, one Necron Overlord/Gravis Captain/etc standing right behind a Monolith/LandRaider/etc you can't actually see through.
3: Deep Strike ability: Is it allowed to Deep Strike onto the battlefield in your 1st turn (opposed to 2nd turn onwards for Strategic Reserve)?
Deep Strike is Reserves but not Strategic Reserves so yes, unless some other rule interacts.
4: Fight Phase: I charged my opponent. He got "Fight First" on that unit. Will he get to attack before me even though I charged him?
Rulebook wrote:In both steps of the Fight phase, players alternate selecting
eligible units from their army, one at a time, starting with the
player whose turn is not taking place, and fighting with them.
Note that a player cannot pass or opt not to fight when they
have one or more eligible units that could fight – they must
select one of them to fight
Because you charged, it is LIKELY their turn. Your chargers have "Fights First" because they charged. His unit has Fights First because they have Fights First. If you charged because it was a Heroic Intervention it is not your turn. The person who is not playing their active turn gets to choose the first Fights First unit. So if you charged on your turn, they get to pick the first Fights First - if you Heroically Intervened you get to pick the first Fights First.
5: Number of Attacks: In the Shooting Phase a model can fire all it's ranged weapons but you can only make one Melee Attack in the fight Phase (unless you got a special rule like; Extra Attack - right?
You can (generally) use any and all ranged weapons in your shooting phase. In either fight phase you can (generally) use one melee weapon profile (And all the Attacks listed for that weapon/profile). EXTRA ATTACKS weapons are more like tack-on/follow-up drones/aura/type things. You generally don't pick them, they just do things.
6: Do "Transport" units have to start in Strategic Reserve?
(We somehow got this idea - but at the same time we think in as to be stated specifically on the units data sheet if that is the case?)
AIRCRAFT have to start in reserves. TRANSPORTs do not. AIRCRAFT TRANSPORTS do.
7: Tyranids; Synapse rule: If a model/unit got the Synapse Keyword it can boots 6´´ away units with a 3D6 Battle Shock Test.
( We get confused by all tyranid units got; ABILITIES - FACTION: Synapse on there Data Sheets but for Synapse to work a unit got to have it as a Keyword to "aura" that onto other nearby Faction: Synapse units - right?)
This is probably one of the worst written things - they should not have made the Faction Ability and the Keyword the same word. The Synapse FACTION rule refers to a SYNAPSE model which means a Model for a Unit with the Synapse Keyword.
If your Army Faction is Tyranids, while a Tyranids
unit from your army is within 6" of one or more
Synapse models from your army, that unit is said to
be within Synapse Range of your army. Each time a
Tyranids unit from your army takes a Battle-shock
test, if it is within Synapse Range of your army, take
that test on 3D6 instead of 2D6
8: Moving around inside Engagement Range: My opponent would like to move some models setup in Engagement Range. I said only through Pile-In and Consolidate moves - is that correct?
Generally speaking if the model has started in engagement range yes - they can only move through pile-in, consolidate, or Fall Back. AIRCRAFT have their own exemption.
9: Leader and Bodyguard Units: We are using the lowest Toughness for Wound rolls but do the sam goes for Movement - go for the attached units lowest or do the faster unit boost the others?
Nope, each model uses its own M characteristic.
NORMAL MOVES
When a unit makes a Normal move, each model in that unit
can move a distance in inches less than or equal to its Move (M)
characteristic, but no model can be moved within Engagement
Range of any enemy models (pg 7)
10: Weapon Ability; BLAST: Barbgaunts got Attack: D6. and attacks a unit with 5 models. Do BLAST give D6+1 for every single model (5D6+5) or just +1 for every 5th model?
Blast provides +1A to a weapon with blast for each full 5 models in the target unit.
So if your Barbgaunts shoot:
3 Aggressors and one Captain, they get D6 each.
5 Intercessors they get D6+1
6 Aggressors they get D6+1
10 Tactical Marines they get D6+2
10 Tactical Marines, plus 1 Captain, and 1 Lieutenant they get D6+2
another way- Target Unit Size:
0-4 = 0 Bonus per shooter
5-9 = 1 bonus per shooter
10-14 = 2 bonus per shooter.
15-19 = 3 bonus per shooter
20-24 = 4 Bonus per shooter
25+ I'm not sure you can even get here.
Thanks for reading!
|
My WHFB armies were Bretonians and Tomb Kings. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/07/25 15:39:20
Subject: Re:10 questions for 10th edition - New players
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Thanks for all your great answers! Helps a lot
Some more questions popped up during last combat patrol game.
11: Terminators are in engagement range(E.R.) of two units (A and B). Can the terminators Pile In towards unit B – leaving unit A’s E.R. to get more melee attacks on unit B or can it only Fall Back to leave E.R of unit A?
12: The tyranid stratagem: Teeming Broods. Do that put the in Strategic Reserve right away – so the unit can actually be deployed right away – or do it have to wait for the next round? And do the stratagems EFFECT numbers get ½ when used on a x10 unit?
13: Benefit of Cover: A single model of a 5 x unit of Barbgaunts is fully within 3´´ of a Fuel Pipe. Do the entire unit get benefit of cover or just the single model?
(We suddenly got confused about a single model in cover versus the effect on the unit.)
14: Any good advice for Space Marines (Strike Force Octavius) players against Tyranids in a Combat Patrol game?
It feels like it’s almost impossible to get enough objectives to win since Space Marines got 4 units against 5-6 tyranids units (patrol squad split up or not).
It is worth to mention that tyranids have won the “who goes first” every time (four games now) and gain ground insanely fast tagging objectives. 2-3 markers in range at the start of turn two.
And Barbgaunts just nuking the Infernus Squad to pieces (We have added more Terrain to break Line of Sight –helped a bit).
And Termagants got OC 2 – so they just swarm the marker - and Battleline-tag it cause of the Combat Patrol special rule (CORE p. 207) and move on if needed. Space Marines can of cause use 1CP and do the same using Stratagem: Duty & Honor.
… a Dreadnought would have been useful of just one more unit of random infantry.
… or the Combat Doctrines for Marines to gain some ground.
… We have tried a lot of Deep Strike tactics … but arriving in turn 2 (maybe Rapid Ingress in a bit before) 9´´ from nearest unit is still not cutting it. The Battlefield is quite small and 9´´ to every unit can make your Deep Strike land quite far away.
15: Is allowed to make a Fall Back move and then Pile In 3´´ to get to fight another close by unit (now that you can't Shoot or Charge)?
Hope you can help with some tactical advice and rules clarification
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2023/07/25 15:55:09
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/07/25 17:00:11
Subject: 15 questions for 10th edition - Five new questions 11-15.
|
 |
Locked in the Tower of Amareo
|
11: only if unit be was closer than unit a. Cann't move away from closest.
13: only model in cover gets bonus. Those outside don't.
15: pile in allowed only if you charged or started within 11" of enemy
|
2024 painted/bought: 109/109 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/07/25 21:26:18
Subject: 15 questions for 10th edition - Five new questions 11-15.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
15 when you fall back you must not end in engagement range
As you have not charged and are not in engagement range, you cannot pile in as you do not meet either prerequisite to do so.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/07/26 04:50:52
Subject: Re:10 questions for 10th edition - New players
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Stansfield wrote:11: Terminators are in engagement range(E.R.) of two units (A and B). Can the terminators Pile In towards unit B – leaving unit A’s E.R. to get more melee attacks on unit B or can it only Fall Back to leave E.R of unit A?
Each model that Piles-In must move closer to the closest enemy model while keeping all models of the unit in Unit Coherency. Therefore it is theoretically possible, but not very likely that you can move all models of your unit far enough away from Unit A to get out of Engagement Range of Unit B.
12: The tyranid stratagem: Teeming Broods. Do that put the in Strategic Reserve right away – so the unit can actually be deployed right away – or do it have to wait for the next round? And do the stratagems EFFECT numbers get ½ when used on a x10 unit?
As this stratagem is used during the Reinforcement step of your Movement phase, you can immediately deploy the unit from Strategic Reserves. If it happened at the end of Reinforcement step or the end of the Movement phase, you would need to wait until your next turn.
13: Benefit of Cover: A single model of a 5 x unit of Barbgaunts is fully within 3´´ of a Fuel Pipe. Do the entire unit get benefit of cover or just the single model?
(We suddenly got confused about a single model in cover versus the effect on the unit.)
Page 45 of the Core Rules states for Barricades and Fuel Pipes states:
BENEFIT OF COVER
Each time a ranged attack is allocated to an Infantrymodel that is wholly within 3" of this terrain feature, if that model is not fully visible to every model in the attacking unit because of this terrain feature, that model has the Benefit of Cover against that attack. 14: Any good advice for Space Marines (Strike Force Octavius) players against Tyranids in a Combat Patrol game?
It feels like it’s almost impossible to get enough objectives to win since Space Marines got 4 units against 5-6 tyranids units (patrol squad split up or not).
It is worth to mention that tyranids have won the “who goes first” every time (four games now) and gain ground insanely fast tagging objectives. 2-3 markers in range at the start of turn two.
And Barbgaunts just nuking the Infernus Squad to pieces (We have added more Terrain to break Line of Sight –helped a bit).
And Termagants got OC 2 – so they just swarm the marker - and Battleline-tag it cause of the Combat Patrol special rule (CORE p. 207) and move on if needed. Space Marines can of cause use 1CP and do the same using Stratagem: Duty & Honor.
… a Dreadnought would have been useful of just one more unit of random infantry.
… or the Combat Doctrines for Marines to gain some ground.
… We have tried a lot of Deep Strike tactics … but arriving in turn 2 (maybe Rapid Ingress in a bit before) 9´´ from nearest unit is still not cutting it. The Battlefield is quite small and 9´´ to every unit can make your Deep Strike land quite far away.
No real advice other than remember the Overwatch from the Infernus Squad is brutal since Torrent means they automatically hit. 5d6 S5 hits will brutalize any unit in the Tyranid Combat Patrol. You just need to manage to get one to move within 12" of you during their Movement Phase. 15: Is allowed to make a Fall Back move and then Pile In 3´´ to get to fight another close by unit (now that you can't Shoot or Charge)?
If you Fall Back, you can't end your move in Engagement Range of any enemy models. You therefore cannot Pile In because you are not eligible to fight.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/07/26 05:13:50
Subject: Re:15 questions for 10th edition - Five new questions 11-15.
|
 |
Fully-charged Electropriest
|
11.
Every model that moves must end closer to the closest
enemy model, and in base-to-base contact with an enemy
model if possible. The unit must end in Unit Coherency and
within Engagement Range of at least one enemy unit (or no
models can Pile In).
Each model that you choose to pile in with must move towards the closest enemy model. If you are within the ER of at least two units it is likely that one model is closer to unit A and must either not move or pile in to that unit. If all the models are closer to unit B then yes you can do this.
12. If the unit you target with this stratagem has been destroyed the new unit created is immediately placed in strategic reserves. The mission you are playing will state when and if a unit can arrive from strategic reserves (most often it is not allowed in the first battle round) and if is allowed for a unit to arrive from strategic reserves then you can have that unit arrive immediately. The amount of models returned to the unit are not based on the number of models that are in the unit. It is always as in the effect up to the maximum number the unit can have, if you split it then the max is ten.
13. Each time a ranged attack is allocated to an Infantry
model that is wholly within 3" of this terrain feature,
if that model is not fully visible to every model in the
attacking unit because of this terrain feature, that model
has the Benefit of Cover against that attack.
Cover is done on a model by model basis. If you allocate an attack to the model in cover you get a cover bonus if you do not then no.
15. If you fall back you must end outside of engagement range of all enemy units. Unless you have a special rule that allows it that unit can not shoot or charge again to reenter engagement range to allow you to pile in.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/07/27 20:50:35
Subject: Re:15 questions for 10th edition - Five new questions 11-15.
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Thanks for helping out guys!
16. A new Combat patrol is going on tomorrow - but can a unit with Deep Strike enter in turn 1?
(guess not - CORE p. 207, Declare Battle Formation) or does that only apply to Strategic Reserves?
16,a: And how many points a allowed for Strategic Reserve in a Combat Patrol game?
(We think 125 points might be right since the other games types is 1/4 amount of points)
16,b: So a Space Marine combat patrol can but the Infernus Squad in Strategic Reserve (90 points x5 models) and the Captain,Libarian and Terminators in Deep Strike Reserve (they don't count towards maximum reserve points).
So actually starting with no units on the battlefield i turn one?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2023/07/27 20:50:52
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/07/27 21:41:32
Subject: Re:15 questions for 10th edition - Five new questions 11-15.
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
These are covered in the DECLARE BATTLE FORMATIONS section of the Combat Patrol rules.
DECLARE BATTLE FORMATIONS
In the order stated below, both players now secretly note down:
■ Which of their units will form Patrol Squads. Many units in Combat Patrols have the Patrol Squads ability listed on their datasheets. This lets you split them into two or more smaller units for the duration of the battle. If a unit has this ability, it will detail exactly how the unit must be split up and which models must appear in which of those new units. If you want any of these units to use their Patrol Squads ability, do so now.
■ Which of their Leader units will start the battle attached (they must specify which Leader unit is attached to which Bodyguard unit).
■ Which of their units will start the battle embarked within Transport models (they must specify which units are embarked on which models).
■ Which of their units will start the battle in Reserves. This typically applies to units that have the Deep Strike ability listed on their datasheet.
When both players have done so, they declare their selections to their opponent.
In a Combat Patrol game, Reserves units can never arrive on the battlefield in the first battle round. Any Reserves unit that has not arrived on the battlefield by the end of the third battle round counts as having been destroyed, as do any units embarked within them.
These rules give no provision for placing a unit into Strategic Reserves before the game starts. It also specifically forbids Reserves arriving during the first battle round.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/07/28 05:04:17
Subject: Re:15 questions for 10th edition - Five new questions 11-15.
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
alextroy wrote:These are covered in the DECLARE BATTLE FORMATIONS section of the Combat Patrol rules.
DECLARE BATTLE FORMATIONS
In the order stated below, both players now secretly note down:
■ Which of their units will form Patrol Squads. Many units in Combat Patrols have the Patrol Squads ability listed on their datasheets. This lets you split them into two or more smaller units for the duration of the battle. If a unit has this ability, it will detail exactly how the unit must be split up and which models must appear in which of those new units. If you want any of these units to use their Patrol Squads ability, do so now.
■ Which of their Leader units will start the battle attached (they must specify which Leader unit is attached to which Bodyguard unit).
■ Which of their units will start the battle embarked within Transport models (they must specify which units are embarked on which models).
■ Which of their units will start the battle in Reserves. This typically applies to units that have the Deep Strike ability listed on their datasheet.
When both players have done so, they declare their selections to their opponent.
In a Combat Patrol game, Reserves units can never arrive on the battlefield in the first battle round. Any Reserves unit that has not arrived on the battlefield by the end of the third battle round counts as having been destroyed, as do any units embarked within them.
These rules give no provision for placing a unit into Strategic Reserves before the game starts. It also specifically forbids Reserves arriving during the first battle round.
Ahhh - I think I got it now. Since the Combat Patrol Rules says "Reserve" only and do not say "Strategic Reserve" it's only Deep Strike units that can start off the battlefield and can't arrive in turn 1 since they count as a Reserve unit.
And since the CORE p. 43, Strategic Reserve do not say anything about maximum of points for Combat patrol - Combat Patrols can't use the Strategic Reserve rule, right? Guess it makes sense since the armies a quite small.
The wording "Reserve" versus "Strategic Reserve" is what confuses us.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/07/28 14:51:28
Subject: Re:15 questions for 10th edition - Five new questions 11-15.
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Exactly. I believe a few of the Combat Patrols include ways to put units in Strategic Reserves, but those are specific cases.
|
|
 |
 |
|