Switch Theme:

Combat Patrol end game question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in dk
Fresh-Faced New User




Hello guys

Combat Scenario: "Clash of Patrols".

Tyranids got no models left at the start of the 5th turn.
Tyranids started second so they get to make points and the end of the 5th turn.
Tyanids got 1 CP.

- Can the Tyranids use Teeming Broods stratagem - even though all tyranid models are destroyed - and deploy 6´´ from any edge and thereby "cap" a single objective. Since they can deploy close enough to be within 3´´?

If you can use a stratagem (without an army on the table) the tyranid player wins by getting+5 points even though the Warlord and the rest are wiped out.
   
Made in nl
Raging-on-the-Inside Blood Angel Sergeant




netherlands

Write down the rules, statagem, down so we can see what it does. thank you.

full compagny of bloodangels, 5000 pnt of epic bloodangels
5000 pnt imperial guard
5000 pnt orks
2500 pnt grey knights
5000 pnt gsc
5000 pnts Chaos legionars
4000 pnt tyranids
4000 pnt Tau
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Does the Strat require any models on the table?
Do the game rules state the game ends immediately when one side is wiped out?
   
Made in dk
Fresh-Faced New User




All right - I'll try to be a bit more precise.

Stratagem in question:

"TEEMING BROODS

THE VARDENGHAST SWARM – STRATEGIC PLOY STRATAGEM
Numerous, expendable and seemingly without number, fresh
waves of Termagants flow into battle by the minute.

WHEN: The Reinforcements step of your Movement phase.

TARGET: One Termagants unit from your army. You can use this
Stratagem on that unit even if it is destroyed.

EFFECT: If your unit is not destroyed, return up to D6 destroyed
models to it. Otherwise, add a new unit to your army identical
to your destroyed unit, in Strategic Reserves, containing
2D6 models."

Rules for END THE BATTLE in a Combat Patrol game:
The battle ends after five battle rounds have
been completed. If one player has no models
remaining in their army at the start of their turn,
the other player may continue to play out their turns
until the battle ends.

A: ... so the confusion is all about if the tyranid player gets to act as the player going second in the fifth round. The rules somewhat state that a player without models can't act and the other player may continue his turn. In our case the first player is all ready done.
So can the tyranid player even use stratagens or anything?

B: If the tyranid player CAN act can you deploy a unit from strategic reserves in the same round it got placed in strategic reserves (by using "Teeming Broods")?
   
Made in ca
Fully-charged Electropriest






From the way it is written there is nothing that says that if a player has no models on the board they automatically lose, only that the other player can still take their turn and score points the player with no models still takes their turn just nothing happens.
The way the stratagem is written I see nothing that would prevent a player from using it. Is there a rule that says that a unit placed in strategic reserves can not be placed on the board in the same turn?
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

I can locate no rule that prevents a unit from arriving from Strategic Reserves in the same Reinforcement Phase it is placed into Strategic Reserves.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Seems an entirely legit and intended play.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




The rules for having no models on the table are weirdly written and seem to state that only the player that has models left can continue to play, which suggests the player with no models doesn't get to take their turns at all. I'm fairly sure that's not intended, but it is how the rule is written. It also says the other player "may" play out their turns, suggesting they can decline to do so if they are already winning. It's not a very well written rule, TBH.

Depending on whether you agree with the above or not, The Teeming Broods rule would allow the Nid player to deploy a new unit in the last tun of the game, yes.
   
Made in dk
Fresh-Faced New User




Thank you for your answers guys!
The use of the stratagem should be allowed but wether the player is allowed to do it is very unclear.
As I read the "End of the Battle" part a player with no models is done doing anything and the player with models may act if he wants to.
Badly written rule.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The rule doesn't say the players with no models cannot do anything. It just grants an allowance for the opposing player to play out the turns. Technically that allowance isn't needed - the game rules already allow it.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: