Switch Theme:

Biting Blade and multiple wounds  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




The Biting Blade (Eldar codex) says that its special ability kicks in when it affects a model with more than 1 wound.

Is this 1 wound maximum or 1 wound current?

For example, let's say that Karandras with a Biting Blade charges a Space Marine Chaplain. The Chaplain has already been wounded and has only 1 wound left. If Karandras uses his Biting Blade, can he continue making wound rolls against the Chaplain since it is a multiple wound model, or can it not because it only has 1 wound left?

If the latter, it would seem *better* to have something with 2 wounds only face Karandras with 1 wound, so they only have to roll (statistically) 2 saves instead of 6 or 7.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




No ideas on this one? It does matter whether the Chaplain makes 2 saves or 6, after all
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


The answer is: an enemy model must have more than one wound currently for the biting blade's special rules to kick in.

Page 27 of the rulebook makes it clear that when a multi-wound creature loses a wound it loses a wound. That wound is gone.

Unless the biting blade (or similar special rule) specified that it counts the number of wounds on a creature's profile (as the CC outnumbering rules do, for example), the number of wounds a creature has will always be the current amount it actually has.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: