Switch Theme:

Harlequin strats  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in fi
Fresh-Faced New User




If I use Staged death on a character, can I then use Exit the stage when it revives?
The return to battlefield and Exit the stage happen at the same time.

Staged death:
WHEN: Any phase.

TARGET: One HARLEQUINS CHARACTER model from your army that was just destroyed. You can use this Stratagem on that model even though it was just destroyed.

EFFECT: At the end of the phase, set your model back up on the battlefield as close as possible to where it was destroyed and not within Engagement Range of any enemy units, with half of its starting number of wounds remaining.

RESTRICTIONS: Each model can only be targeted with this Stratagem once per battle.

Exit the stage:
WHEN: End of your opponent’s Fight phase.

TARGET: One HARLEQUINS unit from your army that is not within Engagement Range of one or more enemy units.

EFFECT: Remove your unit from the battlefield and place it into Strategic Reserves.
   
Made in de
Fresh-Faced New User




You can if its your turn, because of the sequencing rule. As both happen at the same time you choose the order how to resolve them.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Well, Exit the Stage specifies that it happens on the opponent's turn, so you'll never be using both strats on your own turn.

I feel like effects that happen "at the end of a phase" are kind of implied to extend that phase while you resolve them. Which would then mean that you'd set your model up as you resolve Staged Death, and then be free to use Exit the Stage to pick the model back up when the phase "ends again."

But that's me going off of vibes rather than specific citations.

Part of it probably depends on whether the "end of a phase" is an ongoing period of time or a hard and fast specific point in time where a bunch of stuff has to be declared.

Like, setting a model up as part of Staged Death is a process that happens "at the end of the phase." Between that process potentially taking multiple seconds to resolve and the fact that multiple effects can all be resolved "at the end of the phase", that implies to me that the end of the phase is considered to be a period of time rather than a specific instance.

Which would then mean you'd theoretically be free to declare you're using a stratagem at any point within that period of time. The same way you can choose any point during the shooting phase to trigger a strat that says "during the shooting phase."

EDIT: If we treat the "end of the phase" as a single instant where everything happens at once, it would kind of suggest that you couldn't have multiple effects happen at the end of the phase, right? Because your opponent would get to choose the order in which they're resolved, implying that there is sequencing to it, and thus there must be multiple "moments"/points in time at which those things happen/are resolved.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2025/11/05 22:24:07



ATTENTION
. Psychic tests are unfluffy. Your longing for AV is understandable but misguided. Your chapter doesn't need a separate codex. Doctrines should go away. Being a "troop" means nothing. This has been a cranky service announcement. You may now resume your regularly scheduled arguing.
 
   
Made in ru
Dipping With Wood Stain






End of the Phase/Step: Rules that specify that they take place at
the end of a phase/step only take effect after any other rules that
would take place in that phase/step have been resolved. This means
that it is not possible for a player to make use of any rules that would
take place during a phase/step once an end-of-phase rule has taken
effect. The next phase/step does not start until after all such rules
have been resolved (for rules used at the end of the Command phase,
see Rules Used at the End of the Command Phase).

Virtually commentary text said we resolve all rules which can be used at the end of phase before moving to next phase.
So we can use both stratagems at the end of opponents fight phase


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Active player(the one which turn is now) choose order only in rules affect same characteristic, or if rulus optional Waaagh! For example then active player decide first if he gonna use rule. If rules are not in players turn deployment for example then roll-off.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2025/11/05 23:27:26


My Plog feel free to post your criticism here 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: