Switch Theme:

Destroyer Weapons and Look Out Sir  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





 Frozocrone wrote:
It appears I've unintentionally opened a debate/can of worms.

From what I can gather, RAW you can't, but you house-rule it as yes you can?

How would/do you house rule it? Would you make 1 Look Out Sir roll, or D3 depending on how many wounds the character took?
(if that makes sense)


It's not RaW that you can't. It is RaW D weapons don't work so you have to create rules to make them work. How you create those rules will determine whether you can LoS or not. Personally the houserules that make most sense to me result in LoS working.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

Yeah, sorry, to emphasise again: RaW just does not resolve here, you can houserule Yes or Houserule No.
Probably leaning to 'Yes' now as well... LoS on a lascanon sounds just as feasible as LoS on any D-weapon.

I was just saying that by RaW it has to be 1 roll of LoS, not D3 as your last post said.

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





 BlackTalos wrote:
Yeah, sorry, to emphasise again: RaW just does not resolve here, you can houserule Yes or Houserule No.
Probably leaning to 'Yes' now as well... LoS on a lascanon sounds just as feasible as LoS on any D-weapon.

I was just saying that by RaW it has to be 1 roll of LoS, not D3 as your last post said.


This

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in ro
Regular Dakkanaut





I'm sorry to necro this thread, but I'm quite interested in the topic at hand, and the discussion between Fling and Anf left me somewhat confused. Personally, I've always seen the Destroyer attacks resolved as per Anf's version, and for the life of me, I can't seem to grasp why exactly Fling considers that to be a house rule, or that D weapons do not function as per RAW.

As far as I can gather, his explanation is that since the D attack does not wound the unit, but rather, models, it does not function, in which case, how does he see Challenges function? From my understanding, in an example of say, a Wraithknight, shooting its 2 SD shots at 10 guardsmen would follow the regular rules of To Hit, after which, its Special Rule of "Destroyer Weapons" would come into play, handling the rest, generating wounds against the closest models...

Some additional explanations on why this isn't considered RAW, would be greatly appreciated.
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Just a quick run down if I remember - It is a Rule mismatch, Game Workshop suddenly slips from 'Units' to 'Models.'

Chaos occurs as a Rule being resolved against the Unit as a whole is suddenly being resolved against individual models, with nothing explaining how to handle the sudden change between the two. House Rules are then required to solve the many problems that occur because of this slip. Easy topics, such as how the Hit is being 'allocated' to the Model within the Unit can be straight forward with common sense. Harder issues, such as how the Wounds generated by this table interact with Special Rules, have popped up from time to time in these forums. It is easier to crackle madly about these things, and then continue doing it as your group does it, instead of get into arguments over who is right and wrong.

I throw it on the pile of 'Game Workshop forgets what Units and Models are' that are getting more common since 7th Edition.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/25 01:21:05


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in ro
Regular Dakkanaut





Fair enough, I just don't see it happening in this situation. In my mind, the To Hit happens against the unit, and the To Wound, replaced by Destroyer Weapon, with the allocation being on specific models. I even see precedent with Focused Witchfire powers, so I don't quite see how there'd be a problem with Destroyer Weapons.

My bigger issue consists of how many wounds "Wounds automatically" create. Assuming that you create a pool of the dice that scored hits, and you consider each of those hits 1 wound, so that you can Look out Sir them. This stems from an understanding that "wounds automatically" = 1 automatic wound, however I don't exactly see any definition of that anywhere. I think wounds automatically implies a minimum of 1 automatic wound, but not necessarily 1, so that becomes slightly confusing to me...
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





You roll to hit against a unit you roll to wound against a unit. The Destroyer table applies a hit to a model, what model and how we are never told. So you have to create a houserule of how you get from a hit on a unit to a hit on a model, exactly how you do that will interact differently with things like Look out Sir and other special rules.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: