Switch Theme:

DA Faq  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




 Blaggard wrote:
You still get to TL the Heavy weapon and charge, which is what counts. The SBs add some wounds but that 3++ and scoring is delicious.
I'll leave shooty termi's to the GK, DA wants to be in melee imo.


Que???
"TL and charge?"
So the vengeful strike lets you TL all weapons that turn. But are you saying that you can then charge? The turn you arrive by deep strike. Where does it say that? (PS here's wishing it was true!!)
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




nosferatu1001 wrote:
It gives you permission to always Deepstrike. If you try to prevent them going into reserves, in order to deepstrike, have you followed the rule?


Unregard original.

I think the important distinction to be made is the use of the word "may" meaning that Deep Strike is an optional deployment method for models wearing TDA. That would also mean that models in TDA deploying via DS would count against the 50% in reserve limit since you are choosing to place them in reserves. The only units that don't count against the 50% are those that "must" begin the game in reserve. The only time that you would be kept from placing a model in TDA in reserve for arrival via DS would be if more than 50% of your army is equipped with TDA. Otherwise you're limited in the number of other models that you can place in reserve, not those in TDA. If more than 50% of your army is in TDA, RAW, you could place them all in reserve and DS them since specific rules trump general ones, making the FAQ FAQ'n wrong in that special case.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/05/31 03:12:21


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Actually they could always deepstrike "even if" the Reserves rule was not in play. So not really sure what your post is, as it is incorrect in pretty much every way.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Reread everything and I stand corrected. Above post redacted.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yep, as I said - they count towards the limit, but the limit does not apply to them. So they could prevent non-oldTDA equipped units from being placed into reserves, if that would exceed 50% of total units being placed in reserves, but cannot themselves be prevented from being placed in reserves.

It will all be moot once the final oldTDA equipped models get their 6th ed update, which removes this allowance.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




nosferatu1001 wrote:
It will all be moot once the final oldTDA equipped models get their 6th ed update, which removes this allowance.


You assume...
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Not really, given both CHaos and DA terminators have lost this rule. It would be unusual to add this back in.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: