Switch Theme:

Infantry keyword and Lord Invocatus  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Fresh-Faced New User




I've looked into WE rules and noticed an interesting thing. Lord Invocatus can give Scout 6'' to two Infantry Units and has it himself, the idea being him bringing more troops to his fast assault. Thing is, he isn't infantry, but mounted, so if you attach him, you basically lose his Scout, because you can't give its unit Scout as well 'cause not all of them are Infantry!

So, the question is, does Lord Invocatus get Infantry keyword because he's attached to infantry unit and can he use this ability on himself? If so, does this also work on Juggernaut Lord when he's attached to units? Because if yes, you could make some fast assaults with them attached to Berzerkers, what with rerolling all charge, advance AND BloodSurge rolls.

Thanks in advance
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




A unit gains all the keywords. You don't lose infantry, you gain mounted. So the combined unit is infantry and mounted, and thus meets the condition of being infantry
   
Made in gb
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot




UK

nosferatu1001 wrote:
A unit gains all the keywords. You don't lose infantry, you gain mounted. So the combined unit is infantry and mounted, and thus meets the condition of being infantry
Yes to all of this. And to add some clarity from WE specific examples:
*A lone Juggernaut Lord cannot be targeted by Invocatus to grant scout
*A Juggernaut Lord leading a unit of Berzerkers is a combined infantry/mounted unit, so can be targeted by Invocatus for a scout move
*Invocatus on his own can scout
*Invocatus with Eightbound can still scout (both units have the scout ability)
*Invocatus leading any other unit loses his natural scout ability, but can target his own unit to give the whole unit the scout ability as they are a combined infantry/mounted keyword unit
   
Made in fr
Locked in the Tower of Amareo





Unit has all the keywords of all models. Models have keywords for that model. Some rules depeed on unit having keyword, model having keyword or all models in unit havlng keyword.

As long as you remember units gain keywords, not models and read relevant rules rather than assume it works like other rules it's not that hard.

Problems come if you assume models gain keywords when leader joins or don't read rule properly

2024 painted/bought: 109/109 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: