Switch Theme:

TOW Rules Question - Can a character riding a monstrous creature join a unit.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Hello All,

I tried looking for the rule in the book and forums but couldn't find a rule. Can a character riding a monstrous creature join an infantry unit?

Thanks
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Good question! A character on a ridden monster counts it's type as the mount's sub-type. So the unit a monster and therefore cannot join units (see pg. 204 and 205).
   
Made in fi
Space Marine Scout with Sniper Rifle



Finland

Perhaps no need for an own thread for this,:

Is a 'drilled' unit able to make a free redress the ranks manouvre before a charge?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
...and also: Can a battle srandard bearer fight with a two handed weapon?

I'm guessing no but I saw this in a video...

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2024/01/30 20:25:19


 
   
Made in au
Noise Marine Terminator with Sonic Blaster





Melbourne

Trickster12 wrote:
Perhaps no need for an own thread for this,:

Is a 'drilled' unit able to make a free redress the ranks manouvre before a charge?


This is highly contentious at the moment. It basically boils down to whether being in a formation that doesn't allow a charge move means that the "before a move" step doesn't exist.

My personal view is that it's a process flow, so you don't check if they are allowed to charge until the move chargers step, so therefore the "before a move" opportunity does exist. Others will disagree.

It has been alleged that the designers were allowing it at the open day, but there was no supporting evidence to that claim.

Trickster12 wrote:
Automatically Appended Next Post:
...and also: Can a battle srandard bearer fight with a two handed weapon?

I'm guessing no but I saw this in a video...


I can't see anything preventing a BS from using a two-handed weapon (I think the fluff justification is it is assumed they plant the flag pole in the ground).

Ex-Mantic Rules Committees: Kings of War, Warpath
"The Emperor is obviously not a dictator, he's a couch."
Starbuck: "Why can't we use the starboard launch bays?"
Engineer: "Because it's a gift shop!" 
   
Made in fi
Space Marine Scout with Sniper Rifle



Finland

Thanks for the answers!
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: