Switch Theme:

Can maledictions be used on flyers?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Abandon wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
 Abandon wrote:
A malediction is curse. That's not quite 'falling upon with force or arms'
But it fits perfectly into this part of the definition.

" to join battle with, assail, assault. "

You definitely assail the enemy with a curse.


Wrong again. To assail is to cause sudden and violent physical or emotional harm.

Not according to the dictionary.

Assail means "make a concerted or violent attack on:"

and of course attack means "take aggressive military action against "

Maledictions, specifically OM, does that.


http://oxforddictionaries.com/definition/english/assail?q=Assail
http://oxforddictionaries.com/definition/english/attack?q=Attack

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/03/11 04:55:18


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Eureka California

 Lord Krungharr wrote:
Maledictions do not roll to hit the target, therefore they do not hit automatically. Maledictions are not attacks. They are effects, just like Blessings. Both Blessings and Maledictions can target and effect Zooming Flyers and Swooping Monstrous Creatures.

The real question is can vehicles Deny The Witch?


Agreed and yes.

"If a psychic power is targeted on an enemy unit, and the Psychic test is passed, the target can attempt to Deny the witch before the psychic power is resolved."
Edit: page 68 BRB

So long as the target is an enemy unit they can attempt to deny the witch.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 DeathReaper wrote:
 Abandon wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
 Abandon wrote:
A malediction is curse. That's not quite 'falling upon with force or arms'
But it fits perfectly into this part of the definition.

" to join battle with, assail, assault. "

You definitely assail the enemy with a curse.


Wrong again. To assail is to cause sudden and violent physical or emotional harm.

Not according to the dictionary.

Assail means "make a concerted or violent attack on:"

and of course attack means "take aggressive military action against "

Maledictions, specifically OM, does that.


http://oxforddictionaries.com/definition/english/assail?q=Assail
http://oxforddictionaries.com/definition/english/attack?q=Attack


You realize you just said that attack means assail which means "make a concerted or violent attack on:" which means attack which means "take aggressive military action against".

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/03/11 05:03:47


-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





The specific Malediction in question absolutely hits automatically - since one of its effects is to cause a hit and there's no to-hit roll...

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Eureka California

to 'hit' and to 'cause a hit' are not the same. Maledictions to not 'hit' as they are not permitted to do so in the rules. The effect they have may cause a hit. Hallucination may cause a unit to take hits but that does not mean the power 'hit' them in any way. It simply effected them.

-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





A direct effect of the power is that the vehicle suffers a hit.
That's completely different from an indirect effect of the power Hallucination.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Abandon wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
 Abandon wrote:


Wrong again. To assail is to cause sudden and violent physical or emotional harm.

Not according to the dictionary.

Assail means "make a concerted or violent attack on:"

and of course attack means "take aggressive military action against "

Maledictions, specifically OM, does that.

http://oxforddictionaries.com/definition/english/assail?q=Assail
http://oxforddictionaries.com/definition/english/attack?q=Attack

You realize you just said that attack means assail which means "make a concerted or violent attack on:" which means attack which means "take aggressive military action against".

Actually, if you follow the links provided, you will see that I was not the one who said that. The Dictionary defines it that way.

P.S.
I said assail means this, then I gave the dictionary definition of assail, which includes the word attack.

I then said attack means this, then I gave the dictionary definition of attack complete with sources.

I never said "attack means assail", I simply referenced the dictionary definitions of each.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/11 05:39:21


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

I'll say that to assail can mean attack.
In fact the news uses it in that manner all the time in the UK and Ireland. Assailant is used just as much as attacker too.

So the dictionary and the common usage in the UK(the only one that actually matters in discussions of 40k), equate an attack with "Take aggressive action against (a place or enemy forces) with weapons or armed force"
Aggressive action is any action up to and including the physical. So yes a malediction is an aggressive action taken against an enemy force with a weapon of sorts.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/11 05:52:25


It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Eureka California

Yes. Does not change that maledictions do not hit though in this case their effect may cause the unit to 'take a hit'.

-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

 Abandon wrote:
Yes. Does not change that maledictions do not hit though in this case their effect may cause the unit to 'take a hit'.

They hit automatically.

Jotww doesn't roll to hit but it most definitely hits. If the effect doesn't "hit" how does it target and effect a unit?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/11 05:57:28


It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




 liturgies of blood wrote:
 Abandon wrote:
Yes. Does not change that maledictions do not hit though in this case their effect may cause the unit to 'take a hit'.

They hit automatically.

Jotww doesn't roll to hit but it most definitely hits. If the effect doesn't "hit" how does it target and effect a unit?


Jotww is not a malediction.
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

Jaws is a beam witchfire power, one of the things that are stated to not affect zooming flyers.

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 PrinceRaven wrote:
Jaws is a beam witchfire power, one of the things that are stated to not affect zooming flyers.


JotWW is not a beam withfire. It is a witchfire with its own special rules.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

As per happy.

I was arguing by analogy, not everything that doesn't roll to hit is not an attack. If it hits automatically and inflicts damage then why is it not subject to hard to hit?

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

I'd like an answer on this. I think both sides have some weighty arguments.

I'm particularly interested because, if Maledictions cannot "auto-hit" Flyers/FMCs, then Blessings cannot either. (And I do like twin-linking my Daemon Prince.)

So keep arguing people!

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Elric Greywolf wrote:
I'd like an answer on this. I think both sides have some weighty arguments.

I'm particularly interested because, if Maledictions cannot "auto-hit" Flyers/FMCs, then Blessings cannot either. (And I do like twin-linking my Daemon Prince.)

So keep arguing people!

Except blessings never allocate hits, so they aren't valid comparisons.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

rigeld2 wrote:
Elric Greywolf wrote:
I'd like an answer on this. I think both sides have some weighty arguments.

I'm particularly interested because, if Maledictions cannot "auto-hit" Flyers/FMCs, then Blessings cannot either. (And I do like twin-linking my Daemon Prince.)

So keep arguing people!

Except blessings never allocate hits, so they aren't valid comparisons.


What about the power that let's you roll on the CSM Boon table, isn't that a Blessing?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Not knowing the CSM codex I can't say.
Still not comparable IMO though because the power isn't allocating the hit - the table is.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





rigeld2 wrote:
Not knowing the CSM codex I can't say.
Still not comparable IMO though because the power isn't allocating the hit - the table is.


Boon of Mutation does "hit" the target and it is a Blessing but you can only target a friendly Character, so no go on Helldrakes.

But would be interesting to consider if it can cast on a friendly FMC? Does the hit auto miss if the FMC is "Swooping" or can you even target the "Swooper"?

Here is the wording of the spell:

"Blessing: A friendly character within 2" takes a Strength 4 AP - hit, then rolls on the Chaos Boon table."

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/11 21:42:39


 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Eureka California

Think of it this way. An FMC while swooping can only be hit by snap shots yet the grounded test can still cause it to take a hit and it is unarguably swooping at the time it takes the test. If game mechanics can cause them to take a hit while they can only be hit by snap shots then what is meant is that the action of hitting them can only be achieved via snapshots.

If you take the FAQ answer to mean they can only take a hit from a snap shot(not what it says) that means they cannot be hit by vector strikes either(FAQ overrides BRB) so clearly it was just an answer to that specific question about shooting attacks that don't require a roll to hit.

Also important to note that 'cannot be hit' is not 'immune to hits' though 99% of the time they will have the same effect there is a subtle difference. 'Cannot be hit' implies something taking an action of hitting while 'takes a hit' is only an effect. While generally taking a hit is the result of being hit(cause and effect) in this case there is no action of being hit. The cause is OM and the effect is takes a S1 Haywire hit. Nothing in the wording of the FAQ or the BRB prevents this.

-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Some interesting arguements here. Initially I was in agreement with it would hit arguments, but there was some good reasons it could go the other way.

But in the general FAQ page 3 left hand column it seems to address this issue. The last line of the answer in reference to attacks that hit automatically is "psychic powers that follow the rule for maelstrom, beams, and novas." cannot hit flyers. The boldfacing is in the FAQ and it very specifically leaves out maledictions, which always hit (or those in the rulebook do) so if GW had intended maledictions to not be able to hit flyers, they would very likely have added it in.

I would also take this into consideration. Witchfire powers can only be used in the shooting phase. Maledictions can only be used in the movement phase. Maledictions, therefore, are not shooting attacks and thus can target flyers.

If this was already settled and I missed it in the earlier posts, sorry.
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

Rumbleguts wrote:
Some interesting arguements here. Initially I was in agreement with it would hit arguments, but there was some good reasons it could go the other way.

But in the general FAQ page 3 left hand column it seems to address this issue. The last line of the answer in reference to attacks that hit automatically is "psychic powers that follow the rule for maelstrom, beams, and novas." cannot hit flyers. The boldfacing is in the FAQ and it very specifically leaves out maledictions, which always hit (or those in the rulebook do) so if GW had intended maledictions to not be able to hit flyers, they would very likely have added it in.

I would also take this into consideration. Witchfire powers can only be used in the shooting phase. Maledictions can only be used in the movement phase. Maledictions, therefore, are not shooting attacks and thus can target flyers.

If this was already settled and I missed it in the earlier posts, sorry.


1. It was settled.
2. People are still arguing anyway.

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Rumbleguts wrote:
Some interesting arguements here. Initially I was in agreement with it would hit arguments, but there was some good reasons it could go the other way.

But in the general FAQ page 3 left hand column it seems to address this issue. The last line of the answer in reference to attacks that hit automatically is "psychic powers that follow the rule for maelstrom, beams, and novas." cannot hit flyers. The boldfacing is in the FAQ and it very specifically leaves out maledictions, which always hit (or those in the rulebook do) so if GW had intended maledictions to not be able to hit flyers, they would very likely have added it in.

I would also take this into consideration. Witchfire powers can only be used in the shooting phase. Maledictions can only be used in the movement phase. Maledictions, therefore, are not shooting attacks and thus can target flyers.

If this was already settled and I missed it in the earlier posts, sorry.


The FAQ isn't restricted to just shooting attacks. If it was, then the C'tan Gaze of Death could hit flyers. It's not used in the shooting phase, afterall.

The malediction is in fact an attack. Just because the FAQ named a few items does not limit the FAQ answer to those items. The preclusion of "this includes" means that there is much more to the list, though should have added "but is not limited to" in that sentence.

A malediction does target enemy units, it causes negative effects (nothing says an attack has to cause wounds or damage results) to those enemy units, it does not roll to hit and is an "area of effect" attack. It can not target a flyer.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: