Switch Theme:

DG Helbrute's "Infused with the Blessings of Nurgle" after it's been destroyed?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Beast of Nurgle





I suspect I'm being an idiot, my brain really isn't clicking with 10th Edition. However my question is...

The Death Guard Helbrute has the ability "Infused with the Blessings of Nurgle".

This states (after the errata):
Each time this model is selected to shoot or fight, after it has finished making its attacks, select one enemy unit that was hit by one or more of those attacks. Until the start of your next turn, that enemy unit is always considered to be within Contagion Range of this model.

What happens if the Helbrute dies before the start of my next turn? The model has gone, it should have no effect on the game any more, but the rule does state "until the start of your next turn", which a part of my head is saying means that the normal effects of being dead and gone are overridden and the targeted model stays infected with the goo that the Helbrute flung at it.

But that's nonsense isn't it?

My Helbrute dies, the effect is no more.

   
Made in ca
Fully-charged Electropriest






It says that "until the start of your next turn that enemy unit is always considered to be within Contagion Range of this model."

If the Helbrute is destroyed the unit no longer has a Contagion range and the targeted unit is no longer under the effect.
   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

 KingGarland wrote:
It says that "until the start of your next turn that enemy unit is always considered to be within Contagion Range of this model."

If the Helbrute is destroyed the unit no longer has a Contagion range and the targeted unit is no longer under the effect.
I can see this reading, and it's what I'd go with. But I think it'd be worth emailing GW and seeing what their intent is, for what it's worth.

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

There can’t be a Contagion range if the model is dead.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: