Switch Theme:

Can models overhang the edge of the battlefield?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Fresh-Faced New User




The hull is defined as any part of that model or its base if it has one. Models can overhang the edge of the battlefield as long as the models base or hull is wholly on the battlefield. If any part of the model or its base has to be wholly on the battlefield it cannot overhang the edge of battlefield. Can anyone please explain to me how this is meant ?

Q: Can models overhang the edge of the battlefield?
A: Yes, as long as the model’s base or hull (see ‘Hull’ in the Rules Commentary) is wholly on the battlefield.

Hull: When measuring to and from VEHICLES (excluding WALKER models that have a base) and models that do not have a base, measure to and from the hull, which means any part of that model (or its base, if it has one) that is closest to the point being measured from or to. Note that this may not correspond literally with the area on a vehicle usually termed the hull (see VEHICLES WITH BASES).
   
Made in ru
Elite Tyranid Warrior






For vehicle/monster without base if it cross the edge with any parts it's mean it's crossed the edge. There example with Valkyrie.
If model have base, even if any of it's parts outside the edge, while base don't cross the edge model don't cross the edge
[Thumb - IMG_20250921_231847.jpg]

[Thumb - IMG_20250921_231754.jpg]

   
Made in de
Fresh-Faced New User




Thank you. What i dont understand is how a model without a base can overhang the edge of the battlefield, but only if its hull (which is any part of the model) is wholly on the battlefield.
   
Made in ru
Elite Tyranid Warrior






There's a stupid GW wording they just made comment for both based and models without base. Since ANY part of model without base is a hull(looks like even antennas or guns also is part of hull), once ANY part of model cross edge it's count model cross edge.

My Plog feel free to post your criticism here 
   
Made in us
Da Head Honcho Boss Grot





Minnesota

Yeah it's probably an oversight on GW's part.

Traditionally the "hull" didn't include things like gun barrels or flags; that's why it was called "the hull" and not just "the model". So a Russ could have the tip of its battlecannon overhanging as long as the treads were on the table. Now it seems they've removed that but are for some reason calling the entire model "the hull" (which is not what that word means..).

So the rule has confusing phrasing because it's a holdover from the old version.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2025/09/22 13:31:16


Anuvver fing - when they do sumfing, they try to make it look like somfink else to confuse everybody. When one of them wants to lord it over the uvvers, 'e says "I'm very speshul so'z you gotta worship me", or "I know summink wot you lot don't know, so yer better lissen good". Da funny fing is, arf of 'em believe it and da over arf don't, so 'e 'as to hit 'em all anyway or run fer it.
 
   
Made in de
Fresh-Faced New User




So the question remains unanswered, can a model without a base overhang the edge of the battlefield or not ?
   
Made in us
Pious Warrior Priest






Tapping the Glass at the Herpetarium

LaurentLamar wrote:
So the question remains unanswered, can a model without a base overhang the edge of the battlefield or not ?



The only answer I have is from a very specific tourney and a specific model.

My opponent had one of the giant Ork Stompas and he was told by a judge that it's arms could not hang off the table edge.

That's all I can tell you all my Knights have bases.

 BorderCountess wrote:
Just because you're doing something right doesn't necessarily mean you know what you're doing...


My Gladitorium Fighters WarCry Models: https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/817696.page#11784325

 
   
Made in ru
Elite Tyranid Warrior






Hull description mean that with current rules and commentary model without base can't overhang table's edge

My Plog feel free to post your criticism here 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: