Switch Theme:

Space wolves venerable dreadnought  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




OK, so I play 40k against this guy who has space wolves. Whenever I have played him, and he chooses a venerable dreadnought, he has forced his opponents to re-roll dice for initiative.  Example: I am playing against a space wolves player and we roll initiative. I get a six he gets a five. He makes me reroll and then I get a four. He goes first.

I recently picked up a copy of the space wolves codex( 2nd printing) and as far as I can tell, the only person who could get a re-roll is the space wolves player. Example: I am playing a space wolves player and on the initiative roll I get a six and he gets a five. from my reading of the rules, only he could re-roll to try and get a six, but could not force me to re-roll any dice.

Could anyone tell me if:

I am right or wrong.

They have seen this before.

If there is an FAQ out there that changes what I have in my codex.

If I am just interpereting the rule wrong.

Thanks folks!

   
Made in us
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch






Can you post the wording of the rule? Our local player rerolls his own die and I seem to remember this being correct when I checked it but that was a while ago.

   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Los Angeles, CA

The space wolf ven allows the wolf player to re-roll HIS role to see who goes first. He cant force you to reroll yours.

Make him reread his rules.

Call me The Master of Strategy

Warhammer
Army Strategy
Unit Strategy 
   
Made in us
Mounted Kroot Tracker







I'm not sure what the venerable dreadnought rules for space wolves are, word for word, but this what the kroothawk totem wargear for a Kroot Merc army says:

"You may reroll the dice to see who goes first."

I think it could be interpreted either way, especially since they used the word dice rather than die.  But when I use that wargear I only reroll my own die because there is nothing in the rules that says you may ever roll an opponent's.

- Oaka


   
Made in us
Ferocious Blood Claw



Houston, TX

As a long time space wolf player I can assure you that your friend is wrong. He would only be allowed to reroll his die in an attempt to beat what you got. I don't have the book in front of me so I cant qoute directly, but that is what it says.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Standing outside Jester's house demanding the things he took from my underwear drawer.

Only the Wolves player is allowed a reroll as it says: "If an army includes one then it may reroll the dice to determine......."

I've seen the Reaper Exarch with both weapon options and both look like things you can buy in sex shops. A weapon should not look like this, not even a Emperor's Children weapon. -Symbio Joe 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: